We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel and pleasant walk to downtown”
Review of Hotel Il Nido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Il Nido
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel and pleasant walk to downtown”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for five night, all very good, excellent staff, very nice and helpful in giving directions and advice, and the pathway to downtown (around 400m) is pleasant with a very beatiful view of the Amalfi coast

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    117
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
54
194
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Szeged, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

It's a comfy hotel with modest price. We tried two rooms during our five day stay at the hotel. First, we booked a basic room with balcony and free wi-fi. Everything was ok, except that the water heating broke down in the bathroom. But staff were really understandig and we get a much bigger and nicer room, and what's more, price reduction!
Breakfast is excellent, they serve not only Italian sweets, but cereals, hams, cheese, yoghurt and fresh fruit, as well!
Thanks and reccommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annamari75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

employees are friendly and were happy to have known in English. the hotel room is clean and nice designed. view is the balcony of the room was so nice. bed was very comfortable, breakfast poor. a little bit away from the city center, walking the roads are dangerous, should get a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nefretediyorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We reserved 2 rooms (1 standard/1 superior) in May for a late Sep 2012 four night stay. One would expect with the advance reservation and length of stay we would receive their best rooms. We received rooms 5 (sub-standard) and 12 (super unclean and dated).

The "balcony" off room 5 is so small you can hardly turn around on. You are actually UNABLE to see the balcony or its window from the room because it is behind the closet.

Room 12 had a lovely balcony but the tub/shower was moldy and disgusting. There was a refrigerator but when you leave the room (with your room key) the electrical power is cut off so nothing will stay cold unless you stay in your room the entire time. The door to our refrigerator was hanging off one hinge. The tub and shower in the bathroom of room 12 are absolutely disgusting. Light bulbs above our bathroom mirror were missing or nonfunctioning. The floor was filthy - I wore socks always on the tile floors because of the dirt and had to change my socks continually.

We read they had an in-room safe (apparently so safe we couldn't locate it) and non-smoking which we did not observe either. Smoke poured into our rooms from the neighbors. The breakfast was boring and the same day after day. THERE IS NO ONSIGHT RESTAURANT - only a continental breakfast. The parking garage was a great convenience - but having our car repeatedly moved no matter where it was left in the garage or outside (you must leave your car keys with the manager) and its radio station, volume, seat placement & air-conditioning changed for no apparent reason was concerning!

When I tried to discuss our concerns with Michael he suddenly was unable to understand my English and made no attempt to compensate us. One last note - the night we checked in one of our room keys did not work. When we reported it to the front desk - he gave us the MASTER key --- so we could have entered any room we wanted at any time. NICE!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mjjohnson53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Good value and great views. The walk back from Amalfi town isn't so bad, and late in the evening 10 euros gets you a 2 minute cab ride home. No real bar or pool but clean comfy rooms are a bonus in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughsie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Had an amazing stay here. The view from the ocean front balcony suite was AMAZING! The staff speaks excellent English and is so kind and helpful. I really value great service and this hotel is among the best at serving its guest with the utmost care and respect. The free wifi was strong and worked like a charm. The free parking on the road was okay although a little scary getting in and out with the narrow windy roads of the amalfi coast. There was a resturant across the street playing live jazz music which was so romantic to hear in the moonlight on our balcony. My husband I even danced under the stars to it our first night. Once we closed our balcony doors our room was soo quite and we couldn't hear a thing from outside. The room was large and clean the bed was big and comfy. The buffet breakfast had a nice selection including cereal, ham, cheese, yogurt, breads & pastries, coffee & tea. they didn't offer any fresh fruit, but the fruit juice they offered was great. It's a short 5min drive to the city center. I wld highly recommend this hotel to travelers with cars!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a short walk from the hustle and bustle and has spectacular views from the balcony and the breakfast area. Having parking available was a definate plus. The decor was very dated and felt like you were staying at Nonna's villa. The bed was extremely hard and the bathroom was small with no counter top to place personal hygiene
products on. The room key operates the lights as well as the air conditioning in the room. I get saving electricity but after a day of sitting at the beach in the heat, the last thing you want to return to is a room that is stifling hot and try to get ready for dinner well sweating. The value for the cost is good but if you're looking for luxury this is not the place to stay

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Onourwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
692 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
785 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Nido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Nido

Property: Hotel Il Nido
Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 30, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Nido 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Il Nido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Hotel
Il Nido Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing