We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”
Review of Hotel Il Nido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Il Nido
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful place. Clean, tastefully decorated and the most amazing view from the terrace accessible to each room. We stayed six nights, frequently walking to downtown, Amalfi for dinner and atmosphere. Our favorite evenings, however, we're enjoying delicious sandwiches from a little shop in Amalfi, and a couple bottles of local wine out on the terrace Taking a drive to other towns or the boat to Capri were all activities we explored. Breakfast was fresh and abundant each morning (also with an amazing view) and the staff was pleasant and accommodating. Free parking also available. I will definitely return!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank turk888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    116
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
52
194
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Don't have the space to say all the great things about this hotel. Location, staff, breakfast, location, food, scenery, accommodations, and location!!!! The pictures that this hotel posts for its rooms are for real! Not like other hotels that make it look better than it is. Ask any questions at the reception desk and they're more than happy to accommodate. Don't miss out on the boat ride to Capri and make sure you buy your tickets the DAY BEFORE! We drove to have the freedom of movement about the area and being that it was the end of March, we didn't have too much trouble with parking. If your skiddish on narrow roads on a cliff then passing big buses, try the bus system. Once again, reception has all the answers and great ideas. It's their home, they love it, and it shows. Please be respectful!!

Room Tip: Go to booking.com! Great prices and the one thing we all love, convenience. If you're here for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btbuilder59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The best part about the hotel was the balcony, which overlooked the water, the town of Amalfi and the quiet surrounding neighborhood. The view was stunning at all times of the day and night. The location of the hotel was perfect for both day and night activities in town as it was a welcome, brisk 10-minute walk from the town of Amalfi. There was parking available at the hotel. The continental breakfast was fresh, substantial and served by pleasant staff. The tidy rooms were tastefully and simply decorated yet the beds were a bit uncomfortable. The daughter of the owner was very helpful and assisted us in planning a few day trips to interesting places we might not otherwise have visited.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed here with my family for 11 days. All the rooms are sea view and have large and nice terraces with table, chairs and sunbeds. Every evening enjoied wonderful view with a glass of Chianti.
A bit too far from Amalfi , but the promenades along the coast with beautiful views were very useful given our sedentary life-style. Good cappuchino for breakfast.
In addition you can choose every day where to go - to the left, to Amalfi town, Amalfi beaches, Atrani beaches, or to the right, where there are also several wonderful beaches. But if you stay right in Amalfi I think you are depriving yourself of an incentive to climb away as you already have a nice beach in front of you. Definitrly would return back.

Room Tip: Ask on the upper floor - the terraces are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights while travelling in southern Italy. The hotel is at a walking distance from the city center and it has a free parking lot. The rooms are very clean and they all overlook the ocean. The view is spectacular and there are no words to describe what you see when you open the door to the terrace in the morning. While there's not much to see in the city of Amalfi, it is still well located in the center of the Amalfi coast and you can travel easily to the other towns along the coast. I remember finding this hotel by chance as we did not book ahead of time, and it was just across the street from an expensive 4* hotel located on the cliff. This hotel gives you the same amazing view for a much cheaper price and you have everything you need there. Great place.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view and there are only 15 rooms so it is small and intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shlomit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed at Hotel ll Nido in October 2011. The hotel is very well situated ; on the coast with spectacular views, and closer to the main town. We particularly enjoyed the location of the hotel since it was right in front of the Adriatic and we can get an amazing view of the town. Of all the towns in Italy, we enjoyed Amalfi very much. It's very quaint and yet very lively and right on the ocean. The hotel itself is good. Have a great lobby which also serves as a breakfast room, hosting a breathtaking view and a lot of sunlight. The rooms themselves were okay, we found them good enough for our needs ; however, the location of the balcony was fabulous.

The town center is not too far , if you decide to take a taxi , make sure not to give more 10 euros. Breakfast is great!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uasindhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Hard to knock this place as we paid £60 a night. Small, quiet decent location to town and view to die for. Got the train from naples to salerno (get regional for £4 each - takes an hour) hoped to get a boat from Amalfi but they stop in from November - got the bus again £4 each - takes 75 mins. Be aware that the trip is hair raisng on the windy roads. Got to Amalfi and was immediately ripped of by a taxi driver who charged us 10 euro for a 5 min trip. Room was clean, dated shower though but other than that all ok. Breakfast was basic continental. Only moan was the pillows were solid which is often the case. The hotel is a 15-20 minute walk up the hill which can we testing for the dodgy hipped or unfit. Amalfi is stunning - not a great deal to do other than eat and drink but hey. Went to Minori and Miaori - waste of time. Would highly recommend Ravello which was stunning and especially the Villa Cimbrone absolutely stunning - amazing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank v1ctim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
971 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
676 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
774 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Nido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Nido

Property: Hotel Il Nido
Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 30, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Nido 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Il Nido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Hotel
Il Nido Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing