We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your choice for Amalfi Coast”
Review of Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
istanbul
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Your choice for Amalfi Coast”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I have been to Hotel Residence in July for a week for my best friend"s wedding in Amalfi. I have found the hotel through Tripadvisor anf Residence turned out to be one of the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. It's a 18th century palazzo converted into a hotel in 1950"s and renovated in 2010. It is perfectly situated next to Amalfi port and beaches with magnificent views of the sea and. I have stayed in a room with an outstanding frescoed ceiling with a very nice balcony. Breakfast and evening drinks at the terrace overlooking to Mediterraneo is so lovely. One can make this hotel a focal point and travel to Positano, Atrani and Ravello from here. When you step out of your room you meet lovely chandeliers, statues and artefacts of the palazzo. The staff is very helpful. I"m looking forward for my next trip and stay in room 4 once again! It has great atmosphere both for couples and families and solo travellers.

Room Tip: room 4 is nice and room 7 has a jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    135
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
68
242
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

we have just returned from brilliant week in Amalfi- the hotel was clean and modern inside despite being a lovely old building. staff were friendly and helpful, buffet breakfast that was included was an excellent start to the day. it is ideally situated near buses, the old town and ferries, yet with the windows closed we were not disturbed by noise. we had excellent trips out to pompeii, versuvus, ravello. other beaches were just short and cheap (2euro) bus trip away. would reccomend

Room Tip: we had standard room which had balcony and overlooked the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BathNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Perfect situated in the middle of Amalfi City. Close to everything; bus, restaurants, boats, shopping, beach. Breakfast at the terrace overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Nice to sit here with a book in the afternoon too. Very close to the little beach. Breakfast was ok, but I would recommend to order coffee from the staff. The room was clean and nicely renovated. The aircon had a short breakdown but it was fixed shortly after informing the reception. Internet free and works perfectly. Helpful and friendly staff. I spend some nice days here and would not hesitate to book here again. If you have a sleeping problem because of noise bring silicone ear plugs..

Room Tip: Ask for sea view. There will be more noise from the street but on the other side of the building you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is my second visit to Hotel Residence and it has to be one of the best finds on the whole Amalfi Coast. As you see, we have given 'Excellent' in every single category. Since our last visit the hotel has been completely redecorated, with an extra lift added - but it still looks exactly like the former Palace it once was. Having fresh towels placed in your room at 8:00pm every night is a nice touch. Fabulous staff - Best location in Amalfi - Reasonably priced - A Winning combination!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bendigo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The best location in Amalfi with exceptional service and assistance from staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garyBendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Great Hotel located in the best location in Amalfi. Very nice and clean and the staff is excellent too.

I highly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Could not have asked for anything more. Hotel was in the perfect location. Room was large, nicely appointed, and very clean. Ours had a small balcony with views of both the sea and Piazza Duomo. Common areas were beautiful. Breakfast was served on a large patio facing the sea (also used for late afternoon/evening bar). Hotel staff was very professional and courteous. Would not hesitate to recommend, and look forward to visiting the extraordinary Amalfi coast and this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Property: Residence Hotel
Address: Corso delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing