We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Lara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Lara
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We have just left villa Lara after a fabulous 4 day trip in his area and are very sad as we are leaving a beautiful hotel and some genuinely friendly and kind people. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with superb hospitality which continued throughout our stay . The hotel is perfectly situated in Amalfi ,quiet but within easy walking distance to the centre. It is also a good base to explore Amalfi and we were given some excellent advice on trekking in the mountains by Luca and alfonso . Nello has many good contacts and put us in touch with patrizio, a sea captain with very good experience who took us out in his boat for a trip around the coast and some nearby islands. It was a fantastic experience and very highly recommend as you will see Amalfi in a completely different light . Patrizio is very knowledgeable and explained the history of Amalfi as well as show us some really impressive coves and areas of outstanding natural beauty which you cannot experience on foot .
As a hardened traveller , I would rate this hotel very highly for it's service, cleanliness,helpful staff and excellent location .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balericfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    61
    11
    4
    9
See reviews for
42
275
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This little hotel has a lovely position overlooking Amalfi but back from the crowded centre and is the perfect retreat. It is only a small step to a wide choice of restaurants although we were very happy with Pizzeria Il Mulino near by which does excellent seafood. The surroundings are peaceful and we had no disturbance from other rooms in the building. The view from the terrace is superb. Breakfast is not extensive but fresh cheese and salami will be sliced if you wish. The staff are very friendly and helpful and provide everything you need for a comfortable stay. They arranged a very good car transfer back to Naples airport because our flight was too early to use public transport.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Service at the Villa Lara is second to none. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I would recommend this accommodation wholeheartedly. Nello and Lucca went out of their way to make our first stay on the Amalfi coast a memorable one.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AHutcheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in Amalfi at Villa Lara and we can't be more satisfied. The hotel is located exactly in the best spot in Amalfi. 4 minutes walking distance from the main square, and with the best view of the city and the sea ( it is over the hill but it has a brand new elevator to go up and down). Rooms are extremely clean and comfortable , and the shared Lliving rooms were great too. The breakfast with cappuccino in the terrace looking at the city amazing. The best was the service with Alfonso and specially Luca taking care of every detail to make us feel at home. We recommend this hotel 150%. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matiaslagos1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

It's not about the location ( though that is great).It's not about the rooms, ( though they are pretty, well-appointed, and clean). It is about the great atmosphere and personal care from Nellio, Lucca and the night-porter, in fact the whole team who really have a way of relating to people so that you don't feel like just another number. We stayed for a week from May7th and had a great time. We could have chosen one of the big, flash, sleeping factories around Amalfi but we wouldn't have got the feel of Amalfi if we had. It is wonderful to be able to amble down into the town and sample all the many restaurants and bars it has to offer with such ease. We did have a hire car as we wanted to visit Herculaneum, Phaestum, and Naples, which are all within easy day-trip distance, so we used the parking facility down the road. Though not cheap, if you take into account the reasonable prices at the Villa Lara, together it isn't bad at all. The price of parking along this coast is astronomical, mainly because it's virtually immpossible! So this combination turned out to be the
ideal one for us.
If we have the luck to return to Amalfi we wouldn't dream of going anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Multistorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

My friend and I spent 4 nights at the Villa Lara last week. Our room had a great view of the ocean. It was spacious yet cozy. There are great terraces at the hotel to enjoy views yet remain away from the hustle and bustle. The people who run Villa Lara are amazing. They are very kind, attentive and funny. Immediately upon our arrival we felt at home. The hotel is in a quiet location. It is about a 5-10 minute walk from center of town and the bus station. Nello, Luca, Alfonso and Pietro are awesome. Pietro even gave me a "puppet" aka "stuffed animal" :). Even after we moved to a different hotel (because Villa Lara was booked) they continued to assist us with things we needed such as transportation to the airport. I will definitely be returning to the Villa Lara.

Helpful?
Thank brwngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review even as I continue my six night stay at the Villa Lara. I am a very tough critic and believe that I owe it to the readers to be honest and thorough.

The Villa Lara exceeded my expectations by miles. The entire team sets the vibe for the stay and truly go above and beyond in their efforts to make ALL guests feel welcome, appreciated and most of all, like family. The rooms are more than adequate and a tremendous value compared other similarly priced ( in fact more expensive) Italian hotels we have stayed in during this trip. No request is too big and the staff goes all out to help.

The location is outstanding. Close enough to town to run in in two minutes for a late bottle of wine but far enough that you can sit out quietly and enjoy the surroundings. This place is a serious winner. We were very pleased

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JR12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Property: Villa Lara
Address: Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing