We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in a great town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Had 3 nights at this lovely B&B. Staff were friendly and efficient. Met us as instructed to take our rental car and drove us up the main street to the windy entrance to our accommodation. All very efficient. You do have a climb up to the main reception - but no problem for your average person. The room was clean and tidy , with a lovely little terrace overlooking one of the beautiful squares. The bathroom was beautifully tiled in local tiles with everything you could think of provided.
Breakfast was excellent, served on a pretty little terrace. Excellent fresh fruit, rolls and pastries. Great coffee! All in all a great place to stay. You can pay a lot in this part of the world , but this was excellent value for money and in a great central location. Amalfi is definitely a good place to base yourselves to see this lovely coast line. If you fancy a walk , then walk up to Ravello - for the most amazing views and a good way to work off all that fantastic Italian food!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights and it was wonderful! The location is awesome, right in the heart of Amalfi and very close to many great restaurants and access to nearby towns and sites. The B&B is run by a wonderful family, a son and father who were tremendously helpful and kind. The service was excellent. The rooms are simple and clean and offer lovely views of the town and water. We stayed in the superior room which has a nice size bathroom and bedroom. It was plenty of space for myself and my husband.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmela L, Proprietario at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank You for Your nice report on our hotel.
It has been very nice to know You and we hope to meet You very soon again
Carmela and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a small hotel with only 6 rooms, run by a very pleasant family who did everything they could to enhance our stay (eg booking a great driver for us, cheaper than the taxis down on the front). The rooms are fine, tasteful and everything you need. Breakfast outside on the terrace in early April was lovely.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room called Gisulfo II which has a nice terrace to sit on with a view towards the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humph001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmela L, Proprietario at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

thank You very much for Your with us.
We hope to meet You very soon again
Carmela and Gerardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A great location for our short Amalfi stay - a quiet back alley in a very busy little town. They came right away to help us with the luggage (lots of steps to the hotel). Staff was friendly, and very helpful. They had a lovely outdoor area, that we enjoyed with our friends - breakfast (very good), as well as afternoon wine and cheese parties after sight seeing. The room was very nice and bigger than we expected. The shower stall was quite small in our room (friends had a larger one), which would be a problem for a large person. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for room with larger shower - some are very small. You must be able to climb 70+ steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R-and-R-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmela L, Proprietario at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank You very much for Your nice report.
It has been very nice to know You and we really hope to meet You soon again
Carmela and Gerardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Up lots of steps but definitely worth it once you're there! The hotel has good arrangements to get luggage up and down. Very friendly and an excellent breakfast on a delightful sunny terrace. Very good location in the centre of Amalfi.

Room Tip: Our room had a private terrace with a lovely view. Definitely worth the modest amount extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJ O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

In a very busy and touristy place, this was a charming B&B. At the top of 75 stairs, our room had a nice view. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. You do have to walk up the stairs, but they have a free service to carry to luggage.

Room Tip: The website gives a choice of rooms. Pick one with a view over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Returned yesterday after another month in what we think of as our other home. Are we depressed, well Stirling on a very cold and rainy day does not help! On the plus side we are returning in April. If you want to know a little more read our reviews for April/May and September/October in previous years. Truly missing everybody, all our lovely friends at del Duca and the many residents of Amalfi that we have come to know.

Room Tip: 6 very different rooms, all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IlDucaStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
608 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#22 of 29 in Amalfi
508 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Floridiana Hotel
Floridiana Hotel
#5 of 29 in Amalfi
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
659 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites
Hotel Bellevue Suites
#23 of 29 in Amalfi
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Address: Via Duca Mastalo II 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: £63 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza del Duca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing