We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location”
Review of Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai Region, China
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Location”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great hotel, thats located in a historic building right on the seafront, but been tastefully refurbished and the bathroom etc, seems like brand new.
Very helpful reception staff who gave great directions etc for parking our car, arranged for local washing of our clothes (10Euro per Kilo),
Great breakfast location out on the terrace.
All in all a great hotel that I would highly recommend

Room Tip: we we're travelling with our 14 year old daughter. They we're unable to offer a direct sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patersonberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    140
    22
    5
    9
See reviews for
68
253
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here in this boutique hotel for 4 nights as part of a walking tour group. The hotel could not have been better. Our room on the 2nd floor was small, but quite roomy enough, and had a great view of the sea from our side balcony. There was adequate storage and the bathroom was new and modern, with a fantastic Jacuzzi shower and a heated towel rail, which was great for drying clothes. There was also an in-room safe. It was very quiet, with only one other room in our wing occupied. The floor is serviced by both staircase and lift; the latter never had much wait time.
The location is wonderful, being just across the road from the ferry terminal and very close to all the shops and restaurants and services. However, there was little noise from below once the balcony windows were closed.
We did not dine at the restaurant, but we did have drinks each evening. By the second night, the waiter had memorised all our preferences and he made great cocktails. Breakfast was served in the restaurant room, which flowed out onto the terrace overlooking the sea, although this was too cold for us most mornings. Breakfast was a buffet with an excellent mix of cereals, breads, fruits, meats, eggs and hot dishes.
All in all, this was a most pleasant stay in a small hotel where one is not overwhelmed by crowds but which has everything you would want from a large one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottie2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I visited Amalfi coast with my friends and we stayed in this hotel. We were quite happy with the rooms and the service. The staff were really kind and helpful, they recommended several places for us to go and see, they made various reservations on our behalf and they were providing us with accurate instructions.
The hotel is a very convenient place to stay when visiting Amalfi.

The hotel is located in a walking distance to all main points of interest. The breakfast was good, the rooms were cleaned twice a day. The cleaning of the rooms was done very quickly and discreetly ; however this also has a downside for me. I would rather prefer to have available a 'do not disturb' tag (there seems not to be such option available) and use it while I don't want anyone to enter the room.
It happened twice that I left my things on the table and went for breakfast. Once back, the room was cleaned already. It wouldn't be practical to put everything in the safe, while on breakfast.

I also find the hotel a bit overpriced but I understand that the selected season impacts on prices as well. All in all, there is nothing really negative; just some small observations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel last week whilst attending a family wedding. Overall I liked the hotel, it's decor, situation and atmosphere. I stayed in a deluxe room which was nice but small and I didn't feel it warranted a 30% surcharge on the standard double which was in fact much larger.
The essentials I felt were missing were:
1. No full length mirror - to me this is essential and there is no excuse, there was plenty of space for one and they are inexpensive to install.
2. Only 1 light in the bathroom, not sufficient for putting make up on or for shaving.
3. No iron in the room nor available for guests to borrow. Why? they offer a laundry service, so, in my mind, the hotel withholds the iron to make more money from guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here with my fiance recently for a few days before our wedding in the nearby Duomo. It is a very pleasant hotel, with the entrance nestled between two shops. It has a great interior full of dressings that relate to Amalfi's history, good friendly staff who are very helpful, they arranged for my fiances wedding dress to be pressed by a local laundry service, and they gave me and my wife free cold drinks when we were outside in the sweltering heat arguing with the local Amalfi car service!
They were also very accommodating, allowing our photographer take photos around the hotel. They provide a great breakfast service with a terrace looking out to the sea to enjoy. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, in all a good place to stay if you are visiting beautiful Amalfi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalow, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My friend and I stayed here as part of a self-guided walking tour, so I don't know whether this hotel is good value for money, but I do know it provided excellent service, a wonderful breakfast which was eaten on the deck overlooking the ocean, and was just a short walk to central Amalfi with its many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just got back from a week traveling in Italy. One of our stops was Amalfi and we stayed at the Hotel Residence. It was so nice. Easy walking distance from the boat that we took from Sorrento to Amalfi. The hotel was clean and well located. All the people who worked at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful and to our advantage spoke English very well. Especially helpful was the main desk who helped us get back to Rome. The breakfast was your average fare for buffet. So glad that I looked on tripadvisor to get the information on the hotels I selected.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
588 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
704 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Property: Residence Hotel
Address: Corso delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing