We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!!!”
Review of Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!!!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The unbeatable location right next to the center of Amalfi, right in front of the beach! Great hospitality! The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Amazing views of Amalfi town and the coast, breakfast on the terrace with a wonderful sea view and attentive service. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The views from our room and the balcony were incredible! Staff was extremely helpful to show us directions, help with trips, etc. Thanks to Francesco and Vittorio that made our stay one of the best experiences ever!

Room Tip: Room #7 has incredible views and 2 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psg1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    140
    22
    5
    9
See reviews for
68
253
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed 5 nights in October 2013. The location was perfect for us. Right in the epicenter of Amalfi. Loved the busy scene with buses, ferries, cars, motorinos and tourists with the beautiful background of beach, harbour and the Mediterranean. Nice big balcony, actually two in our room. Had the doors open every night but the heavy and dark blue curtains did a good job reducing street noise and light. Really nice bathroom with Jacuzzi. Good breakfast buffet served outside on the covered terrace. The hotel is recently renovated and what a good job they did. Nice classic style. Very friendly staff and with excellent local knowledge. The only small glitch was that the Wi-Fi didn't cover our balcony.
Will definitely come back when we are in that incredibly beautiful part of Italia

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Niels P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The location is very central and in front of the beach.
The room was very clean and the bathroom was big and modern.
The bed was comfortable.
The breakfast in the terrace is very nice with sea view.
One guy of the reception (I don't remenber the name) has a lack of patience while explaining how the parking works.
You have to park your car in a payed parking garage from a walking distance of 300 meters (5 min): 20 Euros per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosinaldoBsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We ended our vacation in Amalfi with a great stay at this Hotel. We had a corner room with a large terrace with table and chairs on one side and a balcony overlooking the street on the other. Both sides had great views of the ocean and the town. It was extremely clean and the service was excellent. The outside breakfast was very good in a pleasant atmosphere. It is within short walking distance of shopping, restaurants and the water.

Room Tip: We had the corner room on the second floor; #15 I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just came back from a 3 day stay. Well situated with views of the sea and nice terrace for breakfast (although the breakfast was very mediocre). The bathroom was the smallest of any I've ever had in Europe and no little touches in the room like a waste basket, water, tissues. Did not like the set-up where you leave your room key at the front desk when you go out for the day and it is in "Full Display" of any one entering. There were at least 3 different front desk gentlemen during out stay and wouldn't have known me from Adam when I ask for our room key?!?!?!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caligirl311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is stunning, located directly across from the beach and marina. We loved our stay here and would like to thank the front desk staff for helping us figure out the bus from Amalfi to Salerno. Breakfast is also great, big selection of food on a pretty terrace! I would recommend staying here.

Jenna and Mike

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just had 2 weeks in Amalfi - a wonderful destination for a quiet relaxing holiday. Stayed first in Hotel Marina Riviera then Hotel Residence. Both are on the front and close to the centre of Amalfi, which suited us – many hotels along the Amalfi coast will be isolated, but we could walk around the town, have a choice of different restaurants every night, get a boat to Capri, etc.

From our experience, the Marina Riviera scores so much more than the Residence – we would return to Marina Riviera, but not the Residence. To list the little things that made the difference: at the Marina Riviera we had a bottle of water in our room every day; a bowl of fruit when we arrived; a box of tissues; draws with handles; very attentive staff; a good choice of breads and croissants (that never ran out) and eggs cooked to order; and of course a rooftop pool. None of these applied to the Residence, although it is also a 4 star hotel. The Residence was not terrible, but missed the little touches. Because of the timing of our bookings we paid less for the Marina Riviera (early booking) than the Residence. We had a Double Room at Marina Riviera and Deluxe Double at Residence.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
589 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
704 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Property: Residence Hotel
Address: Corso delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing