We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Gerry's Pub

Gerry's Pub
Ranked #19 of 104 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$39
Cuisines: Italian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Gerry's pub is an ideal place for a quick snack or a for a full lunch or diner amdmiring the stunning view from our terrace!The home made pasta and the homegrown vegetables are the clear signs of a real local italian cuisine!In summer time (april/oct) the Gerry's pub is open till 2.00 Am and there is live music on wednesday and saturday . Please call us for a reservation and we will be happy to send our shuttle car to your hotel for a free ride to us!
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of Gerry's apartments that is just below his bar. The view is amazing , it looks across the valleys and up towards Ravello . We ate there quite often , the food was very good . The bar had entertainment , which was Gerry and his restaurant helper Maria , Gerry plays the piano and Maria and him sing , Maria has a wonderful voice , trained by Gerry so he tells us. Great entertainment and lovely views especially as the night draws in, and the far away house lights start to twinkle.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deaks58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    60
    19
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and Italian!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went up to Gerry's Pub twice during our week in Amalfi. We were greeted warmly on the first occasion and like friends when we went back again; wish we had gone more.
The food was excellent, real Italian cooking with a varied menu to choose from. The atmosphere in the evening is great with the music adding to the experience. Thanks Gerry, we will be back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhinoss, Proprietario at Gerry's Pub, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
hello my friends
is was a big pleasure to meet you and we were very happy to read your nice review which is the best tip to our hard daily work.
We hope to see you again in our terrace and all the best in the meantime

regards

gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, MA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Don't miss a night at Gerry's Pub!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just back from three nights in the Villa Maria B&B, right next door to Gerry's Pub. We ate at Gerry's two of those nights and stopped in for Limoncello the other. Gerry and his whole family work hard to make your visit enjoyable. The food is good, home-cooked -- no pretensions, just honest good meals. The views from the the pub's terrace are magnificent -- not a sea view, but a view across the valley to a couple of small white villages and rugged mountains behind them -- priceless!

This pub is a popular spot -- far above Amalfi, but one night the place was packed. At the end of the evening Gerry entertains with his keyboard and joins one of the waitresses with some songs! Sometimes the customers join in -- great fun!

Thanks, Gerry (and Flavio) for making our nights in Pogerola so memorable! Hoping someday we will get back to see you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect host, great food”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Excelsior May 10 - May 24 2014 and walked up to Gerry's Pub in Pogerola every night. The food, prepared by Gerry's sister Sylvana, is simply delicious and very affordable, as was the wine. Gerry was always there to greet us - perfect host, always attentive to our every need. We had the pleasure to hear him and Maria sing on a couple of occasions, one being for our wedding anniversary. When time came to leave after 2 weeks, it was very difficult to say goodbye! We look forward to coming back as soon as possible.
Grazie Gerry, Sylvana & Maria.

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMarieJosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Stay in Gerry's apartments”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in one of Gerry's apartments. Two of his apartments (I believe he has 3) are located right beneath the restaurant and we were in the upper apartment. These two apartments have a large shared terrace and private balconies that stretch the entire length of the apartment. Great views of the hills. The apartments are relatively large with one bedroom, living room, kitchen and bathroom. Doors lead to the balcony in several places and there is a small table for two to enjoy the nice weather. The kitchen is relatively well equipped and we had no trouble cooking several of our meals here. The fridge was larger than most so storage wasn't a problem. The bathroom was large. My only complaint is that the shower could have been cleaner. I find this is a typical problem in Italy and if I were there longer, I would have just cleaned it myself. Not a deal-breaker by any means.

I was initially worried that there may be too much noise with the pub right above us. Gerry designed the apartment with the bedroom under the outside space and the bathroom under where music is played. We could hear the music in the apartment but it didn't bother us, particularly in the bedroom where it would matter. Not sure how it would be in the heat of the summer with the windows open. In July or August, I might opt for the lower apartment.

We did not have WiFi in the apartment so had to go up to Gerry's pub. He had no problem with us hanging out on our computers. Having to go upstairs is a bit of a pain, as is waiting until he opens (around 11) but we weren't trying to get work done so the slight inconvenience really didn't make a difference to us.

Pogerola is great. It is away from the madhouse of the coast and has free parking close by (trust me, this is important). Driving on the roads requires attention but really isn't a big deal. I wouldn't rent a large car but with a small car it wasn't an issue. We also took the bus up from Amalfi. Really easy.

We were most interested in walking. Gerry's is in a great location. One day, we just walked from Pogerola, into the Valle della Ferriere and into Amalfi. We took a wrong turn initially (left instead of straight) which resulted in a much longer walk than we had anticipated. Another day, we drove towards the end of the peninsula to walk. If we were there longer, we would have taken several other hikes, starting in Pogerola.

We didn't eat properly at Gerry's but did have drinks and appetizers there. Prices were quite reasonable. Gerry speaks excellent English and he is very helpful and friendly. He is there 7 days/week for months on end so if you go to Gerry's pub, you will meet him and his wife. He is happy to arrange transportation and tours or to just answer your questions. He also appears to be related to half the town. People seemed particularly nice when they found out we were staying at Gerry's apartment.

We had initially booked a trip to Gerry's apartments 3 years ago but had to cancel due to an illness. So glad we finally made it. We are already planning our return trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NotThereYet59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gerry's Pub also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Gerry's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing