We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place to stay”
Review of Villa Lara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Lara
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This was the perfect place to stay for our honemoon in amalfi. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, full of local knowledge and they have great ideas for places to eat and things to do. The rooms were lovely, clean and air condtioned. There are plenty of places to sit and read or have a drink as well. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewdmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    64
    13
    4
    9
See reviews for
46
291
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We Japanese couple in Tokyo, not old but young any longer, decided to make a sentimental journey to our second motherland,Italy, after 10years absence. The husband were hunting for the hotel in Amalfi through Internet till midnight even forgetting next day's work,while the wife were reading gourmet guidebook back and forth thinking over what to take everyday during the journey. Therefore our expectation had become extremely high when we arrived finally at Villa Lara,managing to drive along the very dangerous coast line road.
And then, their atmosphere, gran view,hospitality, suite room, and their intellectual conversation, especially Nello's humor, didnt betrayed our exalted expectation at all !!
Finally we appreciate very much his high capability to understand our refined(?) conversation in Italian about Japanese culture, politics, etc
We strongly recommend Villa Lara to Japanese tourists who can drive Amalfitano coast even competing crazy Italian drivers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oceanopacifico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Liked Amalfi; liked this hotel. Room somewhat compact (as was bathroom - and the jacuzzi shower had clearly not worked as such for some time). Breakfast fine. tho orange juice actually weak squash and no fruit offered. But cheese and local salami both good. Bed and pillows hard-I hated this tho my husband liked it. Not a fan of plastic under sheet - too hot & clammy. But all this is personal taste I guess. Views fantastic. Asked to stay extra night and was charged Euro 120 (rate had been Euro 90) which left me disappointed - no evidence of heavy demand which was reason they gave for price hike. All in all good base for walking holiday. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug57UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This is a great little hotel. Luca and Nello the staff are really helpful and friendly and will go out of their way to help you and can give you any advice you need. The hotel is situated about a 5 minute walk up from the main square in the centre of Amalfi. It has the advantage over other hotels in the area as it is so high up that you get fantastic views of the town and the sea, but don’t worry there are hardly any stairs to walk up as there is a lift that takes you through the rock face up to where the hotel is up above. We travelled with a seventh month old baby and she loved it out there, the locals are very friendly and gave her lots of attention. There are a lot of steep hills, steps and alley ways, but we still managed with the buggy. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It is very clean and peaceful and ideally situated.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkdon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Villa Lara is a very nice small hotel located +/- 800 meters from the Ferry/ Bus terminal. The walk is moderately uphill and probably not suitable for anyone with a serious disability. Taxis are available but the ones we spoke to weren't interested in taking us probably because the distance isn't very far, the route through the town center is choked with tourists and the fare would be low. We're reasonably fit early 60's and found the walk, dragging our suitcases, pretty easy and since there's really only one main street through Amalfi the hotel was easy to find. The hotel is perched high on a hill but they've tunneled through the underlying rock and installed a very nice elevator that provides easy access to the main floor.

The rooms are very nice, modern and clean. The lobby level provides access to a couple decks that are very pleasant with stunning views down the valley over looking Amalfi and ending in the sea. The front desk staff (Lucca and Nello) speak excellent English and provide first rate friendly service. Breakfast was good.

All in all this is a very easy hotel to recommend!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the main level offer the best access to the decks located off the dining/sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, CA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2011

OK, after a walk thru the busy square, past a dozen gelato stands and a guantlette of pasta dealers and up the final hill, I was SOOO glad to see an elevator that would take us up to this beautiful Villa. Loaded with balconies, smiles and advice, we truly enjoyed our 43 day stay. Molto Bene!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We were recommended to stay at Villa Lara during our trip by another memeber of our family.
It was everything we'd hoped for. The Hotel was modern, extremely clean and very comfortable. A wonderful short stroll from the the heart of Amalfi. Breakfast each morning was glorious overlooking the entire town from the balcony of Villa Lara. The staff were very warm, personable and friendly. Each staff member went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. We will definately be staying at Villa Lara next time we visit Amalfi-why would we want to stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orianat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
799 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
993 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#17 of 29 in Amalfi
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Property: Villa Lara
Address: Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing