We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let them eat cake”
Review of Hotel Fontana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fontana
Ranked #29 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Let them eat cake”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel & great location by the seafront in gorgeous Amalfi.

Staff were friendly too.

A couple of minor observations though...

To charge €3 per hour for wifi is a bit tight in this day and age.

And the breakfast was OK - if you like cakes. Some fruit might have been nice.

Nice hotel though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poem58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    110
    51
    33
    24
See reviews for
53
128
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton,New-Brunswick
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Amalfi in June 2012. The hotel is in the perfect location. It is located in the heart of the Amalfi town square and just steps from the bus stop, the ferry terminal and the beach. Amalfi is a very central town on the Amalfi coast. It is not far and not too expensive to take the bus to Ravello or the ferry to Positano, Sorrento or the Isle of Capri from Amalfi.
The hotel itself is very cute. The rooms are not luxurious but they are very clean and the staff is very helpful. The only minor dislike I had with the hotel is the continental breakfast that was included in the price of the room. I found that they served alot of sugary pastries with breakfast and no fruit. I would have loved the option of eating fruit for breakfast. But like I said that was very minor, we would just walk up the alley to a fruit market and get our daily fix of fruits.
I would definitly stay here again and would recommand to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Southbound_Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatteris, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The hotel is right on the main square in Amalfi and very close to the harbour, beach, buses and all facilities.
The location means that you can walk to a range of restaurants and shops.
The main attraction though is the friendliness and helpful attitude of the staff, all of whom were attentive and really seemed to care that we enjoyed our stay.
It is true thta there are stairs up to the hotel entrance and the bustle of being in the centre of the town does mean that there is some noise from early morning until late in the evening but you can't expect peace and tranquilty as well as the convenience of a central location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quinnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

A cute little hotel with a great location in Amalfi. It's right on the coast, across the street from the beach, right next to the big cathedral and in the main square. The hotel itself is up a flight of steep stairs, but not too bad. There is a small lift within the hotel, which is great. We had a room on the third floor and it was huge. The view was of a wall, but we didn't mind as we prefer quiet as opposed to a view. Thankfully we were higher up and on the backside. We had read reviews that had said the hotel was loud from the street noise. We did not encounter this during the day, quite quiet. However in the evenings we could hear people partying, but it wasn't too bad. Nothing ear plugs couldn't fix. This hotel can accommodate families of up to 5, which is hard to find in Europe.

The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, pillows were great.
The bathroom was quite large, shower worked great.
The best part about it: Air conditioning and a mini fridge! This is hard to find!
The mini fridge also has water and soda and beer for sale at very reasonable prices.

The staff were extremely friendly and offered us beach towels to take to the shore.
The breakfast was decent considering it's Italy. Croissants and buns and yogurt. There was also cappuccinos, tea and juices. Croissants were made fresh every day.

After a dismal week of poor hotels, this one made us quite happy to end off our trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cjml87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
246 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had a room overlooking the street and cathedral. Privileged view.
It's an old building but historic. Although it could be refurbished to recategorize the property.
Anyway, it's a proper place to stay.
Breakfast is very basic and scarce.
The location is the best.

Room Tip: It is a small property. I guess the best rooms are those at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivyrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The workers were great and helpful. The breakfast was good, but being in the main square it was way too loud. The square didn't quite down till 1:00am and then you would wake up at 5:30 or 6:00 to vehicles going by or delivery trucks backing up to unload. The shower didn't drain so you would have to stop before it overflowed. I wouldn't stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saublebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amalfi hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I came to Amalfi for a friends wedding and this hotel is fab. I read other reviews about the noise and breakfast etc but was not put off. Firstly the location is bang smack in the middle of things so you would be silly not to grab breakfast out, nevertheless there is a continental style breakfast that will suffice if you so wish. The staff are super friendly and the place has a laid back family feel. My room was huge for the price and I had a window overlooking the square. Now yes it is noisy-ish as you are facing the main square in Amalfi but the view of the cathedral was spectacular and I enjoy listening to the hustle and bustle! I left my windows open at night and at 6am you can smell bread being baked which was divine! This is a 3 star hotel but it has everything you need and the hairdryer in the room was good. (I bring my own wherever I go!)

Getting up to the reception is difficult because there are stairs if you are by yourself and have a lot of luggage. However if you are in twos just wait with the bags and ask at reception for help. This is typical of a few hotels in amalfi as the place is all stairs! Not great if you have mobility issues in general and Amalfi is definitely not the place if you use a wheelchair.

The only thing I would have liked is a safe in my room (unless I couldn't find it!) .

I'd stay here again the price point is brilliant!

Room Tip: For bread smells and a view of the square go with a square facing room, for quiet and the sea ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitMlynar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Lidomare Hotel
Lidomare Hotel
#23 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Sant'Andrea
Albergo Sant'Andrea
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#24 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#20 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharon House
Sharon House
#13 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Property: Hotel Fontana
Address: Piazza Duomo 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing