We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,173)
Filter reviews
1,173 results
Traveller rating
400
425
178
92
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
425
178
92
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus private beach gerry's bar hotel beach amalfi coast amazing views local sita bus minute walk up the hill breakfast and dinner nice pool mini bar every hour bus service room number sea view public areas overlooking amalfi
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 1,173 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We spent a day on the beach at the Excelsior Mare Club. We did not go to the hotel up the hill.

Te beach is fantastic, highly recommended. We were staying up the road closer to the town of Amalfi. Hiked a short way up the road, checked in at street level, paid the entrance, got our towels, and took an elevator all the way down to the beach (a long, long way). No steps to talk. We had a fabulous time, the beach is very nice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank collinstw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We spent a portion of our trip to Italy at the Excelsior. The hotel sits on the top of the cliff overlooking the water. The view is the best thing about the hotel. We had a beautiful view from our terrace and enjoyed waking up to the sunrise each morning. The room was large and comfortable with a nice size balcony which seated 4 people with chairs and a table. We had another couple over a few nights for drinks and we were all very comfortable.

We had breakfast here each morning which was a nice variety of hot items, cold cuts and pastries. We would take our breakfast each morning on the deck overlooking the pool. We did not eat dinner here and were disappointed in the room service offerings. A cheese board and wine for an afternoon repast on our terrace would have been ideal as would a late night pizza or small plate offering.

The shuttle is convenient but at times unreliable due to the Amalfi Traffic. So if you do not want to spend time traveling back and forth to Amalfi do not stay here.

The grotto bar and the beach were closed when we visited the first week of October which was disappointing. We laid by the pool and swam here one day--no bar service poolside, and its quite a steep climb to carry drinks back and forth.

The views and ambiance made it a beautiful place to visit, but be prepared as there is no where to walk to if you want to dine elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank lollygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Stayed in Late October 2017, weather was 21 degrees most days and dropped to about 14 at night. At this time of year you will need a sweater. Flight was into Fiumicino airport. Not much signage to identify tour providers until you have exited the terminal. Driver had sign and spoke little English, transfer from the airport to the hotel is about 4 and half hours with 1 bathroom stop. Hotel is located on top of the cliff
in The small town of Pogerola, Amalfi. The views is spectacular, Hotel is dated and needs some TLC, fresh coat of paint etc. The rooms décor is old and needs to be upgraded. Beds very comfortable, rooms size is large and spacious.
Overall very clean.
An average breakfast is provided with an outdoor patio that overlooks the beautiful blue sea. Service is great, staff very friendly and accommodating.
The front desk staff goes above and beyond to assist. A big thank you to ANNA and DENISE, not forgetting Massimo. Anna goes out of her way to recommend places of interest, they even will call the ferry service for you to confirm schedules etc.
There is a shuttle service that goes in town, if you miss it the Local Sita Bus is available at 1.30 Euro per way.

The pool was closed and the cave bar as well because of low season. Restaurant is around 16-20 euro per main course. There is lots of other options further up on the hill
where the church and small fountain is located. There is a small local shop that sells a little of everything from cheese to fruits etc. The restaurants up there you can dine
for as little as 6 euro with good home cooked meals, this includes seafood and pasta.
Well worth the short walk.

Down in the main square of Amalfi where you can get local buses and ferries. Rates is pretty inexpensive. Busses to Sorrento on Sita service is 2.90 Euro one way whereas the ferry is about 20 euro one way. Ferry service To Positano is 8 euro one way and Ferry service to Capri is 40 Euro one way. So very easy to get to either way ferry or bus. Shopping varies depends on the vendor. In Amalfi you get the regular tourist options. For more higher end shopping Sorrento and Capri offers many choices. There was a great hand made store in one of the side streets. Most shops close at 1330 and reopen at 1630 to midnight.
Overall a great experience, staff at this hotel is just amazing, hotel is clean and the views is amazing. You are in heaven where the sky meets the blue Ocean.
A must see!!

Room Tip: amazing views of sunrise or sunset
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank vanessamoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

The Excelsior hotel is right up the top of a mountain - they do have a shuttle bus going up and down during the day but if you are looking to be somewhere close to the action then I would suggest staying down by the marina.

The rooms were really old - there was only 1 dim light in our bedroom to light up the room and the windows we couldn't really open during the day as there was no security screen. The air conditioning was about the only good thing in the room. The bathroom had a shower/tub combo and the shower curtain wouldn't even cover the length of the tub, so water would go everywhere.

The hotel provided free wifi, however due to our rooms being right at the very end of the hotel we were too far for our devices to connect, and our TIM sim cards wouldn't work (would say no service until you got back into the lobby). I understand the sim card problem isn't the hotels fault, but we did ask the staff at check in about the wifi issue as that was the only way that we could connect with family back home (through viber/skype) and we had to go all the way back to the lobby to reconnect. We asked if we could be moved but weren't able to be moved so if there was an emergency at home we wouldn't know about it till we went back to the lobby. That we weren't very impressed with.

Breakfasts in the hotel were pretty standard as per other euro "American buffet breakfasts", the dinners at the hotel restaurants were some nights average, and other nights amazing.

The pool was beautiful. It was overlooking the marina below and was perfect to have a dip in when the weather was soaring.

Overall it was an average experience, staff are polite and friendly but would more than likely stay somewhere in the marina where there is more action.

Room Tip: if wifi is important, make sure you're not right at the very end of the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank amyfazzolari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

We were amazed from the view but breakfast was below average and all the rest need improvement as well.
The hotel has great potential but there is a need for investment and more management attention including staff motivation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank boaza34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews