We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good eats good sleeps” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza del Duca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles, california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good eats good sleeps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is a 6 room b&b that feels more like a tiny hotel in that there is always someone at the front desk, a cleaning crew, and private standard rooms that don't make you feel like you are staying in grandma's house. The write ups in Rick steve's and lonely planet were spot on. We arrived by bus from Sorrento and stayed 3 nights which was lucky because there was a bus strike for the duration of our stay. We hitched a ride to Salerno to catch our train to Sicily with a kiwi couple that we met on the informative free walking tour of amalfi (meets Wednesdays at 530 at the museum).

Breakfast was the best in our Amalfi coast / Sicily trip. It was a good continental served on the beautiful sun deck. You got as many wonderful cappuccinos as you could hold, tasty fresh fruit, and then the typical croissants, toast, yogurt, cereal, salami and cheese. You woke up for this! Breakfast was intimate so we met all the other guests easily and felt like family by the end of our stay.

We stayed in a superior room and paid 100 euro with cash. Credit would have been 10 euro more. This room had a partial view of the water, no deck, but a nice rail balcony and even a cool sunshade you could lower to provide more cover. There was a fridge and free wifi (if you ask for the password). The bathroom was spotless with a jaccuzzi shower (never seen one of those!)

The location was a 3 minute walk from the bus / ferry station, but up about 80 steps. If you call them, they will come get your bags. The room faced plaza del dogi which we called the plaza of the screaming kids but it rolled up at night. Don't miss the view of amalfi valley from the roof. It was unbelievable, especially at night.

Duca's home made limoncello isn't as strong as il molino's but it is very tasty. At 10 euro a bottle it's a bit expensive but it's not watered down like the crap in town. And it's a fantastic experience. But order it ahead of time as mama has to make it!

Amalfi isn't quite as cleaned up as taormina, but is still nicer to wander around. Il molino is a fantastic restaurant just outside the tourist center up the valley just before the paper mill museum (see separate review.) We ate there 3 nights. We recommended it so much that by our third night 10 others showed up and we had to wait for a table! The red bus goes up to ravello which offers an amazingly beautiful  2 hour adventure walk back down to amalfi. Don't miss the tour and the water.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ezflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    76
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
173
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

http://www.residencedelduca.it/eng/duca.htm

This review is for the apartment that the hotel rents, not for the hotel. It is an alternative to a hotel or b&b. We rented this lovely 2 bedroom apartment because we wanted to live like the locals do, we wanted a roofdeck with an ocean view to sip cocktails before going out and lie and read a book in the morning. It was much more affordable than a hotel would have been. We were able to go to the supermarket and purchase wine/champagne, fruits, cheese and bread. We were right in the square or I should say above the square.

The apartment was very nice with two bedrooms, large windows in living room and 1 bedroom for view of the water and an amazing huge roofdeck. Kitchen and bath were in good shape and were very clean.

The only downside, which was part of the experience, was the number of stairs to get to the apartment. We counted 182 from the base of the square. It made the gelato eating guilt free and made us feel good and healthy, but I am embarrassed to say that we were huffing and puffing on the way up.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

We loved this hotel! In fact, it was our favorite hotel during our 2 week stay in Italy. Stayed here for 3 nights in May. Although Amalfi can be quite crowded with tourists, you wouldn't know it while staying at this hotel. It is located on a quiet side street, overlooking a piazza with a few restaurants and views of the surrounding city and hills.

Our room (Gisulfo II - room 5) was fantastic. The room was visually stunning. It also had its own deck with chairs and table that we could relax on, eat and drink while looking at the sights and enjoying the warm evenings. We had a partial view of the ocean as well. Bed was comfortable, shower very nice.

Maybe the best part of this hotel is the breakfast. Gerrardo, who runs the hotel with his son Andrea, provided fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee (LARGE espresso, unlike the tiny cups provided elsewhere in Italy) and delicious freshly backed pastries and cakes (you could smell them baking when awakening in the morning) that were served on a beautiful deck overlooking the town and surrounding hills.

Andrea, at the desk, was incredibly accommodating and helpful. Prior to our arrival, communicating via e-mail, he provided us with transportation from the train station in Salerno which made our trip down the coast to Amalfi relaxing and worry-free.

Would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again if returning to the Amalfi Coast.

One note: If steps are physically difficult for you, be aware that there is a stairwell with quite a few steps (76) going up to the hotel. However, a porter carried our bags so that as long as you can carry yourself up steps it should not be an issue.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weather1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

fantastic service, helpful owners, great breakfast on the terrace! be mindful that the parking is not included (it is about 20 euros per day) in the garage. also our car was damaged whilst in the garage which was very disappointing

Room Tip: room 2 has a fab balcony, well worth the extra cot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelb1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

A small residence with 6 gorgeous rooms. The family who own it are exceptional, Gerardo and his son Andrea are always on hand, nothing is too much trouble. Gerardo's wife bakes fantastic cakes for breakfast, go at Easter to sample her Pastiera - to die for! Walk along the promenade in the evening and you will meet Gerardo walking the dog with his family, A special mention to Rita, the ever smiling lady who never stops cleaning, our room was immaculate, After a few days you feel as if you live in Amalfi, we stayed for 23 nights! Forget the few steps that past reviewers complain about, not a problem and a great way to meet all the neighbours in the building.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IlDucaStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, West Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

amazing spot - right in the heart of Amalfi and only a few minutes walk from the Duomo or the port.

We had room 2 with the amazing roof top terrace (with table and chairs and sunloungers).

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and really made us feel welcome.

Good breakfast on a lovely outdoor terrace.

Would definatley recommend!

Room Tip: Room 2 with the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GailMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. The location is perfect - central in Amalfi. The hotel staff were very helpful, friendly and recommended good restaurants, walks and must see nearby places. We opted to use their shuttle service to Naples airport which was organised without any hassels or problems. Although a little pricey, it took the stress out of getting buses and trains to Naples at the crack of dawn. The rooms were spotless, a decent size, in perfect decorative order and came with a distant view of the sea. The only one minor complaint was that we had to change rooms on our second night, but this was not a big deal and the hotel staff moved our belongings for us. Overally we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found it excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#19 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Property: Residenza del Duca Hotel
Address: Via Duca Mastalo II 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza del Duca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing