We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel overlooking the bay of Amalfi”
Review of Hotel Il Nido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Il Nido
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel overlooking the bay of Amalfi”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel was a pleasure to stay there, the view from our balcony was stunning you could sit out and watch the boats and ships go by, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel was spotless. The only downside was that its not suitable for people with walking difficulties as it is a 15 minute walk up hill from Amalfi. we stayed at this hotel in August 2013

for 1 week , I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room overlooking the sea you certainly won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    117
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
54
194
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed in June in this lovely hotel. Staff was friendly and charming, giving travel suggestions. We were also allowed to park our car in garge (extremely helpfull becouse is almost impossible to park car somewhere along the road. Room was big enough for three people,  balcony had breathtaking view. Locations is bit far from the cener of Amalfi (10 minutes walk), but there is a shortcut to avoid the traffic and enjoy the view. Breakfast was tasty and served in cozy lounge with panoramic seaview. Whish to stay more in this  hotel. 

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChamChama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have just spent a week in this great hotel....we arrived late at night. Martino, at reception, helped with bags....and something yummy to eat and appropriate appreciated drinks.....which we enjoyed on our deck. What a sight!!! The lights of the bay were stunning. As tired as we were, we sat and marvelled for some time. This service was typical of what happened through the next week. Appreciated lifts to and from the main piazza. Rooms splendidly serviced. Tasty breakfasts....Whilst there, travelled along the coast...and were/are convinced Amalfi town is the pick....and Il Nido is the place to stay. Thanks also to Mike, Domenico and all staff. Wish it was closer to Australia.

Room Tip: We loved Room 12.....great deck....and no obstruction of view.....though I don't think there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donjuangraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Up on mountainside with fabulous views of Bay of Napoli and Sorrento. Free shuttle to town. Wonderful restaurant, free breakfast. Well appointed interiors. Be sure to ask for room with balcony. We'd go back in a heartbeat if w ever get back to Italy!

Room Tip: Get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augustenborg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This small family-owned hotel, overlooking the bay of Amalfi can be rated with one word: perfect.
Incredible view from the terrace and breakfast room, just like being between sea and heaven. Nice and friendly owner and staff. And the cost is one of the most beautiful place in Europe.
Been there 5 times from 2004 to 2011, and for sure, -we will be back.

Room Tip: The best choice on the Amalfi Coast. Rooms on the upper floor have the best terrace and the best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jørn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2013

It's almost year since I was there, but fond memories of wonderful service provided by extremely caring manager and owners daughter was reason we spent 2 extra nights in the hotel. Since hotel is 10 minutes walk away from city centre and we were traveling with our 4 year old daughter, hotel manager went out of his way to pick up and drop us in his personal car. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast which has a amazing sea view and a huge cup of best Cappuccino in amalfi. Since Internet was free of charge, it was great to chat with family back home after the day trips. Rooms were always neat and tidy, no issues in the bathroom too.
If you can walk for 10 minutes to reach city centre, this hotel is heaven in amalfi. (No pain no gain:). If you have a rental car, you cant go wrong. I had an option to go to different hotel on my first night but once you feel the comfort and cordial attention given by the manager, you will definitely come back to the hotel.
On the whole 100% satisfied, provided us with a transfer to Salerno to catch train to Venice. Excellent hotel*****service! If I ever come back to amalfi, I know my place to stay:)

Room Tip: Room with the terrace has the best view, spacious too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida USA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We stayed here during low season. Most of the hotels in the area were closed, and there were very few guests at this hotel. So thankful to the owners for keeping this lovely hotel open during the low season! The staff was helpful and friendly. The tasteful decor is characteristic of this area. The town of Amalfi is nearby and you do not need to walk along the road for most of it, there is a nice walking path down some steps. The hotel's solarium roof deck has chairs and an amazing view of Amalfi. Breakfast is standard and cappuccino is delicious. The breakfast room has that beautiful view again! Wifi, parking, all included. The room had a lovely balcony too, and good choice of TV stations!

Room Tip: Higher floors will have a better view. There is an elevator so no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
785 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Nido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Nido

Property: Hotel Il Nido
Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 30, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Nido 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Il Nido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Hotel
Il Nido Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing