We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't meet our expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Ninfa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Ninfa
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Didn't meet our expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

We booked a room with sea views at La Ninfa on account of the predominantly favourable reviews on this site.

First, the upside: spectacular views, and favourably priced compared to hotels closer into town. The breakfast room has particularly breathtaking views, and waitress service was friendly.

The downside: the hotel's private beach was, unfortunately, closed for the season, meaning we had to travel into town (the room did not have a balcony, as we had requested). The 2km walk into Amalfi quickly became tiresome and is downright dangerous in parts (no pedestrian walk-way, crazy drivers and blind corners!). In the end, we opted for the safety of the bus, which operates a reasonably regular service and stops outside the hotel. Believe everything you hear about the roads - we felt very relieved not to have hired a car - riding the bus was frightening enough ! The room we were allocated was a short walk from the main hotel, and right on the roadside, so traffic noise was an issue. To add to our woes, the bed was so hard, it felt like sleeping on boards. Overall, the room had a fairly tired feel, and could have done with a good spring clean.

Perhaps it was 'end of season' syndrome, but we did not receive the 'Maurizio experience' most have described. Usually, we found the reception desk unattended, and the proprietor nowhere to be found. If you were to remove the amazing views, the experience felt closer to 2 star quality, and is not one we would repeat. We found ourselves wishing we had paid the extra for a better quality hotel - though wondered whether we had simply drawn the short straw and ended up with their worst room.

  • Liked — Sea views
  • Disliked — Comfort of the room, out of town location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonKiwi_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    153
    62
    32
    21
See reviews for
56
437
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

Booked here as our friends were staying here and had picked this hotel from the views shown on the website, we managed to get a room via booking.com at a good rate and we travelled from Sorrento. Arriving on one of the busiest days, the gondola regatta, was a great atmosphere for the area, but chaotic. The staff were wonderful and helped us to check-in quickly so we could watch the regatta from the lobby/breakfast area. Our car was parked by the young man, somewhere unknown to us but he promised it would be looked after. We had dinner at the restaurant they recommended and we were picked up and taken there and brought back. Our room was down a spiral staircase at the end of the lobby, cute and cosy with a view over the sea. Don't come here with lots of baggage, travel light! There was wifi (free) so we could get online and check our mail etc. The next day we walked down to the town, wonderful walk on the windy road and fantastic views. The town well you have to visit to experience it yourself and look in the cathedral. Breakfast was serve yourself breads and croissants and freshly squeezed juices and fresh coffee. Maurizio was friendly and has a casual, cheeky chappy personality & loads of info of the area. Good place to stay and would go back. We walked down to the beach and had a swim in the sea.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

Stayed at La Ninfa for the 3rd time since 2005. Usually, we come to Italy in October, but we decided to see how Europe spends their summers.
Each trip is better than the last , Maurizio was a total help in helping us to relax and enjoy our time there. He offered to make dinner reservations, and attended to all of our needs. He really knows how to make a guest feel welcome, and I can truly call him a friend, because make friends feel comfortable,
The rooms are always clean and quiet the ocean air makes for the most peaceful night sleeps. The 3 ingredients to the amalfi coast are
1. The View's
2. The Highway
3. Maurizio "the Big Man"

  • Liked — the brakfast room ,and A/C
  • Disliked — No Satellite T.V.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank attaboy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

Hotel la Ninfa has some spectacular views. We made our booking from Hostelbookers.com and thought we were getting a steal! I thought I had found the perfect place for our honeymoon, but had been mislead by the pictures on their website. Here is a copy of the email I sent to the hotel director after our stay:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Maurizio,

We have finally returned from our honeymoon and have to say that the most disappointing part of it was the room we were given at your hotel. After finding your hotel on Hostelbookers website, I did some research by going to your website and everything looked amazing. The photos were unbelievable and I thought I was getting a great deal by booking through Hostelbookers. After checking into your hotel you obviously knew we were disappointed, and although you said you would try to move us, I never felt like you really made an effort. While there we tried to make the best of our vacation rather than worry about the size of the room or the small window we had of the sea.

After returning home and looking at your website, I realize why I should have been more upset about our room. There is not a single picture of our room or bathroom on your website. I assumed that a seaside view meant one of the rooms that opened up to the sea that are shown in the pictures on your website. This was very misleading to us since you give everybody that books on Hostelbookers the small “seaside” room you gave us. I thought you might like to know about our disappointing stay so that you could better inform people on Hostelbookers about the room they may be reserving so they are not expecting the spectacular rooms we were when arriving to your hotel.

-------------------------------------------------------------

I would advise that you have Maurizio send you pictures of the exact room you are staying in, and then bring those pictures with you when checking in. A "seaside view" for us was a 1 ft by 2 ft window that you had to walk near the door to see out of...you couldn't look out the window from the bed.

As far as the "private" beach is concerned...don't be too impressed with this as it really is not private. Anyone can walk down stairs to get to this beach, or take a ferry from the pier in Amalfi. They then charge you for the umbrella and chairs for the day at the beach, and whatever you do...don't eat much at the restaurant. The first day we were there, we thought we had befriended an older man at the restaurant that insisted he set us up with a great lunch the next day. He never brought a menu, he just asked us if we liked certain kinds of food and would bring it for us to eat. The lunch we had was a pasta dish for my wife and I, and then a seafood platter. It was an excellent meal until we received the bill. The meal was 90 Euro for the two of us. The same meal in town would have been half that.

Don't get me wrong, we had a wonderful time in Amalfi but it seemed like we had to constantly be wary that we were going to be taken advantage of by people like our hotel director or the "nice" old man at the beach. I stayed in Amalfi 7 years ago and thought the people were much more welcoming and generous without expecting a lot in return.

  • Liked — The view from the breakfast room
  • Disliked — See the review...the misleading website and the room we actually got
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank DHondts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

I stayed at La Ninfa for 6 nights during the month of May 2008. My cousin and I (both in our mid 20's) had a wonderful stay.I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is in search of high quality service as well as spectacular sights. The hotel staff was always there to help with anything we needed. The hotel is very clean, and each room seems to have its own particular touch. The way up to the hotel from the main area is quite a walk, however i would suggest to walk it....the scenery is breathtaking. I also must add that La Ninfa also has a private beach!!!
I have no negative comments about this hotel...an absolute delight and a perfect getaway. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kovi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2008

Maurizio- Proud Son of the Amalfi Coast-
......Was the perfect host. We could not have asked for a more accomodating, kind and generous host to make our stay special.
When we phoned La Ninfa upon or arrival to the port, I had mentioned how tired we were and Maurizio replied "no worries" and promptly picked us up at the cute Gelateria in town, the owners of which turned out to be personal friends of his.
We felt instantly welcomed and at home in Amalfi. We met many sweet and friendly locals and had the true Amalfi experience and all because of La Ninfa.
Maurizio was extremely knowledgable about all things Amalfi; daytrips, nightlife, what to see and do and of course the best sandwich in the world!! He was also kind enough to help us change our flight and advise us on visiting other parts of Italy.
The Hotel itself was spotlessly clean and extremely well maintained. The staff as well was very friendly and accomodating.
It was not easy leaving La Ninfa, not only because of it's breathtaking panoramic view of the sea but also because we had truly found a friend in Maurizio.

We will definately return to La Ninfa!
Ciao Andrea!
C & Em

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — ...having to leave.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank veronica96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2008

La Ninfa is perched on a cliff high over the water, with spectacular views. The rooms were fairly small, but clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated, with free wifi. Ours had a balcony overlooking the sea. Even the bathroom had a wonderful view. The hotel is located on the main road outside of Amalfi, which presumably accounts for its very reasonable price compared to other hotels in the vicinity. We had a car, and were able to find street parking, but I'm not sure where we would have parked if we had been there in the high season. Although some reviews say you can walk into town, we drove; it is not pleasant walking along the narrow roads, often without sidewalks, and in March we were able to park right in the middle of town. We loved this hotel; it was one of the nicest we encountered in our two week stay in Italy.

  • Liked — The views.
  • Disliked — The handheld shower that tended to get the whole bathroom wet.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ACG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#19 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Palme
Le Palme
#25 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel la Bussola
Hotel la Bussola
#20 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Ninfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ninfa

Property: Hotel La Ninfa
Address: Via Mauro Comite 35 | Strada Statale Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Ninfa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Ninfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ninfa Hotel
La Ninfa Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing