We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the right place for those arriving by sea/land”
Review of Hotel Amalfi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amalfi
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very good location. Did not have to climb like in many other places on the Amalfitan coast when you arrive by land or sea. Very easy to locate from the only street in the center of Amalfi. Has a roof top where brackfast is served but can also spend some time sitting and admiring the mountain, the duomo. Room was very spacious as well as the shower.

problems encountered: being so close to the Duomo the bells can be a problem if y do not have ear plugs while sleeping.
Internet wi-fi is good on the 1st and roof top but not in the room (mine was on the 2nd floor)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tajikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a great hotel, good location just off the main street and only a couple of mins from the beach. The rooms were very clean and had everything we could need. The staff were very helpful, giving us directions, booking taxis, recommending tours etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gwen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A small hotel situated in one of the backstreets (not hard to find) offers a comfortable room not overly luxurious but with attentive cleaning staff and air conditioning, that is not charged, made returning to our room after a busy hot day, delightful.
Breakfast is very average, unvaried and small choice. However the kitchen staff are very friendly and within two days we were treated like regulars with our drink preferences remembered and some light banter added value to our early morning starts (otherwise we might have been a little grouchy), also the coffee was delicious and alongside the balcony view of the Duomo, instantly required me to forgive any other faults with breakfast

As we were visiting on a budget we stocked up on meat, bread and cheese for packed lunches, you can find the convenience store/supermarket in an alley across the main street from the hotel, not easy to find but it is there, I promise.

Being situated in Amalfi, arguably the jewel of the area, it is well connected by the SITA buses which run very regularly to Positano and, more importantly, Sorrento, where the train connects the area to Naples, Pompeii and Vesuvius (obviously a must see). There are also stunning walks into the hills of Amalfi, particularly the pony path to Pogerola.

In summary the price is very reasonable to be situated in the Heart of Amalfi with good service (and delicious coffee), stayed as couple and would stay again. Only lacks a sea view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed last April. Staff very nice. Rooms clean and tidy. Car parking very 'tight' but the staff used to park the hire car for me. ( Much appreciated, after travelling around and braving the cast roads ) Didn't miss not having a pool.

Braekfast on the roof terrace was nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Hotel Amalfi – Amalfi
The Hotel Amalfi is the quintessential Italian family hotel. The Lucibello family, under manager Signora Carmella, can, will and do arrange anything and everything you need to explore Amalfi and the Amalfi coast, from transfers from Salerno to private vehicle tours to Pompeii. The roads in the area are quite scary and transfers by competent drivers are a must – and that’s exactly what you get from the Hotel Amalfi. A much appreciated feature of the housekeeping was the daily change of bedding. Breakfast on the terrace with views of the mountaintop and the town centre was a great way to start the day. All the staff were gracious, attentive, and made us feel completely at home! The visit to Amalfi was a wonderful experience in itself – finding the Hotel Amalfi was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony over courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had two rooms in a cottage in the garden. Very quiet and beautiful flowers and lemon trees in the garden. Breakfast served on the rooftop terrace. Great little hotel! Driving through town to get to the parking garage and being assisted by their gentleman was a fun experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here 2 nights after returning from Paestum while exploring the Amalfi coast. Amalfi was our favorite town since it was easy to get everywhere by bus or boat from here and the cathedral was one of our favorites. There are also many restaurants and you could reach everything by foot from this hotel. The family who runs it could not be nicer and more accommodating. We were very unhappy with our first room (309) which was near the elevator and lots of kids were running thru the halls. We were shocked since the reviews we read on TripAdvisor led us to believe the rooms were quiet and many had terraces or garden areas. So we asked for a different room and were given #315 which was indeed in the garden and could not have been quieter and more isolated. The views from breakfast virtually took our breath away and the staff was very helpful. We would not stay anywhere else when in Amalfi..

Room Tip: Our room was #315 which was lovely, in the garden. The room right above us would be even better si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handhnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#16 of 29 in Amalfi
1,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Floridiana Hotel
Floridiana Hotel
#5 of 29 in Amalfi
547 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
351 reviews
0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amalfi

Address: Vico Dei Pastai 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range: £67 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amalfi 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing