We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view from our window”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best view from our window”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We ended our vacation in Amalfi with a great stay at this Hotel. We had a corner room with a large terrace with table and chairs on one side and a balcony overlooking the street on the other. Both sides had great views of the ocean and the town. It was extremely clean and the service was excellent. The outside breakfast was very good in a pleasant atmosphere. It is within short walking distance of shopping, restaurants and the water.

Room Tip: We had the corner room on the second floor; #15 I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    130
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
64
234
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just came back from a 3 day stay. Well situated with views of the sea and nice terrace for breakfast (although the breakfast was very mediocre). The bathroom was the smallest of any I've ever had in Europe and no little touches in the room like a waste basket, water, tissues. Did not like the set-up where you leave your room key at the front desk when you go out for the day and it is in "Full Display" of any one entering. There were at least 3 different front desk gentlemen during out stay and wouldn't have known me from Adam when I ask for our room key?!?!?!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caligirl311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is stunning, located directly across from the beach and marina. We loved our stay here and would like to thank the front desk staff for helping us figure out the bus from Amalfi to Salerno. Breakfast is also great, big selection of food on a pretty terrace! I would recommend staying here.

Jenna and Mike

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just had 2 weeks in Amalfi - a wonderful destination for a quiet relaxing holiday. Stayed first in Hotel Marina Riviera then Hotel Residence. Both are on the front and close to the centre of Amalfi, which suited us – many hotels along the Amalfi coast will be isolated, but we could walk around the town, have a choice of different restaurants every night, get a boat to Capri, etc.

From our experience, the Marina Riviera scores so much more than the Residence – we would return to Marina Riviera, but not the Residence. To list the little things that made the difference: at the Marina Riviera we had a bottle of water in our room every day; a bowl of fruit when we arrived; a box of tissues; draws with handles; very attentive staff; a good choice of breads and croissants (that never ran out) and eggs cooked to order; and of course a rooftop pool. None of these applied to the Residence, although it is also a 4 star hotel. The Residence was not terrible, but missed the little touches. Because of the timing of our bookings we paid less for the Marina Riviera (early booking) than the Residence. We had a Double Room at Marina Riviera and Deluxe Double at Residence.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The reception manager's (most of the time he's at the desk) is very not nice, not tourist friendly, acting arrogant and Antipathetic. Contrary to all the hotels we've been, check out time is already at 11.
There is no hotel parking. If you are coming by car you have to park in a public lot just about 10 minutes' walk from the hotel at a cost of 20 euros per day. If you leave the parking lot after the 12th time you start to pay for each additional hour.
The hotel's location is good and very centralizes. Nice breakfast, less than expected.
The hotel itself looks good, the room was fine, but was a bit stuffy and there is enough lighting.
For the price we paid we expected to get much from the hotel and a much better attitude.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lior M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeside, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautiful, breakfast was great. We were there for 3 days and they helped us navigate our hikes and then suggestions for dinner after we were cleaned up and ready to go out. Every evening we enjoyed a prosecco on the terrace and the bartender was always extremely friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived and saw what we believe to be bed bugs and marks on our bed. I immediately told the gentleman at the reception desk and showed him the bugs. He quickly dismissed them and said they were just mosquitos. I obviously know they are not mosquitos. I asked to change rooms but he would not do us this courtesy. He only offered to change the sheets and the mattresses after I insisted they be changed. The gentleman was not only rude and dismissive, he was downright offensive in his attitude. After they refused to switch rooms, we asked for them to at least discount our rooms since we did not feel comfortable sleeping in our bed. He refused and simply said no without offering anything more than a drink at their bar. The location is great, yes, but I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff was rude and dismissive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mario O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Property: Residence Hotel
Address: Corso delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing