We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended B&B”
Review of Villa Lara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Lara
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended B&B”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Villa Lara B&B!! The views from the room, and terrace were breathtaking! The staff were extremely hospitable and friendly, and went above and beyond to make us feel at home and comfortable.

We were in the Emerald room, which was spacious, comfortable, modern with a rustic charm, and definitely clean. The elevator lift was a plus too. Breakfast was delicious! We enjoyed the lemon cake and tarts, with freshly made cappuccino and juices. Sitting on the terrace eating our breakfast was a memorable experience - it's so peaceful up there, and with an amazing view, we felt as though we had Amalfi all to ourselves!

We travelled by train from Rome to Salerno, and then took the "blue" SITA bus to Amalfi. The bus trip from Salerno to Amalfi was a joy-ride of winding roads and beautiful views! When we arrived, we found out that we could have also taken a water taxi for 8 euros from Salerno to Amalfi in only 30 minutes (versus 75 minutes by bus); but we're still glad to have taken the bus route as it was an interesting journey. Getting to Villa Lara from the Duomo in the only piazza, was super easy - just a straight path up the street to the top.

Very thankful to have chosen Villa Lara! We highly recommend this B&B to anyone who is visiting Amalfi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catabell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    63
    11
    4
    9
See reviews for
43
278
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We selected this accommodation having checked with Trip Advisor and we certainly weren't disappointed. We were grateful for the advice of the hotel team headed by the ever so genial Nello to take a taxi from Naples Airport. It was not cheap but it was quick and very scenic. The drivers limited English left us feeling confused when we first arrived in Amalfi - we thought we were being dumped in the town centre but he was unable to drive close to the hotel because at the time of our arrival the narrow main street was thronging with pedestrians and local traffic - but our alarm did not last long for he summoned a porter and buggy to ferry us the last few hundred yards to the Villa Lara! The location of the hotel is near perfect - towering majestically over glorious Amalfi on the edge of town yet only minutes walk away from restaurants, bars and cafes and the main street and town centre. We looked up at all the steps leading up to the hotel and gasped, thought about ageing knees and then remembered we had read about a lift. This was approached through a short walk through a tunnel of the most heavenly scented jasminoides and then up in the lift to be greeted by Luca. He informed us that due to circumstances we had been upgraded at no extra cost to suite with spectacular views and private terrace. It's all white decor is starkly dramatic with the rocky face of the mountainside protruding into the very spacious room- so unique! We had a shower rather than bath and my wife was just a little disappointed about this but we had not requested a bath and for the exceptional value we could hardly carp! This is a hotel of only seven rooms and all are unique. The size of the hotel allowed for a very relaxed and intimated feel - the perfect atmosphere to chill. The public areas were spotless tastefully decorated and with a small but charming terrace to breakfast alfresco and a garden patio to enjoy the wonderful views over the rooftops of Amalfi down to the sea what more could you wish for! Breakfast could be taken over a three hour period and this is typically continental - juices, cereals, local meats and cheeses delicious pastries and cakes and of course a full choice of hot beverages - cappuccini the absolute best tasted! A hotel of this size so benefits from a small team of obliging staff and in the case of Luca, Pietro and the charismatic Nello nothing was too much trouble! I particularly enjoyed the banter and sence of humour of Nello and this humour did not seem to be lost on the other guests of varying nationalities . My wife celebated her birthday during our stay and we returned on the day to find a beautiful bouquet gifted by the hotel -a very nice gesture! We truly could not imagine anyone not enjoying their stay at this charming jewel in the crown of the Amalfi coast. We will return and hope it won't be too long before we get the chance . However,as a footnote there were no views from our window of the Hanging Gardens of Babylon or herds of wildebeests roaming across the plains........,.Basil do your best before our return!!




Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We arrived late at night from Sorrento and one of the first words spoken to us on arrival was "Welcome, you're in our home now". Our stay was an absolute delight from beginning to end. The rooms were very clean and well kept. WiFi was speedy. Breakfast was a delicious platter of warm croissants, pastries, salami, cheeses, fruits, vine tomatoes, and a cappuccino (or whatever you prefer). The breads are fresh baked in the morning at the local bakery. On warm mornings, you get to eat out in the terrace and look at an absolutely stunning view of the city and bay. Villa Lara is at one of the upper most points of Amalfi, which treats you to picturesque views.

The service was outstanding. They greeted us every morning and made fresh caffe / espresso, helped us book any trips, and lent us english language guide books to read about the area. We really enjoyed our stay here and Villa Lara will be our top choice for when we return to Amalfi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GobblingGoldgish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The staff are absolutely brilliant, friendly and so helpful. Great location as it is just far enough away from the crowds. Great views from terraces. Breakfast has plenty to get you going, cappucinos are great!! Everywhere is very clean and I would highly recommend a visit to Villa Lara. Thanks for the red wine on my birthday

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drew206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stromstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Really nice and cosy place in the background of Amalfi. Fantastic view over the city and the ocean! The service was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay. We stayed there for 4 nights in july/august in 2010, and if we go back to Amalfi once again. -Villa Lara will be our choice of hotel.

Bengt Johansson

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bengan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the delightful Villa Lara in a pink attic room for 5 nights in October 2013.
We found the pink attic room utterly charming. It was spacious & clean & comfortable & we loved looking at the night sky through the attic window whilst lying in bed at night.
As mentioned previously, Amalfi can get quite hectic with the daytime tourists during the day, but just a short walk up the hill & you can escape the crowds in your own retreat at the hotel.
Breakfast & evening drinks are served on the outside terrace & although the fare is simple, the views overlooking the town & the harbour are amazing.
We loved looking out over the harbour each morning during breakfast & seeing the latest cruise ships that had arrived, whilst munching on the delicious lemon cake served at breakfast. The lemon cake is homemade using the famous Amalfi lemons which grow in abundance all along the coast. Apart from the famous lemoncello, these beautiful lemons are also used for making lovely little chocolates, lemon soaps & hand lotions etc. A great gift to take back home. We bought a number of little soap bundles, which you will see all over the place, for gifts back home & they were a great choice! Easy & light to transport back home & they make your clothes in your suitcase smell divine.
The staff at the Villa Lara were wonderful throughout our stay. Always asking at breakfast what your plans were for the day & assisting with both suggestions & practical information like timetables for buses & ferries, ordering taxis, etc. We needed to do some laundry during our stay & Luca suggested a laundry across the road from the hotel where the laundry staff did our laundry during the day while we went sightseeing, all for a very reasonable price.
We loved our time at Hotel Villa Lara & felt that Amalfi was a great spot to base ourselves & visit the nearby towns on the local buses & ferries. If you don't suffer with motion sickness & winding, narrow roads don't scare you, this is an affordable & exciting way to visit other places around this coastal area. The views are fantastic!
One day we spent travelling on the Hop on Hop off bus from Amalfi to some of the nearby towns & we really enjoyed the day. Sometimes Hop On Hop Off bus trips can be a bit hit & miss, but this one was probably the best one we have done!
Lastly, a big thank you to both Luca & Nello for both their patience & encouragement when I used them to practise my limited Italian with.

Room Tip: Choose an attic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat-LakeMaquarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed for a week in the attic room. It was comfortable and roomy. The bathroom was new and everything was clean.
We were made to feel very welcome and looked after by the team at Villa Lara, Thanks to Nello, Luco and Alfonzo for making our stay so special.
We enjoyed the quietness of the Villa. It was only a 5 minute walk downhill to the cafes shops and transport services to the other villages on the Amalfi Coast.
As other guests have mentioned the terrace is a beautiful spot to sit and have your breakfast, which by the way was an excellant spread. Always plenty to eat and bottomless cups of coffee/Tea.
Thanks Guys!

Room Tip: The attic room has a dormer window with fantastic views of the town and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.3 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Property: Villa Lara
Address: Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing