We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A very special hotel”
Reviewed 29 April 2008

The Residenza del Duca is a Jem of a place. My partner and I really struggled to find any faults with the rooms or the service we received from Daniela and Andrea. My only minor critiscim would be the choice available at breakfast but this was more than outweighed by the great conversations we had with a wonderful family from Basingstoke. If you aren't put off by the steps, book this hotel - You won't be disapponited!

  • Liked — The quality of the finish in the rooms and the fantastic service!
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    77
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
177
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2008

We stayed at this small family run apartment style hotel in Amalfi for a week in October 2007 and it was superb. Our hosts were incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms were modern, clean and well appointed. The ocean glimpses from the balcony were nice and the continental breakfast included in the price was very good. It is on the top floor so be prepared to haul your cases up lots of stairs, or ask for assistance. It is very centrally located in town near the main piazza and a short walk to the bus/ferry terminals. It is rather well hidden, but the locals are very friendly and helpful. The nearby cafe and Risto's restaurant with its hand made pasta were excellent. This was one of the highlights of our month in Italy and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChrisnKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2008

We made another return visit to the Residenza del Duca in November - would not stay anywhere else. Have visited Amalfi regularly for 20 years and stayed in many hotels but now return to the del Duca 2-3 times each year because it is the best!. Daniela, Andrea and their father are the most hospitable hosts. This is a small B+B but with a BIG heart. Spotlessly clean, rooms with wonderful views, superb breakfast (especially the cappuccini) and hosts who are most helpful. A 'breath of fresh air' in a town which has become very busy.
Looking forward to visiting in 2008.

  • Liked — Genuine hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CostieraAmalfitana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2007

A very nice place! Located right in the center of Amalfi, 1 minute from the Duomo. IThe rooms clean and spacious and nicely decorated. We stayed in the Junior Suite and also saw another room that despite being a bit smaller had a wonderful terrace. Only draw back is that it is located on the top floor of a building with no elevator. The hotel also has an agreement wth a parking garage (right on the main road - via Genova - called Rimessa Hotel Amalfi) for 15 euros a day. To enter the city you must tell the traffic police that you are staying at the Residenza del Duca and you have parking available - the garage will then register the number plate of your car with the township so you dont' get a fine for entering the town center (they have video surveilance all over).

  • Liked — Location right by the Duomo, clean and spacious.
  • Disliked — Many stairs to get to top floor and no lift
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littleshoe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

We have just returned from a short trip to Italy, which included 3 nights at Residenza del Duca Hotel and were thoroughly impressed.

As the other reviewers have said, it's perfectly located, the rooms are beautiful, clean and modern, breakfast delicious, balconies charming, staff lovely - and the best bit: it's great value - we paid 80euros/night through venere.com

I can't recommend the hotel more.

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

We stayed at Residenza del Duca for 2 nights in October. The hotel (it is more of a hotel than B&B) is perfectly situated near the main square, but just off a side street so you get the benefits of location, without the noise! The rooms were spacious, wonderfully light and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was small but not the smallest we have come across in Italy.

Breakfast was definitely a highlight, sitting out on the balcony enjoying the sun. The hosts were full of good suggestions for restaurants and sightseeing.

We had a car that we were driving along the coast. We called the hotel when we were at the bottom (the policewoman wouldn't let us into town). They have an arrangement with a local garage. A man met us, drove us to the bottom of the stairs to the hotel and then parked the car in his garage. Great service!

All in all a fantastic stay. I will warn people there are about 70 stairs to go up and down everyday (and with your luggage), so if you're not good on your legs, maybe reconsider.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Diana80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Principessa75
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

We stayed in this hotel the 2 days prior to our wedding... It was in one word amazing! Daniela... Thank you for your friendship!!!!

On the day of the arrival of our family and friends who all stayed at hotel Amalfi (also belonging to the same family), Daniela organized a welcome drink for all our wedding guests, which was perfect! She managed to get so many delicious bites for us and great wines and even the terrace outside was given a total transformation with new flowers and of course all was romantic and lit by candle light. So much love and devotion!

I have not even spoken about the room... It was wonderful! Such eye for detail and very clean! It is how every hotel should be on this coastline, but sadly enough most of the hotels are too commercial already... Here you'll find true Italian life! It was a pitty we could only stay for 2 nights... Next time we'll spend a week minimum and visiting Mamma Agata in Ravello and Marina Grande in Amalfi to be sure to eat every evening great food!

And yes, I agree for not renting a car here... you won't be able to park it and it will only frustrate you having it here. Just travel everything by boat here, it is the easiest and quickest way. They have sea shuttles which are quick and easy to find at the harbour. Peanuts! Otherwise get yourself a private driver :-)

Daniela & Andrea, thanks soooo much, you 2 are pearls of people... Give our love to the family!

  • Liked — Service, decoration, setting
  • Disliked — Many stairs to climb before reaching the 3rd floor where the hotel is, but once you are there it becomes a good exercise! Not a big dissapointment for us so to say... We are still young.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Principessa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#20 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Property: Residenza del Duca Hotel
Address: Via Duca Mastalo II 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza del Duca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing