We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
143
40
2
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
40
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terraceroom was cleanwarm croissantsfresh lemon juiceb and bwhere breakfast is servedbed and breakfastfew stairsferry terminalthe main squareeach morninga wonderful staystunning viewsperfect locationcarmeloharbourkitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights during a week village-hopping along Amalfi Coast. My husband found Il Porticiollo through booking.com. If you're looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay in Amalfi with a beautiful view, this delivers. We stayed in early October to avoid the crowds and enjoy the budget prices. Here are a few tips on location, rooms and amenities to help with your decision.
1. Like most places to stay in Amalfi with a sea view, there are stairs. Lots of stairs. The easiest route from the marina is to walk along the pier north past two waterfront restaurants. There is an alley way that leads to outdoor stairs. A big flight of stairs. Once you climb that with your bags, you cross the main road and find another big flight of stairs. Probably the equivalent of five flights of stairs in a U.S. hotel. Take the marina route with the stairs. It's much shorter and straightforward. The alternate route winds through downtown (from the main piazza with the duomo, turn left at Da Gemma restaurant, go through the small piazza with L'abside restaurant and keep climbing and climbing through the sentieri--paths of stairs).
2. Even in October, we got sweaty walking to the hotel, with or without bags. Uphill all the way, baby. Embrace the three-times-a-day shower.
3. It has an unobstructed view of the harbor and sea, closer to the end where the smaller boats anchor.
4. Office is on the first floor, then another flight of stairs before reaching the rooms.
5. Liebbico room has a window with a beautiful sea view.
6. Rooms are basic and clean. No room for end tables in ours. Just a bed, armoire and small table with two chairs. No safe, no refrigerator. Happy with the room and view for our price. Bed was a little too stiff and pillows a bit too flat.
7. Rain shower head and second body shower head. Great pressure and hot! Best shower of my entire Italy trip.
8. The rooftop terrace where breakfast is served has gorgeous views. It's almost like an infinity pool without the pool looking over the little terrace wall from your breakfast table. If you are scared of heights, this isn't the place for you!
9. Warm croissants with powdered sugar for breakfast. Homemade marmalade, yogurt, bread, granola -- the food just keeps coming. My only wish is that she served cappuccino.
10. Buy a bottle of wine from a shop in town, and the owner will let you chill it in the rooftop kitchen refrigerator. This rooftop was always empty, and it was a great place to relax and enjoy a peaceful happy hour, watching the boats go by.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for four nights. Beautiful hosts great location. Stairs keep you fit, but they worked off all the food. Restaurant's close by at the bottom of stairs . Huge breakfast, you can use the rooftop any time of day or night. Enjoy the sunset with a bottle of red wine. Recommended by us!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

My second time in Amalfi and was taking out a hen party so had a group on a budget. This B and B is excellent. Firstly the proprietor Carmela is super helpful before we even arrived and a joy to meet. We had Seaview rooms and for the price we paid you could not ask for more. Breakfast is continental, fruit , yoghurt and fresh croissants. Served on the terrace and the terrace is why you need to stay. The view is awesome!

Like a lot of Amalfi there are quite a few stairs to get to the hotel. If you want the view you'll mostly have to take stairs in Amalfi.

I'll definitely be back and cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Thank you Carmela and sorry for the review delay! xxx

Room Tip: Grab a sea view - the family room is excellent also size wise if you want a bigger place!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitMlynar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We stayed here for five nights in July 2017, after a road trip through Italy. The location at the top of a lot of steps was a little daunting after the long journey, but it was certainly worth it once you got to see those breathtaking views out to sea. Carmella was so welcoming and friendly and took her time to make sure we were properly settled in, with a drink of fresh lemon juice on the spectacular terrace. She was full of advice on places to go and things to do.

The property is a short walk from the centre of Amalfi but you do need to be prepared for a lot of steps up and down to the main square.

The room was spacious and comfortable and we found it very quiet in the elevated position just out of the way of things. Breakfast was served on the terrace each morning, and was served to us at the table by Carmella. There was a good selection of fresh food on offer, with cereal, yogurt, pastries, juice, toast and fresh fruit.

We loved Amalfi - it was the perfect place for us to end our trip, being small but not too small, with a good selection of restaurants and plenty of lovely places within easy reach. We used the ferry to reach Positano and would definitely recommend this over driving. This was one of Carmella's tips.

Thank you Carmella for a wonderful stay - and we look forward to coming back to see you again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Stayed for 3 nights with my wife. Great little place to stay. The proprietor Carmela was very nice and very helpful. The stairs to get there are a bit of a struggle with luggage but so worth it once you're there as the views are spectacular! We carried our own luggage up but you can always hire porters to do that for you. Room was clean and having breakfast on the rooftop was a great way to start the day. Couldn't have been happier with this lovely place. Already miss the views.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcon1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews