We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our stay at A' Scalinatella was just amazing. Having booked into the hostel, we were offered instead, an apartment overlooking the Piazza Umberto. We felt so much part of what was happening in Atrani. The atmosphere was tremendous as was the help we received from Filippo. We would certainly return.

Jill & Steve, Slains Studio, Cruden Bay, Scotland

Room Tip: We would thoroughly reccommend the room above the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

This hotel is in Atrani, a gorgeous 10 minute walk from Amalfi. We stayed in an apartment, which overlooked Piazza Umberto the cutest Piazza we found in Italy. The owners are great, more than willing to help. When we arrived with another couple we had booked 2 separate rooms, but he upgraded us to an available apartment for free. The hotel is pretty run down and dingy...it seemed that no one had stayed in this apartment for years. The floors/bathrooms/kitchen was so nasty (I never took my shoes off once). BUT if you could get over that part, the rest of the stay here was amazing. Great time!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Filippo at Scalintella hostel was a great host and made sure me and my girlfriend were looked after. He told us how to avoid the pitfalls of paying tourist prices on this very expensive coast in Italy. We wanted to stay longer, in Amalfi and at this little hostel, so we will probably try to come back on our way north again later

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We only booked this about 10 hours before arriving and we we got there ( early) there was no reception to speak of so we thought we might be stuck with our bags until the agreed meeting time. However a man popped up from nowhere and greeted us, helping us with our bags up the steep stairs to our room. The room itself was very basic but clean and comfortable and within a 5 min walk of the beach which was great. You can pay alot more to stay just 10 minutes walk up the road...we were really happy with our choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie101photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I stayed hear for 5 nights and felt very welcome and looked after. the brothers who own the place are really really nice and converstaional and gave me good reccomendations for what to do during my time there. the location is utterly amazing and definitely the best thing about the hostel the beach is so close (3mins) and the piazza is really authentic, non touristic and buzzing with character and the local italians. I also found the hostel attractive as it has colourful tiles everywhere and it was very clean too. its a simple place but i felt genuinely that i had everything i needed... i want to go back :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matilda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The Amalfi Coast is beautiful, and Atrani is lovely, however if there is another hostel you can find on the Amalfi Coast - stay there. The hotel might be ok, but the hostel rooms were awful. We were given a "private" room, which was basically in a large horrible room with 14 beds and they had then put dividers between the beds to make them into "private" rooms. However there was no ceiling and if anyone spoke or had a light on everyone else was affected. We also had no windows. I have stayed in similar places in south america, but there when I was paying 1€ a night I didnt really mind. At 25€ a night we felt ripped off. Yes you get a free breakfast, but its not enought to justify the really high price. The bathrooms were also disgusting, dirty and were basically toilets where they had placed a shower head over the toilet - if you want to sit on the loo and simultaneously have a shower, this is your place! The owners were lovely, but again not enough to make up for the disgusting accomodation. We stayed in central hostels in Venice, Rome, Florence where we paid similar prices and got a hell of a lot more for our money. Spend some time looking for a better place on the Amalfi Coast, we didnt and we regretted it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The owners were super friendly and made us feel completely at home.
The breakfast was outstanding.
It's simple and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marta6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,027 reviews
0.8 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#22 of 29 in Amalfi
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel

Address: Piazza Umberto Primo 5-6 | Amalfi, Campania, Italy, 84010, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: £46 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 243
Also Known As:
a Scalinatella Hostel Hotel
a Scalinatella Hostel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing