We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent (if you don't mind steps)”
Review of Le Palme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Palme
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent (if you don't mind steps)”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

These apartments are located on the road from Amalfi to Pergola some way up the hill, if you have a car it is ideal as parking down in town would be very difficult. Due to the location you are treated to superb views down into town and out to sea. Unfortunately the price is the dreaded steps which have been mentioned numerous times. These are the simplest way to get to and from town, however a decent level of fitness is definately required as the walk, (particularly the walk up late at night) is quite difficult. That said the accomodation was quaint and clean with a simple breakfast served on the terrace each morning, staff were lovely and helpful whenever required and there is a really nice pool area to relax in when not visiting the sights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    106
    23
    10
    15
See reviews for
44
202
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was the worst hotel we ever stayed in.
There were no railing on the 300 steps to get to hotel and several or most of the steps were broken and graveled.
Our door to our room did not lock and they said they would fix it in the morning.
Our shower was a small trickle.
The iron bed was broken.
My son's bed consisted of 2 outdoor sofa cushions for his mattress. His was a deluxe room with a double bed and a single bed.
We reported all the problems and left early because of such horrible conditions. They would not refund our money for the nights we did not stay but offered us a "big" discount on our next visit. NEVER
The pictures look good but don't be deceived, it is awful!!!!
It is family owned and run and did not put any money into the place. It was not a cheap hotel at 200 per night. Don't waste your money or time on this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ddeleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here for a couple nights and it was amazing. I will say the location was frustrating but everything was so nice it made up for it. We were with our 6 year old so we upgraded to a triple room- comfortable, clean, jacuzzi, huge TV for night time shows. The balcony was breathtaking. If you want a hidden quiet beautiful place to stay this is it. If you are going to spend more time dowm on the beach or in the city stay somewhere else as getting back and forth us too tedious even with the chair lift. The owners let our son pet the animals which are right off the property, there is a huge vegetable and flower garden surrounding the hotel, the staff is so accommodating and friendly. I can still smell the fresh lemons and flowers surrounding me. Will always remember, thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were on our honeymoon and visiting almost the length of Italy, staying at boutique hotels along the way. At first glance this place looks lovely, but we were eventually worn out by it and left a day early, I wish it had been sooner.

A few reasons why we left:
• Crumbs on seats, not cleaned up = no attention to detail or enough concern for guests
• We traveled light which meant by the time we arrived at Le Palme, we needed some clothes cleaned. We inquired about a laundry service on our first day, agreed a price with the owners, who informed us that our laundry would be clean, dry and in our room by the next day. We expected an outsourced laundry service, but that night we found our smalls and the rest of our clothes on show drying on one of the terraces, not impressed. Anyway I say drying, unfortunately that was the opposite of what they were doing, by the time we left, half of our clothes were still wet and half of it stank, needless to say we did not pay for this service, however we were even more inconvenienced by having to lug around laundry which was still either wet or smelly - pissed off is an under statement!
• The breakfast was cheap and limited - croissants and coffee were nice (had to ask them to bring milk everyday) and the cheap cheese toastie was okay, but if you want any variety tough luck, this was it, every single day.
• From most of the reviews we had read and the hotel website we were expecting “stunning sea views". However, the only ‘window’ in our room was our entry/exit door which opened onto a terrace. This meant that we could not leave the door open as we would have had no privacy whatsoever, NOT conducive to a romantic honeymoon. Besides that, our ‘view’ was an overgrown bush!
• The room was very dark, even with the curtains drawn, which made it quite uncomfortable and cold-feeling.
• The shower screen did not fit the bath it was attached to, which meant water leaked on the floor
• The website says the hotel is 200 steps from Amalfi, that is only if you take every third step at a time - it's a major workout and not something you want to do every night after an evening meal in the town.
• The furniture was old or shabby and what's with the weird artwork, if you aren't an interior designer, keep it simple or find a beautiful room on the internet and copy it, it's not rocket science.
• There is a lounge with a bar, but the family always seem to be lounging around in this area so we didn't feel comfortable using it. The lady owner smiled at us a lot and shouted at her children a lot, something best done behind closed doors, or it would be if one our doors wasn't adjoined to the lounge and we heard every sound including the telephone ringing first thing in the morning.

I could go on, but I've already lost another hour of my life writing this review. Let's hope you either don't stay here or the hotel has new owners and the place has a major overhaul.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PAUL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We absolutely loved Le Palme during our 2 night stay for our wedding, and we will definitely come back.

We had a suite which is a separate little house on the terrace with a lounge area and an outdoor pool, and we were the only ones to use this quiet and relaxing area. The continental breakfast was really good, served on another terrace with a seaview. The owners' Le Palme Restaurant is located in the neighbouring town of Atrani, well worth a 10-minute drive away, also accessible by the hotel shuttle.

The staff did everything for us to forget the stairs, they have transfered all the luggage to/from hotel by themselves using a large stairlift. They gave us the key, so it was a lot of fun and no effort to get back from our wedding wearing high heels. We love hiking, so we did not mind to climb down to the town and then climb back up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalija V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The accommodation is clean and decent. Good wifi and very nice hospitable family. However, it is far away from amalfi and the stairs are a bit annoying especially with bags (even though they do have a slow wheelchair lift). The rooms are a bit outdated but have a nice view. You get complimentary breakfast yet we were unsure as to what this was as we just got given bread everyday, compared to other people getting eggs and dates. Overall was an alright stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heidililing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Le Palme for our honeymoon. The views from this place are simply stunning, and the service we received was great - as expected, really. Breakfast is good (and set in a stunning location). I enjoyed the croissants which had jam inside them! The room was clean and tidy and comfortable, with a window looking out over the sea.

Our main reservation with the place is that it is not really in Amalfi - it's nearer Pogerola, and is a good 20 minute walk down to Amalfi, and probably a 30 minute walk back up the stairs (granted with some pauses to take in the gorgeous views and catch our breath). We knew this when we booked, based on previous reviews on this site, but it bears repeating that there are a LOT of steep and sometimes uneven stairs to navigate if you choose to stay at Le Palme. We are both fairly fit but we did find the stairs hard work after a hot day on the beach, or having eating dinner and drunk wine!

We had a fantastic stay at Le Palme but if we had been staying in Amalfi for any longer than 5 nights we would have wanted somewhere a little closer to the heart of things.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nbterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
451 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#17 of 29 in Amalfi
1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palme

Property: Le Palme
Address: Salita Dello Spinale 23, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm welcome of the Cuomo Family, the comfort of the room, the small swimming pool, the wonderful view on the Amalfi Coast, guarantees you a relaxing stay at very convenient prices.The House is linked with a restaurant situated just 20 meters away from the beach of Atrani, which proposes a traditional and creative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palme Amalfi
Le Palme Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing