We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh the bells”
Review of Hotel Fontana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fontana
Ranked #29 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel is right in the main action, actually a handy location. We had a couple of rooms, all clean and tidy buta bit dated.
The staff that speak English are great and very helpfu. Beware the standard advice. Where is such and such restaraunt? it's up the road 200 meters on the right. Where is the laundry? it's up the road 200 meters on the left. Where isthe information centre? It's up the road 200 meters on the left. Notsure if the answer were the result of limited English or head no idea of distances.

Anyway great place to stay, but beware the bells on Sunday morning they start very early on just dont stop.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with a water view, away from the church
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 496MikeH496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fontana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

We were driving and this Hotel is hard to find but once you do it is very central, across the road from the beach and you are in the main Square. Our room was nice, just standard but it was clean, large and with a balcony we also faced the sea, bed was hard and the pillows flat. I did peek into some of the other rooms and they were not nearly as nice as ours. Because of where our room was positioned we did not have a problem with noise but if you overlooked the square you might have a big problem.
Breakfast was very basic and I got the impression that the cakes they put out, which is the main breakfast, get put out each morning till they get eaten!
You have to pay for WIFI 3 euro an hour and only in the lounge room and only when the staff have the time to connect you. This was frustrating because unlike all the other towns on the coast Amalfi didn't have free WIFI in the restaurants and bars.
Car parking is 18 Euro a day. I found some of the reception staff a bit abrupt.
I would not actually stay at Amalfi, Positana, Sorrento and the Isle of Capri and much less expensive

Room Tip: if you can book a room which faces the sea or take ear plugs Stay in one of the other towns which a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Hotel Fontana has two great assets.
First, a perfect location facing the sea on one side and the Cathedral Square on the other. Both sides can be a bit noisy in the evening, but the balcony windows are well soundproofed, and the air conditioning is very effective.
Secondly, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Thank you Taddeo and Luana for making our stay so enjoyable!
The room was simple but clean, with a balcony, good-sized tiled bathroom and a nice high ceiling. The decor is a bit dated but interesting in a funky sort of way. Our only reservation is the lackluster breakfast – mostly cakes and pies and pastries. Not much really nourishing.
But we liked the Fontana and recommend it to others who prefer personal charm over impersonal luxury.

Room Tip: Rooms on the seaside are less noisy in the late evenings but more interesting.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Amalfi is a lovely little town and having looked at the rest of the coast and the prices, this is the best location. We had a seaview room which looks down on the busy carpark and out to sea. The hotel was clean and I would recommend this hotel for its location and price. We hired a car for the week and drove from Naples airport to Amalfi (not for the faint hearted!). We arranged parking with the hotel when we got there, which was very reasonable and Andrea picked up our car in the morning and collected it at night - a great service. We took a boat a Positano for the day to take a rest from driving.
We travelled the first week of May . The weather was surprisingly beautiful and warm!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelleyhett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The room facing the sea was large with a confortable bed. The view is outstanding. The room was very clean, the breakfast was excellent and overall service well intended. The location is right downtown Amalfi with quick access to buses for your adventures on the coast. Visit and ride to Ravello is worth it (tip: walk back down to Amalfi (1.5 hours) for out of the world views. Restaurants are nextdoor. The Cathedral and St-Andrea cript is a must. For the price, a great deal.

Room Tip: Visit and ride to Ravello is worth it (tip: walk back down to Amalfi (1.5 hours) for out of the worl...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Nice hotel with loads of history dating back centuries; centrally located looking over the Piazzo and with rooms looking out over the sea. Suitable for families as well with a child friendly staff. We loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harwoods8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel & great location by the seafront in gorgeous Amalfi.

Staff were friendly too.

A couple of minor observations though...

To charge €3 per hour for wifi is a bit tight in this day and age.

And the breakfast was OK - if you like cakes. Some fruit might have been nice.

Nice hotel though.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poem58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo Sant'Andrea
Albergo Sant'Andrea
#17 of 29 in Amalfi
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#25 of 29 in Amalfi
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lidomare Hotel
Lidomare Hotel
#22 of 29 in Amalfi
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.0 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Address: Piazza Duomo 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range: £55 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing