We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely old hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Spent a week at the Residence Hotel and have nothing but good things to say about it. Our room was overlooking the sea and had a little balcony - beautifully decorated and extremely clean. The staff were helpful and thanks to them we were able to arrange quite a few trips. The Hotel does not have a Restaurant for lunch or dinner ( breakfast is served in the Terrace Bar) but they are only too happy to recommend local establishments, of which there are many - all very good. Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea and with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondlil62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    130
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
64
234
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We have just spent 5 glorious days at The Residence Hotel. Our room on the 3rd floor was spacious, spotlessly clean with discreet and prompt housekeeping service. The shower in the bathroom was fabulous ! The staff in the hotel were courteous and very helpful when we asked for their advice on local restaurants and trips. The breakfast was plentiful and the terrace was a delightful place to start the day discussing our plans. The bus stop and ferry are in the immediate vicinity and will take you to other towns along the coast. The town of Amalfi is lovely to wander through, looking in the shops and stopping for a drink or a meal to watch the world go by. We enjoyed a wonderful free concert on the steps of the cathedral and some fun antics of a local mime artist that drew a huge crowd. The Residence is situated right in the heart of Amalfi and we could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blandford5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel 9-13 july with friends. The hotel is very central opposite the beach, bus stop and jetty.
The hotel is lovely and so are all the staff, the rooms are spotless and all individual as we were travelling with friends we compared each others rooms and were impressed by all o f them . We had a room on the second floor at the back which was larger that the ones on the first floor. The bar and terrace were lovely too the staff in there make fabulous cocktails , we all became cocktail converts thanks to them ( this includes beer drinking husbands!). Breakfast is very continental lots of choice and eaten out on the terrace overlooking the sea.
Amalfi is beautiful very busy all the time the hotel is right on the road so be careful when you walk out the door .We loved the hustle and bustle of it all, great place to watch life happen. Some people have mentioned about it being noisy, but you're on holiday! its not a problem at all.The windows have shutters on so that blocks out the noise.
There are plenty of places to eat some expensive and some reasonable you have to look round to see what fits your budget, there are so many little back streets with little cafes and resturants its nice to wander round in the afternoon looking at the menus ready for when you go out in the evening. We went to Revello on the bus and Positano by boat both were beautiful as is the whole coast line. Hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very good location - 1 minute from the busstop. Our room was small but adequate. However, when we requested an additional stand for our second suitcase, we were told there was none available. This made it very difficult to manouver around in the restricted space in the room. We had a small blacony with a partial sea view and view of the mountain. The marble staircase is stunning. There is a lovely terrace overlooking the beach where we enjoyed sipping cocktails in the evenings. Breakfasts were excellent. Staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroubra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have just stayed for one week at this great little hotel it's right in the centre of Amalfi. You can sit on your balcony and to sun bake and watch the world go buy then close your sound proof balcony doors and lock the world away. The staff are very helpful and smartly dressed and above all top value for money. I have stayed in many hotels up and down the coast of Italy and most major towns for the past 15 years but this is the best value for money I have found. The hotel was fully renovated 4 years ago so fully sound proof.
Euros 910 for double room with breakfast for the week. If there is a down side, one morning my scrambled eggs at breakfast were a little on the cool side. Oh dear?
The best way to get to Amalfi from Naples airport is still by taxi I'm affraid 120 euros.

Room Tip: Over looking the beach. Go silent air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I just returned from a 3 night stay there. The hotel is a perfect location, right across from the sea and bus stop location. The room was large, and the wifi worked perfectly at all times. Staff made great suggestions on where to eat and travel to. Great value.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Seine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I would like to express my appreciation to the Hotel Residence staff. It was our first time to visit Amalfi Coast, and Italy. Prior to my trip I emailed the Hotel Residence numerous times with questions. I always received a comprehensive reply within the same day. The hotel arranged transportation for us from the Salerno train station. The hotel is in a great location and us besutiful. The restaurant staff were very friendly and made us feel like we were staying with family. While out shopping I noticed that I lost a diamond earring from my ear. I was so happy when I returned to my room because it was laying in a bowl on the desk. Apparently the housekeeping found it while cleaning. They could gave kept it and I would never had known. If I go back, I will stay there again. The shower pressure was great too!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Property: Residence Hotel
Address: Corso delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing