We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect! Clean, Great location, Friendly staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo L'Antico Convitto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect! Clean, Great location, Friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Went 3rd week in June, temp was in low 80s and very comfortable.
Rented a family suite for the 4 of us; more like an efficiency apartment.
The room was spotless – everything worked. Had a great view of the mountain and chapel perched on top.

A high point was breakfast on the rooftop terrace overlooking the duomo and the ocean. The chocolate croissants rivaled those in Paris, and the quiche was fantastic. But the best was enjoying plain croissants (very good in their own right) with Teresa’s homemade Amalfi lemon marmalade. Out of this world – not too sweet, not too tart. One of the best hotel breakfasts we’ve had. Grazie mille, Teresa!

The hotel is in a great location in Amalfi, literally steps to shops, restaurants, the waterfront or up the hill a bit to the Paper Museum (a must-do). Antonella and all the staff were very helpful, emailing before we arrived, helping with recommendations. However you get to Amalfi, definitely engage the “Work and Smile” guys through the hotel to transport your luggage up the hill to the hotel.

We found Amalfi a great regional base as well – to catch a bus tour to Pompeii, the bus up to Ravello, the ferry to Salerno, etc. Note: Italo trains connect Salerno to Naples, Rome, etc at 200 mph. Ferry from Salerno to Amalfi is about 35 minutes and easy (Salerno train staion “stazione” is across the street from the pier), but subject to sea conditions. Taxi from Salerno to Amalfi enjoys one of the world’s great drives and scenery – without having to figure out the driving rules – but be aware there are many turns, switchbacks and heights.

We stayed 3 nights, could’ve stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marissad21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    154
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
145
394
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed at the hotel with my wife for 6 nights and everything was perfect.The hotel is in the middle of the town,close to restaurants,bars,cofee,beach and public transportation.The room is big with all you need,free wifi and the cleaming is made every day.The breakfast is great,a lot of choises and you can serve it on the roof of the terrace with a wonderfull view.The staff is also so kind,willing to help and to make you feel like home.I recomend L Antico Convitto to everyo e, i think is the best hotel in Amalfi.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aditurcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The staff were so friendly. The room was so clean and the breakfast was great. The hotel is in a great location. There is also a nice terrace area where you can sit and enjoy the beautiful view. The hotel is in walking distance to restaurants and the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swanny2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is located in a side street, a stone's throw from Amalfi Catheral. The first thing you notice is the extremely kind and helpful staff. Despite a constant stream of tourists all year round, the staff is welcoming and very service oriented. We stayed here with our two kids (3 and 5) and got a very spacious apartment for a reasonable price (including a great breakfast). One floor up they have a roof terrace, with views of the church and the sea - fantastic for a late afternoon drink (too bad they don't really keep it clean).
As with all hotels in Amalfi, you need to park your car in the central car park and walk through the narrow streets to get to the hotel. The hotel has a luggage service, but that took too long - if you can lug your luggage for ten minutes, it's better to just walk yourself.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfRonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb County, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The stuff made me feel like home :), they were very helpful! the room with a Jacuzzi was incredible - simple and really clean, even tough I always find it not-enough-clean, I felt really comfortable.WIFI optimal.The breakfast was great, a lemon jam is a must -try, they also have the gluten-free bread/cookies, and a view!! THE VIEW from the terrace! incredible, Amalfi seen from the top, cathedral and the campanile right before your eyes!! And a view of the sea, of course <3. Location top.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucija11235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The staff here was great and helpful! The room was no frills but comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good and the AC was the best we had so far!!! We would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a place in Amalfi.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zosimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Staff is extremely helpful. We stayed 4 days and they gave us directions to their excursions, arranged for transport to Naples bus and instructions on various hikes and public bus rides.

The room we had was on floor one. Smaller than the ones one the fourth floor. It was clean and in a good location. It is not luxury and therefore not five stars but comfortable. Would stay here if you are trying to get good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
4.2 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo L'Antico Convitto

Property: Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Address: Via Dei Curiali 4, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo L'Antico Convitto 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing