We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Floridiana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Floridiana Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Only Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stay dates May 18 – 22, 2013. Let me start by saying this is an excellent Hotel. We had just finished a week in Tuscany and wanted to see the Amalfi Coast before we returned. We took the High Speed train from Rome to Naples. And met our driver from “Simply Amalfi” (See review on trip advisor). The Hotel Floridiana is in a restricted section of the city. There is a luggage pickup point, a fountain, just outside the Piazza. The hotel provides luggage service. The walk from the pickup point is about 100 yards, just the other side of the Piazza. The rooms are clean and spacious with wi-fi access, spacious tile baths. There are motion sensors in the bathroom that turn on LED night-lights when you enter. The same technology is used in the halls.

Breakfast is a treat the dining area is beautiful. The food is varied enough to satisfy all appetites. Coffee and pastry or eggs, salami, cheese, juice, cereals etc. There is also a roof terrace with lounge chairs. In addition there is a rear elevator that will get you to street level without the steps. When you exit to the street you are in the heart of Amalfi.

The front desk provided recommendations for lunch and dinner. The hotel staff are friendly and provide excellent service. Our favorite restaurant “L’abside” was recommended by Agnese Marino, owner and manager. L’abside is short walk, about a block from the hotel (See review on trip advisor).

This is a great spot to stay, as there are many shops, restaurants, gelato shops, and a local grocery store just at the rear exit. Many tours are available and they depart from the luggage pickup point. We had used “Simply Amalfi” and met them at the same place.

We would not hesitate to stay at this Hotel and recommend it to anyone that would like to feel they are living in Amalfi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrRetiredFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    62
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
85
328
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Really great place to stay. Agnese and her staff were fantastic. Breakfast was great. A bottle of champagne appeared in our room on our Anniversary. Advice about Amalfi coast was readily available and always right.

Hotel is right in the middle of Amalfi. Garage service is free and well done.

Our room (junior suite) was one of the best hotel rooms we have stayed at.
The rooftop terrace, which few used, is a beautiful sanctuary with wonderful views of Amalfi and surrounding hills. This is a special hotel! Thanks Agnese and team!

Room Tip: Junior suites are really, really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelG2096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, FL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

After driving from Umbria, stopping at Pompeii along the way and negotiating Amalfi Coast roads, my husband and I were exhausted when we arrived at the Floridiana. From the check-in experience through our departure, we experienced an attentive and personal approach we rarely see in hotels anywhere. Agnese got to know us and made thoughtful recommendations to ensure we had a wonderful visit to Amalfi. Her suggestions on places to see, restaurants to dine in and the tour Excursion into Amalfi's Heart with Signore Michelangelo Crisculo were perfect for us. If we have one regret, it is that we were unable to stay longer. When we returned to Umbria and I realized I had forgotten my travel curling iron in Amalfi, my husband was ready to go back and get it so he would have the opportunity to return to Amalfi. Fortunately, Agnese recovered it for me and mailed it to Umbria. We very much look forward to our next opportunity to visit Amalfi and would absolutely return to Floridiana.

Room Tip: The junior suite comes with a large bathtub which is great for soaking after a day of climbing the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kscott_Odessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eltham, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Floridiana on the Amalfi coast last week.
The hotel was extremely comfortable and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
The manager Agnese even took time out to help me at one stage with a road toll problem I had which was much appreciated.
I would thoroughly recommend Hotel Floridiana Amalfi to any visitors to the area.

Room Tip: We had a room opening out onto the Main Street which was great to view the locals plying their trade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel was lovely -- rooms very comfortable and spacious. But it was the staff that made it special. Agnese and her colleague (I didn't learn her name) were more than helpful. They took care of us by helping us make arrangements for the remainder of our trip to Italy and were always available to answer questions. Agnese speaks German, French, and English in addition to Italian -- and she does so fluently. Breakfasts were good and were served in a beautiful room complete with painted ceiling --- reminding me of an 17th or 18th century villa.

And the area around Amalfi is breathtaking. Apparently one can get most places on public transport boat (or bus). There were some very fine restaurants as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonya5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at Hotel Floridiana- May 1st to 6th, 2013.Our room was spacious,. Bathroom was clean,with a great shower and bidet. Breakfast room has a beautiful frescos on the ceiling. Staff were very helpful. Philberto, the night person served us breakfast early at 6:30Am when we needed to leave early for Rome airport. Had all the ferry and bus information to go to Capri, Positano and Ravello. The free garage and porter service to bring the luggage to the hotel was a big plus in Amalfi. Agnes the owner always responded promptly to every e-mail query. I am glad we chose this hotel, very close to the Duomo, boat pier, bus stop and all the eateries. Rooftop seating area was great. Did not use the jaccuzi up there. No time. Highly recommend this hotel. Elevator helped a lot.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onkar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asker, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Four seniors from Norway spent a week in Amalfi late April. Amalfi was great, Floridiana Hotel was more than great. It was marvellous. We felt like dear and honoured guests from the moment we arrived. Agnese, the proprietor and Eva, her assistent, did everything possible to make us feel at home and have a good vacation. The hotel itself is lovely (take a good look at the recently renovated ceiling frescoes in the dining room), a pleasant room, a good breakfast buffet and a fine roof terrace. The jacuzzi on the roof is recommended. But most of all: the hospitality and the friendliness that we met. Our review would have been 5 dots: Excellent even if it had been a five-star hotel. This a three-star hotel, with most reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knut B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridiana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridiana Hotel

Property: Floridiana Hotel
Address: Via Brancia 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Floridiana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Floridiana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floridiana Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing