We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb family-run hotel”
Review of La Pergola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Pergola Hotel
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This is a beautiful small family-run hotel. It is spotlessly clean, the rooms are comfortable, the staff are welcoming and friendly and the food is excellent, much of the fruit and vegetables coming from their own garden behind the hotel. The local Ravello wines they serve in the restaurant are a perfect accompaniment to the meals. The owners also make their own liqueurs which are highly recommended. Amalfi is easily accessible either on foot in about 25 minutes, by the Sorrento bus which stops right outside the hotel or by the Pergerola bus which stops about 200 metres away - this one is usually less crowded. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - it is less like staying in an hotel, more like being a guest in someone's home.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is everything the positive reviews here say it is, and the staff is what makes this an outstanding place to stay. Not only did they answer our questions, but they asked about our plans and made some suggestions that were very helpful. Tip: if you eat there, ask for the lemon cake for dessert...

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnRNY59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We stayed here for a week and loved it! The staff were extremely friendly and VERY helpful in helping us plan our daily outings. It was comfortable, and had sizeable bathrooms for Europe. This hotel was in a great place as you are not right downtown (scenic) but you can catch the bus out front or walk through town to get to it. Please go stay here- we can't wait to go back sometime!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n-villemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

My husband and I stayed at La Pergola for 5 nights and would've liked to stay for another 5 weeks. The owners and staff were very, very friendly and made you feel like you were at home. Some nights it was homemade cookies, wine and lemoncello and we would sit around in the restaurant and have some great laughs. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We would walk into town most nights, as it was such a lovely walk. There's a beautiful beach below La Pergola, but mind you, it's 369 steps to reach it, but very worthwhile. Two restaurants are located on the beach. One restaurant which is a must to eat at, is the Trattoria da Ciccio which is only a 10 minute walk from La Pergola. Not only is the food and service the very best, but you receive a discount as well as a pick up and drop off service from the restaurant. We would definitely stay at La Pergola again, as the position and staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The hotel is very clean and tidy, recently built (2006 I guess) in a wonderfull position. From the rooms you can see the sea. They also have on the terrace a nice lemon garden where you can also sunbathe. When you arrive, they give you suggestions and special discount for tourists at restaurants. In front of the hotel there is also the bus stop to Amalfi or Positano. I will come back there definitely.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peppolhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I stayed there for 5 nights and I liked everything.First of all the room was excellent (deluxe room) very clean and we have half of the terrace private.Furthermore the location is great beacause it is far enough from Amalfi so that you stay quiet but there is a bus stop just for the hotel in front and you can be in the heart of Amalfi in less than 5 minutes.Before I go I was afraid of the street noise but honestly I didn't understand a thing of the traffic outside.There is apretty good beach just down from the hotel.And last but not least the staff of the hotel was superb.Very helpful, spoke English very well and really eager to make you feel like home.Congratulations for your family hotel.I would like to go again of course.Already miss Amalfi!!

P.S. You have the opprtunity of unlimited Internet access for free from their laptop at the breakfast lounge room all day

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

The Hotel
========
This is a small but attractive hotel. The rooms are smallish but confortably furnished, bright, fresh and very clean. The staff were very pleasant and helpful - thanks to Sara, Daniele, Raffaele, Rita and Florinda. We had a standard room but superior rooms are available which come with a balcony. We looked out towrads the cliffs but it was possible to see the sea by standing right by the window and looking to the side. The hotel is right on the road which meant having to keep the window closed early morning to shut out the traffic noise and smell of diesel. Breakfast was in a very pleasant dining room with a cold buffet of cereals, fruit, cold meats, youghurt. There is a terrace with a "lemon grove" and sunbeds open to all guests. Beautiful views as always.

Transfer from airport
================
This can take up to 2 hours if the coach comes via Salerno. The Amalfi coast stretches from Salerno at one end to Sorrento at the other. Anyone suffering from travel sickness or vertigo needs to be prepared. The whole coast is a series of hairpin bends with very short straight sections on a narrow road with a sheer drop on one side! This can be a white knuckle ride but the views are stupendous.

Transport
========
The public bus service, SITA, runs up and down the coast but always terminate at the bus station in Amalfi town. Therefore you have to change buses at Amalfi to go any further in either direction. The bus stops right outside the hotel. Each trip costs 2Euros (2E), so it's worth getting the 24 hour pass at 6E per person if you're going to do more than two journeys per day. The 24 hour period starts from when the ticket is first used on a bus.The hotel will provide a timetable but the times are very approximate.

Towns / Eating
============
Amalfi is less than 10 mins by bus and worth visiting for its cathedral, shopping and restaurants. There is a tiny cafe along the shopping street that does pizza and roast chickens with potatoes at very reasobale prices. The chicken/potatoes were DELICIOUS. Minori is another 5mins away and has some eateries, especially De Riso's for their gorgeous cakes (try the Rhum Baba - full of rum!). Cafe Europa serves good meals with a smile. California beach bar for lunctime meals and drinks. Maiori, another 5mins from Minori, has nothing much apart from a beach. Positano is 20 mins from the hotel in the opposite direction to Amalfi, and gorgeous. There's a nice cake shop there too.

Beaches
=======
Amalfi, Minori, Maiori and Positano all have sandy beahes. Other beaches can very stony, making rubber beach shoes esssential. You'll pay about 12E for two sunbeds and an umbrella, except in Positano where it's 24E. Within walking distance of the hotel is S. Croce beach, reached by 300 steps down the cliff face. There are two cafes there. Both offer a free boat ride to Amalfi if you hire sunbeds, rather useful if you don't want o climb back up the cliff. Go to the organgey coloured cafe as it has a larger boat and runs it more frequently.

Excursions
========
The Grotta Smerlado (Emerald Grotto) is 15mins by bus and there there is a lift down to the entrance. You'll pay 5E per person for a boat "tour" inside the cave, plus a tip of course! Ask the hotel for best time to visit, as the effect of the sun lighting up the water varies during the day. We think it's late afternoon. We paid 100E to get a return trip by boat to the isle of Capri. En route it stopped at several sights (caves) which were underwhelming. One of them, the Blue Grotto charges big money for barely two minutes inside (we were told). The views from Capri town are astounding, but so they are anywhere on the Amalfi coast too. There is a cafe with great views over the bay but we got stung £23 for one average pizza and a botlle of water (of which £8 was cover charge plus service charge!!). We paid £6 for a pint at another cafe! We didn't bother to fo higher up to Ana Capri. Check menu carefully for charges! We won't be going back to Capri. Take bottled water wherever you go.

Naples airport
===========
Arriving and going thorugh the airport posed no trouble. Departing was nearly as easy but don't count on the duty free as prices are not exactly attractive compared to UK airports.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
4  Thank UK_Chappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
609 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
660 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#22 of 29 in Amalfi
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites
Hotel Bellevue Suites
#23 of 29 in Amalfi
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pergola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pergola Hotel

Address: Via Giovanni Augustariccio 10, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: £56 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pergola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Pergola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Pergola
La Pergola Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing