We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the stena lift or the garden entrance”
Review of Le Palme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Palme
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the stena lift or the garden entrance”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were on our honeymoon and visiting almost the length of Italy, staying at boutique hotels along the way. At first glance this place looks lovely, but we were eventually worn out by it and left a day early, I wish it had been sooner.

A few reasons why we left:
• Crumbs on seats, not cleaned up = no attention to detail or enough concern for guests
• We traveled light which meant by the time we arrived at Le Palme, we needed some clothes cleaned. We inquired about a laundry service on our first day, agreed a price with the owners, who informed us that our laundry would be clean, dry and in our room by the next day. We expected an outsourced laundry service, but that night we found our smalls and the rest of our clothes on show drying on one of the terraces, not impressed. Anyway I say drying, unfortunately that was the opposite of what they were doing, by the time we left, half of our clothes were still wet and half of it stank, needless to say we did not pay for this service, however we were even more inconvenienced by having to lug around laundry which was still either wet or smelly - pissed off is an under statement!
• The breakfast was cheap and limited - croissants and coffee were nice (had to ask them to bring milk everyday) and the cheap cheese toastie was okay, but if you want any variety tough luck, this was it, every single day.
• From most of the reviews we had read and the hotel website we were expecting “stunning sea views". However, the only ‘window’ in our room was our entry/exit door which opened onto a terrace. This meant that we could not leave the door open as we would have had no privacy whatsoever, NOT conducive to a romantic honeymoon. Besides that, our ‘view’ was an overgrown bush!
• The room was very dark, even with the curtains drawn, which made it quite uncomfortable and cold-feeling.
• The shower screen did not fit the bath it was attached to, which meant water leaked on the floor
• The website says the hotel is 200 steps from Amalfi, that is only if you take every third step at a time - it's a major workout and not something you want to do every night after an evening meal in the town.
• The furniture was old or shabby and what's with the weird artwork, if you aren't an interior designer, keep it simple or find a beautiful room on the internet and copy it, it's not rocket science.
• There is a lounge with a bar, but the family always seem to be lounging around in this area so we didn't feel comfortable using it. The lady owner smiled at us a lot and shouted at her children a lot, something best done behind closed doors, or it would be if one our doors wasn't adjoined to the lounge and we heard every sound including the telephone ringing first thing in the morning.

I could go on, but I've already lost another hour of my life writing this review. Let's hope you either don't stay here or the hotel has new owners and the place has a major overhaul.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PAUL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    104
    20
    8
    15
See reviews for
44
196
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We absolutely loved Le Palme during our 2 night stay for our wedding, and we will definitely come back.

We had a suite which is a separate little house on the terrace with a lounge area and an outdoor pool, and we were the only ones to use this quiet and relaxing area. The continental breakfast was really good, served on another terrace with a seaview. The owners' Le Palme Restaurant is located in the neighbouring town of Atrani, well worth a 10-minute drive away, also accessible by the hotel shuttle.

The staff did everything for us to forget the stairs, they have transfered all the luggage to/from hotel by themselves using a large stairlift. They gave us the key, so it was a lot of fun and no effort to get back from our wedding wearing high heels. We love hiking, so we did not mind to climb down to the town and then climb back up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalija V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The accommodation is clean and decent. Good wifi and very nice hospitable family. However, it is far away from amalfi and the stairs are a bit annoying especially with bags (even though they do have a slow wheelchair lift). The rooms are a bit outdated but have a nice view. You get complimentary breakfast yet we were unsure as to what this was as we just got given bread everyday, compared to other people getting eggs and dates. Overall was an alright stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heidililing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Le Palme for our honeymoon. The views from this place are simply stunning, and the service we received was great - as expected, really. Breakfast is good (and set in a stunning location). I enjoyed the croissants which had jam inside them! The room was clean and tidy and comfortable, with a window looking out over the sea.

Our main reservation with the place is that it is not really in Amalfi - it's nearer Pogerola, and is a good 20 minute walk down to Amalfi, and probably a 30 minute walk back up the stairs (granted with some pauses to take in the gorgeous views and catch our breath). We knew this when we booked, based on previous reviews on this site, but it bears repeating that there are a LOT of steep and sometimes uneven stairs to navigate if you choose to stay at Le Palme. We are both fairly fit but we did find the stairs hard work after a hot day on the beach, or having eating dinner and drunk wine!

We had a fantastic stay at Le Palme but if we had been staying in Amalfi for any longer than 5 nights we would have wanted somewhere a little closer to the heart of things.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nbterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I think it is important to note up front that this is not a hotel but more of a B and B experience. The location is high in the hills of the town of Amalfi ( probably closer to town of Pogerola). Access to the property is via a " wheelchair lift" and lots of stairs ( many of which are in a poor state of repair) so just be aware of this if you have any travellers with mobility issues or lots of luggage. However, there are definite advantages to this. The views are breathtaking, it is quiet, the family who run it are wonderful, and the advantage of meeting people from all over the world in the communal breakfast area and lounge area is priceless. Breakfast is simple but always served with a smile and they were happy to oblige with special requests (extra cups of coffee, omelettes, juice etc). This place is highly recommended to those of you looking for an escape from the tourist laden town centre and want a more authentic Italian experience. We want to thank Antoinetta, Sophia and Juicy for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ballybeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spent a week time in this lovely hotel last august and we have to say that the place is really nice and quite so is perfect for a relaxing holiday!
Views are stunning from the balcony and the rooms are lovely and really clean!
Thanks very much to Antonietta and Sonia for the really nice help during all our holiday
We will surely come back here on our next visit to amalfi coast!
Ps: We found a really nice place up in the village called Gerry's pub where food and drinks are well worth the visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our six day stay in Le Palme was a terrible experience. We just cannot understand where all the good reviews come from, especially the one which describes a terrible experience lugging luggage up the many (many) stairs without the lift! That does not sound like a 5-star experience to me!

Here are just a few points:

• Half of the sunbeds and umbrellas were broken and all of the covers were dirty.

• We never saw any of the staff take care of the pool area. When it rained, we and some other guests had to hang the soaking wet and unusable covers out to dry.

• For our whole stay, our sheets were changed just once, and I mean just the sheets – not the pillow cases or bed covers.

• The breakfast was cheap and terrible - stale croissants, stale cereal and a cheap cheese toastie.

• Before we booked we were in conversation with the hotel about what to expect. We were told that all rooms have a “stunning sea view". However, the only ‘window’ in our room was our entry/exit door which opened onto a terrace, including a seating area, which all the guests used. This meant that we could not leave the door open as we would have had no privacy whatsoever! Besides that, our ‘view’ was an overgrown bush!

• The room was very dark, even with the curtains drawn, which made it quite uncomfortable and cold-feeling.

• The shower was incredibly small, perhaps one metre squared, which made it difficult to even turn without hitting the shower walls, let alone pick something up.

• The bathroom was incredibly narrow (under two metres).

• The TV had shady reception.

• The wardrobe blocked another door through which we could clearly hear people talking. It also had a stool inside it. Perhaps they thought we could use it as another room!
Considering we paid more than 100 Euros per night, we expected decent service and a decent room which we do not think is unreasonable. In reality, it felt more like a 2-star motel.


Lastly, I’ve uploaded some photos to back up some of what I’ve said.

Our advice - avoid staying here, especially for the cost! It really isn’t anywhere near as good as it sounds!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pafer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#22 of 29 in Amalfi
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
628 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palme

Property: Le Palme
Address: Salita Dello Spinale 23, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm welcome of the Cuomo Family, the comfort of the room, the small swimming pool, the wonderful view on the Amalfi Coast, guarantees you a relaxing stay at very convenient prices.The House is linked with a restaurant situated just 20 meters away from the beach of Atrani, which proposes a traditional and creative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palme Amalfi
Le Palme Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing