We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in beautiful Amalfi for 2 nights. This was the nicest hotel we stayed at for our entire trip (4 weeks). We chose a standard room, that was a bit small, but more than adequate. The furnishings and decor, including the bathroom, were exquisite! We had a large window with a view of the town and the water. Breakfast included your choice of coffee, juice, cereal, yogurt, cold cuts, cheese, rolls, and pastries. This is a family owned business and they make you feel like part of the family. There are about 70 steps to get to the hotel, but when we arrived in the square we called and "the boys" came and took our luggage and us in a cart, up to the hotel. All this took about 5 minutes. If we're ever in Amalfi again, this is where we'll stay. Maybe we can get those same musicians, under our window, to serenade us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Residenza del Duca Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

We loved this hotel. My two sisters, my mom and I were traveling together. We were able to reserve the 2 bedroom apartment which has a very fully outfitted kitchen, a living room, a bathroom and two bedrooms. In addition there is a rooftop terrace with tables and chairs and OUTSTANDING views of the city, the cliffs, the harbor.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. They assisted us in arranging for a boat to Capri and sugggested very good restaurants and excursions to other towns.
One thing you must be ready for in Amafli....STEPS! The town is nestled into the cliffs and so you are usually either walking up or down steps. It is a bit of a hike up to the apartment, but well worth it in our opinion.

Room Tip: we only experienced the two bedroom apartment and have no knowledge of the other accomodations.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at Residenza Del Duca for the first 2 nights of our tour along the Amalfi coast and what a great start it was. We loved it and cannot recommend the Residenza Del Duca highly enough. Yes there are a lot of steps but having known this before we arrived this was no issue and to be honest after lots of excellent food and wine it did us good!
We booked a superior room and upon booking we were asked what room we would like which was very nice. We booked Maria d’Aragona as I had read that this room comes with a balcony. The room itself is lovely, traditional in style, very well equipped including tea and coffee facilities which is rare, nice sized bathroom with a very powerful shower. The fridge was appreciated for keeping drinks cool too. The balcony was a real plus and lovely to enjoy the warm evenings on.
All of the staff were very helpful and friendly, we could not fault any part of the service. Free wi fi was very useful.
It rained both mornings so we had breakfast in the small breakfast room, cosy but more than adequate. Breakfast was a selection of breads, fruit, croissants and yoghurts. Plenty to start off the day with.
Amalfi itself is a gem of a town, cobbled streets, full of Italian charm and the breath-taking Dumuo which dominates the main square. Plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from and a very well stocked supermarket for provisions (handy for those drinks on the balcony!)
Ravello is easily reached by bus from Amalfi and is a must!
A great start to our trip and would definitely book here again.

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade for the balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We only stayed one night in this cosy little hotel but that was enough for us to really love the hotel and its owners, who were very warm and helpful. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable with a nice view of the sea. Breakfast on the terrace was beautiful with a view of the mountains. Location perfect, few minutes walk from the sea and one minute from main street and square. Good wifi service. Hosts were excellent and provided lots of detailed information (bus and train timetables, maps and suggestions) as well as lending us beach towels.
Highly recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel direct as they would be willing to help.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Found the hotel via Trip Advisor. If you are not afraid of steps (92) this is a wonderful 7 room B&B hotel in the middle of town. Very nice rooms decorated by the talented mother in the family. Many hotels would admire her skills. Very nice breakfast og good service. Good prices for the quality.

Remember to take the tour of Amalfi with the local guide, Wed/Sat.
Visit also Ravello and the Villa Cimbrone Gardens. More than amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms with terrace in a plus.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halvor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of June and would definitely stay here again. Perfect location with lovely and clean rooms and terrace. Best of all was the friendly service. Nothing was too much trouble from organising our luggage to be picked up from the port, to having our laundry picked up to recommending walks and helping with transport. And all with smiles on their faces. Don't hesitate to book this accommodation!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Travelled back in 2010 and stayed 6 days in this little gem. The terrace was perfect for a pizza and wine dinner for two; something we will never forget. The hosts were wonderful and allowed us to change rooms two days into our stay for a different view and experience. Lovely breakfast and lemon cello to go!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Address: Via Duca Mastalo II 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: £71 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza del Duca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing