We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Amalfi Success!”
Review of Hotel Amalfi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amalfi
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Amalfi Success!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

When I booked this hotel I was unsure what I would think as it had several mixed reviews. I had also never been to the town of Amalfi or the Amalfi Coast in general at all so I didn't know what to expect but I am happy to report that my experience at the Hotel Amalfi was a success. The best part is the location. It's a 5 minute walk to the beach, the piers, and the Main Church square and is easy to find, just a little bit off of the main street. We arranged for a car pickup at the train station in Salerno to get us there and our driver Alfonso was excellent. He helped us with our bags, was super kind and pointed out many sights during the drive to Amalfi, and was also able to navigate the insanely treacherous twists and turns of the tiny road that leads from Salerno to Amalfi. The staff at the desk was helpful answering our questions about excursions, restaurants, and other transfers, and the daily breakfast is good with a lovely view of the hills from out on the terrace.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenMcG99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    181
    77
    39
    16
See reviews for
90
225
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Overall this place was perfect!

We arrived late at night past the last check-in time that they normally would ask of us however after getting in contact with them via email they had no issues with checking us in late at night. Upon arrival we were greeted by the hotel staff and shown to our room which was actually in the garden, room 316. At first we thought we were being separated from the rest of the hotel as we are younger than most of the visiting guests however when we did open the door it was exactly what we expected which is great as it had everything we needed just as a base to get around and explore the local towns and cities. But what made it all worthwhile was waking up in the mornings to see the views from the balcony!!! I don't think they entire hotel got these views. Truly outstanding. Then followed by a large breakfast with a variety of different pastries, meats, cereals and fresh fruit to choose from.
Another point to note was that the rooms were cleaned to an exceptionally high standard every day which was a great touch.
The staff were very friendly and other reviews have mentioned how they were abrupt or rude with their answers, this is not true they are trying to be as helpful as possible and they were just getting the point across without risking hiccups from speaking in English.
We couldn't have had a better stay and should we return to the area we shall be returning to the same hotel without a doubt.

Room Tip: Rooms in the garden have amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kineto7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We shared a twin standard room at this hotel. It was small ,but clean. Check in was done efficiently . Unfortunately our room was not of a 3 star standard....if you wanted air con.you had to pay! There was no ceiling fan and was very hot. Wifi was hit and miss......and when other rooms used their shower or toilet we could hear all the plumbing.....not good late at night. In the morning we were awakened by the chairs being moved in the breakfast terrace above. Very noisy!
Breakfast ok,but nothing special. Would have been nice if the breakfast staff smiled occasionally ,and actually greeted you!

Only good feature was the location...very central to restaurants, beach etc.
had nice views from terrace on roof top

Room Tip: Don't stay on level 4. .....standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay in the hotel Amalfi. You don't get sea views here but what you do get, is a great centrally located hotel.
We stayed in a superior room overlooking the garden. I would highly recommend you ask for this as I can imagine that rooms nearer the street will be noisy.
Our room was a good size and the bed was comfy. The cleaners were fantastic and we always had our bed re-made and fresh towels everyday for when we returned from sight seeing.
This hotel is quite rustic - traditional furnishings and linens etc, so if your a fan of the ultra chic boutique hotels, then this is not for you.
Breakfast is included in the price and was just the start to the day you needed...lots of energy is required for all those steps in and around town!
Thank you to all the staff at the Amalfi for making our stay perfect xx

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lauramaria36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and roomy and had a nice breakfast in the morning. However we never felt welcomed by the staff. At one point, I had a question about the bill and the manager answered me in such a rude that would have only been appropriate if we had argued for an extended time. In addition the office was right off of the lobby where the managers argued amongst themselves. Because I speak Italian, I understood that they were arguing about hotel guests, among other things. I was obviously not the only Italian speaking guest and there was no effort to hide their conversation.

Amalfi is beautiful and worth a visit. There are many tourists and thus some of the people that work there may have short patience. Expect very short patience at Hotel Amalfi. You will be happy you are there but they will not be happy to see you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Tdiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is located in the middle of Amalfi in a small alley just a few steps from the main road. helpful and nice staff. We had a superior room and that was clean, spacius and had a small balcony overlooking the alley. The breakfast is served on the 5th floor and you can have it outside on the terrace. The breakfast is better than in most hotels in Italy (for example they have cheese and ham which you do not usually get in hotels in Italy). Only downside is the wifi. It is not working in the rooms. You have to go to the lobby or to the terrace on the 5th floor. And even when you get the wifi working, it is not that good...

Room Tip: Choose a superior room with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FINUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great little hotel right in the middle of Amalfi . Clean neat and easy with a nice price. Staff was great always helpful in how to get around. Breakfast was nice and the roof top a great way to start the day. If i have any complaint at all is the bed was a little too firm. But a great starting point to see the town of Amalif or any of the coast as we went up to Revello by bus and down to Capri by boat and walked to Atrani.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jims767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amalfi

Property: Hotel Amalfi
Address: Vico Dei Pastai 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amalfi 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing