We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is by far one of the best hotels I've stayed in Europe. The room and its bathroom were HUGE, it is located in the middle of Amalfi, and the staff was excellent and extremely helpful. The breakfast was also great, with many home-made (literally: they were made by the staff) items. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Amalfi, no questions asked.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cust0mer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    158
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
150
412
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I found this lovely gem of a hotel by pure coincidence (on the web), read a couple of reviews, looked at some pictures… and took a chance that it would be a good place to stay for my mother and I. The 3-day trip to Amalfi was to be my mom’s 70th birthday treat, with her travelling in from northern Sweden, and I from Minneapolis, MN. I reached out to the hotel early on to get recommendations on transportation from Naples airport. Antonella was absolutely marvelous with quick responses, and making arrangements for personal car service in and out of Amalfi—worth every penny! Upon arriving at the hotel we realized it was not only Antonella that was great—the whole staff was awesome! I don’t think I’ve ever stayed at a more welcoming place. It was not an effort, it was just the way it was done. Our room was tucked in the back, very clean, good size bathroom, and we LOVED hearing the church bells every 30 minutes—what a treat! First day we spent in Amalfi and Positano, second in Ravello and final and third day on Capri. Breakfast in dining area was great, each and every day. It drizzled every morning so we were not able to take advantage of the roof terrace, but did spend time up there each evening to take in the views and simply enjoy the scenery. This hotel and its staff we will never forget, while so many other hotel stays are tough to recall. Truly amazing 70th birthday celebration for mom, and I’m so thankful to the staff for making it memorable. Big thank you to Antonella, Gabriella and the rest of the crew!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a beautifully located comfortable hotel with the nicest staff you could meet. The hotel is the third floor of a building about 2 minutes walk from the cathedral and 5 minutes to the seafront. It has a lovely rooftop eating/sunbathing area with views all round the town. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated with a cool tiled floor, a raised seating area and a whirlpool bath as well as a lovely clean shower room/toilet. The breakfast was great - lots of choice, lovely fruit and pastries, coffee and tea made to order. The staff are delightful - all of them from reception, restaurant amd cleaning staff are so friendly and helpful - you couldn't meet nicer people. I couldn't recommend more highly

Room Tip: Only know the one we stayed in - room 11 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
182 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Arrived by ferry from Salerno. Hotel was well sign posted and easy find. About a 5 minute walk from the ferry up a side alley off the main street on the right hand side. There is a small supermarket next door. Hotel is upstairs and there is a lift. We had the best greeting we have ever had in the numerous hotels we have stayed in over the last 40 years. It was warm and genuine and we immediately felt at home. As we were escorted to our room even the cleaner came out of another room to say hello. Our room was spacious and faced the Duomo and the sea in the distance. There was a large picture window which could be opened wide. The bed was reasonably comfortable and there were extra pillows in the wardrobe. We had tea & coffee making facilities, a small fridge and flat screen TV. The bathroom and shower weren't huge but adequate. Everything was immaculately clean.

We were told about the roof terrace and that we were welcome to bring back a bottle of wine to have on the terrace. We did this several times and also bought some food from the good delicatessens in Amalfi to enjoy.Breakfast can also be had on the terrace.

The breakfast was one of the best we have had in Italy with a wide choice and excellent quality. The staff at breakfast were attentive and excellent and the Principessa of the coffee machine made great cappuccino.

We absolutely loved this hotel and Amalfi town. We visited Ravello & Positano but we preferred Amalfi town by far. Every time we passed staff at front desk or the hotel the staff were so friendly and helpful. We were sad to leave after 4 days, it was like leaving family or friends behind. We were given a hug and a bottle of limoncello.

The hotel lists itself as a 3 star but the staff are 10 star. In 40 years of travelling staying usually in 3 or 4 star hotels with an occasional splurge for 5 star we have never encountered such wonderful staff.

Yes you can hear the bells, we loved it, get ear plugs if this offends you! Amalfi is the best place to stay on the coast and Hotel L'Antico Convitto a home away from home.

Big kisses and hugs to all the staff xx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwichickAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here because of the good reviews and found the place to be exactly as everyone claimed it to be. yes the church bells were loud but it added charm to our Stay.

Only complaint was with the Beds they are pretty hard but hey we were in Italy on Vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

we only had one night here on our way to Positano and we were extremely happy. Staff were amazing and helpful. Room was good. Breakfast was lovely. Great location. Easy to park and get to the hotel... make sure you read the instructions carefully! we didn't and ended up driving through the piazza which you get a fine for! Parking is on your way in to Amalfi and there is an underground tunnel that leads to hotel. Overall extremely good value, would defintely stay here again, thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ljg43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA-USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I really can't say enough about this wonderful hotel. My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights in late June and had an absolutely great time. It is a small hotel but not lacking in charm, an absolutely fantastic staff( in particular Antonella), the experience there is superior to say the least.
From breakfast, to the size, appointments and cleanliness of the room, to, once again the helpfulness of the staff, it really couldn't be better.
My wife and I would recommend this to any of our friends, and will stay here upon our return to this beautiful town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martingiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo L'Antico Convitto

Property: Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Address: Via Dei Curiali 4, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo L'Antico Convitto 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Albergo L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing