We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poeaceful and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza del Duca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Wales U K
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“poeaceful and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

the earlier reviews are spot on
really enjoyed our stay
two points to make
1 the chairs on our terrace were uncomfortable
2 we had a look at an (unoccupied) single room...it looked dark and very small
john & geraldine

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyfreithwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaagerola, proprietaria at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    76
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
173
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon for 3 nights and couldn't have imagined being in a better place. The hotel was clean, comfortable and located in a perfect spot relative to shopping, restaurants and the harbor. The hotel staff was very accomodating and friendly. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast of fresh fruit, coffee, pastries, meats, cheeses, etc. on the outside terrace every morning. We also have the receptionist (Daniella?) to thank for scheduling a hike with Amalfi's best tour guide - Vincenzo! He was very knowledgable, entertaining and easy to talk to. We spent over 10 housr hiking with him through the mountains, visiting various different towns and points of interest. It truly was one of the most memorable events of our honeymoon. I would recommend a stay at Residenza Del Duca and a hike with Vincenzo hands down!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekmbrly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaagerola, owner at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

The Amalfi coast is stunning and Amalfi is a superb place to situate yourself as it is lovely, not too overrun with tourists and possess all the links (buses and ferries) you need to get to other villages, Pompei and Capri. The coastal towns are beautifully tucked into the nooks between hills and rise up the cliffs from the sea, therefore the terrain is all about stairs. The Residenza del Duca is located near the main square of Amalfi town, up some stairs (don't let that deter you, there are people who will help) and offers a charming and helpful staff. The hotel is small and very pretty and beautifully updated. The owner and his son and daughter are gracious and accommodating. The service is excellent.
I recommend walking to gorgeous Ravello which is up from the next town east, Atrani, the place of departure. At least a day trip to the island of Capri, and Positano should be on your itinerary. There are many opportunities for hiking to nearby villages and specific well worn hikes like the breathtaking Path of the Gods hike between Praino and Positano. Also, don't miss the Duomo in Amalfi. Go inside as the convent, chapel and crypt are at least if not more interesting than the cathedral itself. Lastly, go behind the obvious in Amalfi (and other towns). Explore the passageways and staircases that lace around behind the main thoroughfares...that's where the local life and the best restaurants are. A trip to Salerno and Pompei are also recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lighterload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaagerola, owner at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

I booked the Residenza after reading reviews on the internet - but - apart from being delighted with our room and the staff, there was an unexpected extra that really made our holiday special. Our receptionist recommended that we see the 'real' Amalfi by walking in its surrounding hills - our guide was Vincenzo. Weather had been very changeable but fortunately was excellent on our chosen walking day. We certainly saw sights we would never otherwise have seen, plus enjoying the knowledge and charm of this very attentive and considerate young man. Thank you, we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaagerola, owner at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

With a helpful staff, great breakfast and clean, comfortable rooms, Residenza del Duca is a wonderful, affordable option in Amalfi. The most remarkable feature was the bathroom, which was quite large for Europe. The shower had great water pressure and multiple shower heads that we really appreciated since the weather was on the cold side in March. We will certainly stay there again if we have the opportunity. For more about our trip to the Amalfi coast: http://justanothertravelblog.blogspot.com/search/label/Italy

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaagerola, we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful revie at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

In June of 2008, my husband and I stayed at the Residenza del Duca and it turned out to be the most beautiful experience and memory that we brought back with us from Italy.. Everything about the hotel was beautiful--the lobby, the room, the bath and the belcony with it's view. The staff, too, was wonderful! They were kind, friendly, helpful and made our stay with them the best experience we have ever had at any hotel. They did a beautiflul job in decorating, food, and service. Staying there gave us a feeling of actualy being in a home in Italy. I really can't say enough good things about it. It was what we were looking for in Italy and will always remain the highlight of our 2 week trip.
The 70 steps to the hotel were really not bad and worth the climb and we are in our 60's, so I would recommend this very special hotel to anyone.
Thank you .

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviasgrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaagerola, owner at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silsbee, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

We just got back from two days in amalfi. We stayed two nights here. We emailed back and forth to set up the reservations and everything was just as described. They set up the transfer and that was handled very well. We loved our stay. The room was great. Very clean. Great breakfast. We were able to sit on the balcony one morning and have a great start to the day. They were very helpfull with buses and how to get around. I can not say enough good things about it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason_fuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camillaagerola, owner at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#19 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Property: Residenza del Duca Hotel
Address: Via Duca Mastalo II 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza del Duca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing