We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but too much of a pain”
Review of Hotel Il Nido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Il Nido
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but too much of a pain”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Hotel Il Nido
The hotel was absolutely beautiful. It was by far the prettiest hotel we stayed in during our 2 week trip. Unfortunately, I don’t recommend it.
First of all, I don’t recommend staying in the town of Amalfi. Although a cute town, you don’t need more than a day to see the town. It is a pain to get to/from so I would suggest staying at a more centralized location.
We were lucky enough to catch the ferry from Salerno to Amalfi town. It took about 25 minutes compared to the 55 minute bus ride. When we arrived in Amalfi, we found someone to point us in the right direction to the hotel. We walked to the hotel with our travel-backpacks on. The hotel is perched very high on a hill. It was a horrendous walk with the backpacks. If we had suitcases, the walk would have been even worse. Definitely consider a cab if you have lots of luggage.
When we got to the hotel, the power was out. The front desk couldn’t check our reservation since the power was out and so we were given a room that I thought seemed small compared to the pictures online. I thought I had booked a superior room, but wasn’t certain and also wasn’t certain if I was in the superior room so I didn’t say anything to the front desk. Also, the room was beautiful! The furniture was ornate, we had an AC and fridge, the views were amazing (even though the street lies between the hotel and the sea) and the bathroom was larger than most (but the shower was still Italy- tiny). The balcony was a decent size.
The breakfast was the best we had by far in Italy. They make cappuccino to order and the breakfasts are included in the room fee. We were close to the breakfast area and were woken up by the noise. The doors/walls seem a little too thin.
The women who work at the hotel are so hospital, but then men were not.
The biggest issue with this hotel is that it is about a 20 minute walk to the town center. The walk is very steep and for parts you are walking on the windy road with no sidewalk or shoulder. It is unsafe and even more dangerous at night. There is only 1 place to eat near the hotel, so you are forced to go DOWNtown for most of your meals. By the end of our stay, we were very exhausted from all the walking.
When we arrived home in the USA, I realized we did in fact get the wrong room; we got a standard room. Not only that, they charged us for the superior room. I emailed them and explained the problem. They acknowledged the problem but said all they could do was discount our next stay! I was very unhappy and after I wrote a lengthy email, I finally got them to agree to wire us the difference. When I got the money in my bank account, it was less than what was promised. The hotel claims that my bank must have taken money out of the transfer. My bank did take money out of my account for the transfer, but they didn’t take it out of the transfer itself. The bank sent me proof of the transaction and it appears my bank is the honest one. By that point, I gave up on getting any more money back. The good thing is, the hotel did respond quickly to all my questions.

Room Tip: Not sure you need a superior room, standard is beautiful too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shmalyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    117
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
54
194
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My friend and I stayed at Il Nido for 5 nights in October. I have stayed there before. This hotel has it all: value for money, friendly helpful staff, all rooms have balconies with views over the ocean, great breakfast also overlooking the ocean. Oh, and free internet access. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the town centre up a steep hill but has great views over Amalfi. We are 60+ but the walk down to town is manageable and 10 euro for a taxi back we found affordable. I find Amalfi the perfect base for touring the Amalfi coast, less expensive than Positano and great ferry and bus service.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed at Il Nido for 6 days this May. The hotel is located above town, which required a walk down the street and down many stairs to the main area of town. Many of the other hotels in Amalfi are similarly located, including a few 5*, so we didn't consider this a liability. The staff at the hotel was extremely helpful, including Miguel, the Owner, and his daughter, Francesca, who helped us with advice on several matters. wifi is available in the breakfast area. The view from the breakfast room, and from our balcony, was fabulous. The balcony in our room, #12, was quite large.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The location is excellent, just a 10 minute walk from the Amalfi centre. The bedroom and balcony was fabulous, very clean and bright. The staff are efficient but never ask how your stay is or barely greet you. Once you dont mind the lack of interpersonal communication, the hotel itself is lovely. There was no information provided on check-in regarding the services available at the hotel. There is no bar or tea/coffee service, but you can go to the hotel across the road for that, Hotel Miramalfi. They are very friendly there, which is very much appreciated. No internet computer available but wi-fi is available once you have your own device.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june_runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful with directions and recommending somewhere to eat close by. There are restaurants all around so you do not have to go down into town if you choose not too. My only minor complaint is we seemed to get the only room that had the tiniest balcony. Others had lounge chairs for laying in sun - very roomy where ours could barely fit and small plastic table and 2 chairs. We sat out there anyways and enjoyed the gorgeous view of the sea - can't be disappointed for long with a view like that. The room itself was a good size and the breakfast room was beautiful with windows all around looking onto the water and you had a good selection of food to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximummal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Walking distance to Amalfi, breathtaking view from our private terrace, nice personal and breakfast buffet. Many stairs or elevator. Car parking included. The beds where not the most confortable, and we did here the neighbours walking on top of us but the rest was fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violet67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights in mid Nov 2010 and the family absolutely loved our stay! We are a family with 2 teens and a younger child and had 2 rooms with excellent seaview. The breakfast was good, especially when we can enjoy it with a great view at the same time, sitting on the balcony facing the sea.
Rooms are clean and big by European standard,a charming boutique hotel indeed.
The hotel has a mini-bus that will pick you from the train station and also send you down to the town when you need to. We had dinner there on both nights and my wife enjoyed the seafood rissoto so much that she had it for 2 nights in a row.! Prices were reasonable, especially when service charges were much lesser than most restaurants. My teens absolutely love the free wifi in their rooms.Our only regret, not staying for at least another night.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YWNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
784 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Nido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Nido

Property: Hotel Il Nido
Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 30, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Nido 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Il Nido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Hotel
Il Nido Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing