We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend”
Review of Hotel Amalfi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Amalfi
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recommend”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Modestly priced hotel in the heart of the lovely coastal town of Amalfi. Friendly staff. Room basic but surprisingly large toilet shower room. Some noise from (outside) steps below our second floor room but not excessive. Suggest ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. Air con v effective. Spotlessly clean (the whole hotel - not just our room). Breakfast was the usual "continental" but fresh fruit and yogurts available as well as bread cheese, ham etc.

Very handily located, just 5 minutes level walk to sea. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitram055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    188
    80
    40
    17
See reviews for
101
232
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We spent two nights here on a weekend, paying Euro 85 per night for a double with breakfast and received a free upgrade from an Economy room to a Standard (which we assume was just a bigger room).

The strange staircase arrangement means you have to go outside to get from the 2nd floor down (if not taking the lift) but this was fine. Our room faced the courtyard, was relatively quiet (other than the church bells which ring every quarter of an hour from 7 a.m. onwards...), spacious, with a good-sized bathroom. Wi-Fi reception on the second floor is weak so we were provided with a cable for our laptop and the wired connection was better. If you only have a wireless receiver, then you will want to avoid a room on the 2nd floor since we were told Wi-Fi on the upper floors is fine.

A decent continental buffet breakfast. Excellent, central location and very easy to find if you arrive by bus or ferry. If you have heavy luggage, be prepared to haul it up a flight of steps but really, the old staircases of Amalfi are part of the charm and fun to explore.

A good value option for a tourist town.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BooksHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester uk
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this lovely, homely hotel. The check-in was quick, the receptionist was helpful, spoke wonderful English, and was very informative.
Our room, 301, was overlooking the garden, at the back of the hotel. It was very clean and spacious, with a delightful en-suite and both solid and louvre doors to the outside.
Breakfast was provided on the top floor, both terrace and inside tables available. The continental breakfast was plentiful with many choices, the staff are attentive and charming.
Other guests have passed comment about the Wi-Fi but we found it to be fine, no problems in reception, on the terrace and 95% of the time in our room on the 3rd floor.
The air conditioning unit in the room doubled up as a heater at night as we were subject to a short cooler spell during our stay. The heater was quiet and more than adequate.
We did book a trip via the hotel, to Pompeii and Vesuvius, which was well organised, with a knowledgable tour guide.
The hotel is a 2minute walk from the square and 3 minute walk from the harbour, using a short cut through the labyrinth of charming passageways, from whence one can catch ferries, jetfoil to Capri, Sorrento and other destinations.
I would recommend this hotel for its amenities, position and general character, we look forward to visiting again.
Thank you to Paola and the rest of the staff for your kindness and help during our stay, we very much hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Our room at the back was quiet regarding street noise and late night passers by, however I imagine t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I have stayed there for two weeks and it was absolutely fantastic time. The stuff is so nice and friendly that i have never seen before. The hotel itself is cozy and clean. The bed was huge and comfortable, the room was clean and with lots of space to put things into.
the only thing that i didn't like was the lack of frigde and lots of noise from the street - but that is something one should get used to in Italy...

go there if you don't need any super-extra elegance and luxury!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Liked the idea of a family run hotel & our experience was a good one. The staff were quite friendly & helpful, the location is excellent in the centre of Amalfi but some may not like the need to climb some stairs from the street. We had the upper level a separate building in the courtyard which we very much liked, especially the small balcony which has a good view of the hills & the Amalfi buildings. Having breakfast on the terrace roof is good as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_D_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Family hotel who were very hospitable. Breakfast served by the piano was a nice touch. Its a fantastic location and great value. Very clean. Stayed here 2 nights in September 2011 after visiting family in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeyaVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We got this room very last minute after deciding to stay in Italy another week and were delighted with it. We were blown away by the price and found we really got value for the little money we paid. The staff were wonderful and went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The room was spotlessly clean. A bit noisy with heavy room keys and corridor noise and of course the bells!! Great location so central to all, great local bars in and around the square, however you'd be mad not to venture away from the square and eat in the wonderful restaurants overlooking the coast. Great base to visit the beautiful coastline and very cheap even on the tour buses. Hair raising journeys but bus drivers seem to know what they're doing along the mountainous routes. definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
575 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#17 of 29 in Amalfi
1,014 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amalfi

Property: Hotel Amalfi
Address: Vico Dei Pastai 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amalfi 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing