We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay place”
Review of Villa Lara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Lara
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A must stay place”
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review even as I continue my six night stay at the Villa Lara. I am a very tough critic and believe that I owe it to the readers to be honest and thorough.

The Villa Lara exceeded my expectations by miles. The entire team sets the vibe for the stay and truly go above and beyond in their efforts to make ALL guests feel welcome, appreciated and most of all, like family. The rooms are more than adequate and a tremendous value compared other similarly priced ( in fact more expensive) Italian hotels we have stayed in during this trip. No request is too big and the staff goes all out to help.

The location is outstanding. Close enough to town to run in in two minutes for a late bottle of wine but far enough that you can sit out quietly and enjoy the surroundings. This place is a serious winner. We were very pleased

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JR12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    63
    13
    4
    9
See reviews for
43
282
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This was a nice 3 star on the outside of town. It is away from the crowds. I would not select the pink room as it has few windows and I was a bit claustrophopic. A small elevator/lift will get you to the hotel or you can walk up the 100 steps! The service was wonderful. Parking is available down the street for a charge. There are some great hikes just up the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoBoxerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We were very pleased to discover Villa Lara via Tripadvisor and enjoyed our 2 night stay in the Aquamarine Suite.

The combination of location, views, service and value exceeded our expectation.

Nello, Luca and the team made us feel very welcome and delivered personal service with a smile which made us feel we made a good decision selecting Villa Lara and would chose it again when we return to Amalfi.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We spent five nights in Villa Lara and had a magnificent time. What we loved about the in:
Location: It is a 5-10 min walk into the town center. This is good 'cause you can get a good night's sleep.
The view is perched on this cliff. You thus get this magnificent view of the town and sea. No need to get a room with a view 'cause the view from the terrace is excellent and you can always hang out there.
The staff, Nello and Luca are wonderful people. Always there to help out and provide suggestions to the guest.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luke q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Everything was perfect, and looked after by the careful eye of Nello, and his staff Luca and Alfonso, who all treat you as a friend from the moment you arrive.

The rooms are beautifull, the atmosphere homely and friendly, the views magnificent, and the hospitality beyond expectations. Breakfast on the Terrace was a great way to start the day and help and advice on everything from ferries to where to eat was always freely and honestly given, and lived up to every expectation.
.

We just can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had 4 days in Amalfi on this wonderfull little hotel. They do anything to help you, and when we had to leave the last morning at 6:00 AM to get to Rome Airport, they had checked out with parking, that the garage was opened. The owner had some hang over, but came in two minutes on a saturday morning.
Btw, the 'Path of the gods' is the most amzing walk I have made in my 58 years, but take care, the path is difficult, and it ends in +15oo steps down to Positano

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edvard_930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The owners of this villa were just lovely, always happy to provide advice and guidance on our daily activities and just generally have a chat. The room was lovely, with beautiful views down to the sea. Super comfortable bed, and bathroom was everything we could have needed. The breakfasts were great, with freshly sliced meats, bread and pastries, cereal, yoghurt etc. the location of the villa was perfect, far enough from the main square to be quiet and relaxed, but close enough that it was on a short 5 minute wander into the centre of town! We'll definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRay1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
970 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Property: Villa Lara
Address: Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing