We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful scene of Amalfi..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Porticciolo di Amalfi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Porticciolo di Amalfi
Ranked #8 of 37 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
İzmir, Türkiye
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A beautiful scene of Amalfi..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

When we first started to climb the steps of this hotel, we were impressed by the beautiful scene of Amalfi with very nice seaview...The room next to the entrance was fantastic with handmade ceramic details all around which were also sold if requested. We loved our room and the terrace of the hotel which is free to enter any time of the day. A homemade wine in a ceramic glass under the moonlight on the terrace..what a beautiful combination..The long narrow street easily reaches down to the center &a lot of trattorias and restaurants and piazza where cathedral is. We loved our 3 days in Amalfi and our room in this hotel..Definitely must go..Carmela will help you a lot..

Room Tip: I definitely recommend the room next to the entrance of the hotel which is right on the narrow stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GURKANIZMIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    32
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
90
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed at Il Porticciolo for 4 nights in June, 2013 with my husband and 2 daughters (15 and 13). A truly amazing experience. Loved Carmela's hospitality; it's like we were staying with family, as she is so warm and friendly. Carmela helped us with tours and recommended a wonderful local restaurant. The breakfast was extensive and included locally grown food - served on the terrace with a great view of the sea. Accommodation in the family room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. Wi- fi was excellent. Cannot fault our stay- the family agrees that it was the highlight of our trip to Europe. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

You have to climb THE stairs allong this coast. So also to il porticciolo, but Then you get THE best. THE bed and breakfast is charming, clean, delicious and carmella is very helpfull and friendly. You feel very welkom. Patricio can take you for à privat boattrip allong THE coast perfect swimming and snorkling places and à great lunch on THE boat. And in THE mean time hè yells you à lot About THE historie and culture of THE coast. We had à perfect day! Thanks to you Patricio and Thanks to carmella for organising it!

Room Tip: Depends on wath you want. À family of 4, à couple ? They are al fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My partner and I visited Amalfi July 2013. The hotel was quite difficult to find and had to ask some locals how we get up the cliff where it was located. Finally we found a walkway from in the main town which was very steep and not easy to walk the 200+ stairs in the heat of the day. We made it to the top but it wasn't open. Didn't have a mobile on us so had to ask to use a restaurants phone to call the owner who kindly met us to let us in out of check in hours. Even though it was out of her way to come meet us we were very grateful and she was very nice about it.
Our room was delightful, clean, tidy and window overlooking the boat harbor was beautiful.
We only had one day and one night there but was enough to fall in love with the people, food, shopping and atmosphere of the place. Will come back for sure.

Room Tip: Not sure what our room was called but it was the middle one. Recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were a little confused when the lady running the place asked where we had been. It turns out we had written down the dates wrong for our reservation, and missed our first night! Within minutes though she was able to get us in our room and helped us to find another hotel to stay because she was booked. The service here is absolutely amazing! Not only was she able to help us find another room, but she arranged for our bags to be taken to the other hotel, our car to be parked, and made dinner reservations for us for the night. The rooms have a great deal of charm to them, but the best place to go is the terrace. The view is absolutely breathtaking from the rooftop. You get an incredible view of the water and the city. If you enjoy a good glass of wine, I recommend taking a bottle up there and just relaxing while you watch the busy streets below. While it is tucked up above everything else, the mini hike to this hidden oasis is well worth it!!!! A must stay with helpful people, comfortable large rooms, and a charming almost family feel to the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyT30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Il Porticciola di Amalfi is situated on a high-level walkway, high above the coast road and seafront. The walk up to the property is quite challenging from both directions and involves climbing a good number of steps, which may not suit everyone, particularly those with heart problems or breathing difficulties. However, this should not prove too much of a challenge to those who are reasonably fit. The view from the top, along the Amalfi Coast, is well worth the effort alone. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Carmela gave us a warm and friendly welcome and served a lovely varied continental breakfast on the rooftop terrace, making for a perfect start to the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BazzersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here for a week in June 2013 as a base to explore the Amalfi coast. From the start, the hotel was perfect. Carmela, the owner, greeted us like long lost friends and made us fresh Lemonade. This was just the thing after a long, hot bus ride! The stay was full of nice little touches like this, when we took a bottle of wine up to the roof terrace she gave us salami and cheese to go with it! She was also very helpful in organising a transfer back to Naples airport to catch an early morning flight.

The hotel is well situated a short walk from the bus and ferry terminal, and boasts a roof terrace with stunning views over Amalfi's harbour. Breakfast is served there, and there chairs and tables with sun shades you can use any time. We got takewaway dinner and took it up there one evening, and took wine up there a couple of times.

The room was excellent, we had the ground floor room that has its own entrance from the terrace. It had a large and comfortable bed, good shower room and well equipped kitchenette with a hob, refrigerator etc. There was a TV and free wireless internet, which was a nice touch. The air conditioning worked well and helped us handle the night time temperatures with no problem. The hotel is spotlessly clean with modern facilities throughout.

Overall, a perfect stay and I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone! The only slight caution is that those who are less able may find the stairs up to the hotel from the square a challenge, but we had no problems at all. This will definitely be our first choice if we come back to Amalfi!

Room Tip: The ground floor room has its own external entrance and a decent kitchen, so is almost like staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigandos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Porticciolo di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Porticciolo di Amalfi

Property: Il Porticciolo di Amalfi
Address: Via Annunziatella 38, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Porticciolo is an ancient building that has been completely restored and now offers the most modern amenities, absolute privacy and magnificent views of the heart of the Ancient Maritime Republic, its harbour and marina.Located in the heart of Amalfi, on the 'high road of the villages'(via maestra dei villaggi), one of the main routes for walks around the environs of Amalfi, offering exciting scenery for those who want to explore and discover.The dreamy atmosphere of a terrace overlooking the sea, the fragrance, the colours, the feelings of those who really can say I lived as a traveller and I found my paradise..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Porticciolo di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing