We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is everything” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location is everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

We had perfect weather in October. Our room was at the front looking out on the Duomo and the square where everything happened. Staff were very welcoming and efficient and the breakfast dining area is excellent. Amalfi is lovely for a short visit - a week maximum. Eating out is expensive and becomes tedious. Rome restaurants are much better and more competitive. Amalfi is a tourist trap.
Overall we enjoyed the visit, the good weather, the magnificent scenery, the lovely people and the hotel

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Corkypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    83
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
34
86
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2009

We stayed just one night but found the hotel to be a great location ( opposite the duomo) and although there is no ocean view our balcony looked straight onto the duomo. It is a few minutes easy walk from the bus terminal. The hotel is very clean, comfortable and offers a good european breakfast. The owner was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

From the first greeting at Reception until check out, Hotel Centrale was superb. Great value for money, clean, fabulous location, wholesome breakfast with great coffee made to your liking. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The decor is gorgeous, especially the tiles used throughout the hotel. Balcony looks over San Andrea Square - great vantage point for people watching & entertainment. Truly a warm B&B.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2006

We stayed at this hotel with our family and my mother-in-law. We all felt at home and our host Gino could not have been more welcoming and friendly. Without asking he ensured mother-in-law had a room where she could sit and watch from the balcony, and what a view - directly opposite the Dumo. We were fortunate that on one evening a classical performance took place on the steps of the Dumo - we really did have front row seats.

The hotel is simple and clean and breakfast is suffiicient, however we never really worked out the bar opening times!

Beware of the number of steps to the piazza where the hotel entrance is and also in the hotel.

Would recommend this hotel if you want something friendly in a good position - we will go back.

Average for the hotel, but above average with its welcome!

  • Liked — The welcome
  • Disliked — The steps and no lift
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room that looks onto the Dumo
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2006

If you were born into a loving family, you’ll appreciate the family that runs this hotel. If you weren’t that fortunate, then you’ll want to adopt Gino’s family for your own. Gino’s Hotel Centrale, is true to it’s name. It is on the main piazza directly across from the duomo, just feet away from the harbor and surrounded by cafes, restaurants, gelaterias and shops. Gino showed us rooms with balconies that open onto a quiet courtyard with a partial sea view or that open directly onto the piazza. We chose the piazza/duomo view. We were able to view daily Amalfi life from our wrought iron balcony and the breakfast terrace on the roof of the hotel. The air-conditioned room and bath were modernized and attractive. What surpasses the location and physical amenities, however, is Gino himself. He is checking you in, catering to you at breakfast, helping you plan your day, being your guardian angel in a foreign country. We met his wife, daughters, new grandson, brother and sisters. What a rare treat to actually meet an Italian family while vacationing in Italy and to be cared for like you are part of the family. Amalfi is stunningly beautiful, and a stay at Hotel Centrale makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rplp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2006

Amalfi, for those who have not visited it, is a pretty town between Salerno and Sorrento on the Amalfi coast. To get there involves a white knuckle drive along the coast road from either town, but it is certainly worth it (if you find driving in Italy disturbing enough, take the SITA bus and keep your eyes closed).
Unlike Positano which is all but closed out of season, Amalfi soldiers on and gives the impression that there is more to it than tourism alone. We stayed at the Hotel Centrale which is directly opposite the Duomo and has fantastic views of the town square. The hotel is run by the charismatic Gino and his family and is excellent in every respect – I’m not sure why it doesn’t show up on Tripadvisor, but would warrant a five star rating in each category despite being a three star establishment. The rooms are clean, air conditioned and comfortable (ours also had a superb view) and the management could teach a few others how to do things properly.
The restaurant scene is a little limited out of season, but you will still find at least ten to choose from ranging from quite expensive to very reasonable. There is a small, but well stocked supermarket off the main street and an internet café with friendly manageress (and yellow Labrador) also in the main street.
Amalfi is a great destination for a long weekend out of season and within easy day trips are Sorrento, Capri, Positano and Ravello.

Helpful?
7 Thank WTCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Lidomare Hotel
Lidomare Hotel
#22 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Sant'Andrea
Albergo Sant'Andrea
#16 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#29 of 29 in Amalfi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residenza del Duca Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#20 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Largo Duchi Piccolomini, | 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing