We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home on the busy Amalfi coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This was a great find. No great view (although we could see a bit of the sea from our room) and no pool, but with 6-7 rooms and staff which make you feel totally at home, in a perfect location. The room was a decent size and nicely done up, as was the bathroom. Breakfast on the terrace was very nice. The staff was super helpful about train/bus/boat times, booking tickets, recommending restaurants, etc etc. Could not have been nicer! If I go back to Amalfi, I would stay here again. My only two negative points would be that it is quite noisy late at night and early morning, and the AC did not work very well so the only way to keep the room less warm was by keeping the French doors open. Also, you need to be fit: 70 steps, no lift, to get up to the hotel's floor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmela L, Proprietario at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank You for kind report about Your stay with us!
We are very sorry for the inconvenience about the air-conditioning that has been soon fixed.
It would be really very nice to meet You soon
Our best regards
Carmela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Residenza del Duca Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

You cannot get a better location than this. One block off the main square and on an upper floor of an old building, you are well-situated to walk to the bus or boat connections (5 minutes) and within reach of many restaurants and stores.

We really enjoyed our stay in a very clean, compact room with a view of the narrow streets and within ear shot of several church bells. It's a long hike up the stairs but the hotel offers a luggage service to and from the boat/bus terminal which worked great. Breakfast on the terrace was a real treat and staying down a back street in an historic building really added to our experience in this beautiful town. Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael109_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmela L, Proprietario at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank You for the perfect descripton of our Hause,we have appreciate it very much!
We are happy You injoyed Your stay wih us and we hope to mmet You soon
Best regards from all the family
Carmela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have said it all before, nothing changes - perfect. This time managed to stay for 31 days, will be back in September and today booked our flight for next April - Easter is late in 2014 - Easter in Amalfi is spectacular! Want to know more read our reviews over the last 3 years.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlDucaStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights, was lucky to get the room with a balcony. Staff were very helpful and pleasant and the morning breakfast was superb. The only hotel out of the 7 hotels we stayed in throughout our 3 week trip in Italy that came with a kettle. Nicely positioned in the heart of Amalfi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jochebed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmela L, Proprietario at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank You for kind report on Your experience at Residenza del Duca.
We hope to meet You again!
Best regards from my family and myself
Carmela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a small charming hotel, just the kind of hotel we love!
We arrived after taking the train from Rome to Salerno, then the ferry from Salerno to Amalfi.
We stayed 4 nights in the Masone I standard room (4 x euro 90.00).
The room was spacious, clean, with lovely decor.
There was a kettle in the room with tea/coffee, much appreciated after walking all day.
Breakfast was pretty good and best of all was served cheerfully by the friendly gentlemen every morning, and we enjoyed eating it on the breakfast patio.

We enyoyed our day trips to Positano and Ravello, and also caught the bus to the lovely quiet fishing village of Cetera (the bus ride was pretty rough though).

Yes, there were nearly 80 steps to walk up each day, but I would be happy climbing 80 steps every day in order to find such a charming, welcoming hotel.

This hotel contributed to a wonderful stay in the Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: The standard room was excellent - don't hesitate!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmela L, Proprietario at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Yust, thank You for Your nice report about Your experience at our Home!
It is very greatfull for us to made injoyable Your stay on the Amalfi-Coast .
We hope to meet You very soon!
Carmela & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This hotel is wonderful, with rooms that are nicely decorated and clean. It is centrally located and there are great views from the rooms and lovely breakfast patio. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. It is the quintessential European hotel that is tasteful and comfortable, but not over the top.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmela L, Proprietario at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank You for Your kind note about Your experience at Residenza del Duca.
Best regards from myself and from my family
Carmela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed in the Residenza Del Duca for two nights while touring along the Amalfi coast. The Residenza is in an ideal location for Positano, Ravello, Paestum and other sights all along the Coast. From the Bus station it is a short walk to the Main Square and then up some stairs to the Residenza Del Duca, although being very close to the Main Square the Residenza is very quiet and you can’t hear a sound. I stayed in a singe room which was cosy more than roomy but had everything you need at the end of a days sightseeing.
The Breakfast in the Residenza was fine to start the day and on my last morning I sat in the sun on the Breakfast Balcony looking across towards the Duomo. The owners are very helpful and give good advice on touring the area.
Had a great meal at the Pizzeria da Maria opposite which the Residenza recommended.

Would definitely go back to this lovely little Hotel.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank rayeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Address: Via Duca Mastalo II 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: £71 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza del Duca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing