We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible sums it up!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
hemel hempstead
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible sums it up!”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This hotel is a must to avoid in my book. After reading the reviews I felt safe in the knowledge that I had done my research, however I was proved wrong! We were due to stay in the hotel for four nights in a garden view room. When we checked in all the desk staff were very nice and helpful but it was down hill from there on. We were offered a room in the villa which we thought would be great. All looked nice but was a little out of the way for two of us on our own so we asked for a room in the hotel. The staff organised this in due course and showed us the room which was like a 1970's youth hostel room with horrible green bedroom furniture but we decided to give it a go. On further inspection we discovered nasties in the bed and all over the bathroom and shower. We complained to the front office who said they would upgrade us to a seaview room for a slight discount but that was it. At this point we were none too happy and decided we would not stay. The manager hid behind reception whilst watching one of the desk staff try to charge us for the room which we were not prepared to do. Eventually a member of staff went and saw the horrible evidence and agreed that we should not pay the charge. I was disgusted by the managers attitude and cowardice not to deal with the situation himself. He seems to have no pride in the business or give a damn about his customers. The main hotel is run down and in need of a make over not to mention a serious thorough clean! I was glad to be out of this hotel, be careful when making your choice. Other reviews are very good yes but just be weary.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickster1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    112
    66
    32
    30
See reviews for
65
171
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leguevin, France
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Very pleasant stay in a nice hotel with very good service and support from the hotel team. Major point is the hotel team.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfy1910673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We only stayed for 4 days, just wish it could of been more. Everybody was so kind and helpful especially the wonderful Simona and Mena.
I will be taking Italian lessons and returning to the hotel next year for longer !!!!!!

Michael

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We enjoyed our stay. The staff and their attentive service made all the difference. The manager made some really good suggestions as to where to eat, where to buy certain things and how to get around. We had no problems getting around by bus, it stopped right next to the hotel.
We were very pleased with the vast choices and the freshness of the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizard63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

I have just returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel with a friend. I think it is a fantastic hotel really good value. We had a room on the top floor and the views were to die for.
The staff were friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them. The breakfast was good with lots of choice. The hotel is very clean. Location is good just a fifteen min walk into town and the Sita bus stops just outside(you can go anywhere along the whole coast on one of those!) If I have any moans at all it would be the beds are a bit hard but it is a 3*. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueYHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

When I arrived at the Hotel Dei Cavallieri it was mid afternoon. I was asked for my name and I was given a key to my room. Room 407. A guy took me up in the lift and showed me to my room. He was really nice but didn't speak a word of English. The room was basic but I expected that. I had a beautiful view from my window over the coast. But underneath me there were lines and lines of washing (towels & Sheets from the hotel). You couldn't sleep in as they were in and out chatting all morning. I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights as I was there for my Best Friends Wedding. The room was cleaned OK and towels were changed every day. The towels were not the best they were off whitish and very hard.

When I was checking out the receptionist informed me that they had already charged by visa card which i thought was very unprofessional and I wasn't impressed as I wanted to pay cash. She informed me that she couldn't reverse the transaction and i needed to sign the receipt. I refused, She also went on to tell me that i owed her €30 for a towel that i had got mascara on .. I mean a corner of the towel and the other towel was dirty so i was to pay or else they were taking it from my Credit Card. I requested to see the towels and the maid whom didnt have a word of english either brought them up to me and was saying that it was hair dye. I have blonde hair and the mascara on the towel was black ... I couldn't see the logic in what she was saying. I refused to pay the money ... After all thats what you pay for when you book a room in a hotel ., If your not sopposed to use the towels then the hotel shouldn't supply them. I have to say i would never stay at this hotel again and i would not recommend it. They chanced there arm too with some of the other guests in my party looking up to 80 euro for towels as they said they couldnt get the dirt out of them, .. I wouldn't mind but the towels here were as old as the hills and would nearly take a layer of skin off your body. My advise to them would be to buy a new washing machine.My Advise to anyone thinking of staying at this hotel would be not to bother. There is nothing there, Its costs €20 each way up and down to the town and around a 20 min walk. Taxis stop at 1230 each evening so if your not in bed by 12 you'll be walking heart attack hill.. If you want to be treated like Cinderella then by all means stay here. My Advise would be not to. There are cheaper and better hotels in the town......Would never ever stay here again and I can safely say that no one in my party would either.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buggsbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amalfi hotels

BUCAREST
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2010

The staff is very friendly and helpfull, the decoration is fantastic, the breakfast is fresh and rich. Amalfi city centre is 10 minutes walk distance. The parking is free. Very good price for the room with sea view. Ideal for romantic couples! We wil come back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUANADANET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites
Hotel Bellevue Suites
#24 of 29 in Amalfi
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Il Nido
Hotel Il Nido
#13 of 29 in Amalfi
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
589 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#29 of 29 in Amalfi
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Cavalieri

Property: Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Address: Via Mauro Comite 32 | Amalfi Coast, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dei Cavalieri 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a panoramic rooftop terrace, Hotel dei Cavalieri is only 1.5 Km from Amalfi. Rooms come with a TV, air conditioning and private bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available at reception. Some rooms are decorated in a Mediterranean style, while others have Renaissance-style furniture. Some also have a minibar and balcony. Some rooms are located in the seafront Villa della Marchesa annex, just across the road. Guests enjoy special rates and free transfers to a partner pool set 800 metres away. Decorated with antique furniture and bronze statues, Cavalieri Hotel includes a relaxing garden overlooking the sea. Friendly staff can suggest restaurants and places to visit in and around the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dei Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Cavalieri Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing