We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot on the Amalfi coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Santa Maria
Ranked #15 of 38 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot on the Amalfi coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Amalfi is a popular place and can be crowded. But the guests of Villa Santa Maria have it all by themselves. The Villa has a private location and a wonderful view over the Salerno Bay. You must not fear stairs though. The hillside is steep, but you have access to the sea by the stairs that runs all the way from the road to the ocean. The breakfast was splendid, the rooms nice and the hosts did a good job for their guests. We would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisetiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I spent several months looking for a perfect location throughout Europe to celebrate my 10th wedding anniversary.
I found the most extraordinary accommodation with the Villa Santa Maria in Amalfi. To be specific I had what is called the junior suite which is a self contained one bedroom villa about 60 metres from the main accommodation wihch is a 7 roomed villa.
A word of warning. Anyone with mobility issues should research the Amalfi coast carefully to find suitable accommodation. The villa is about 150 steps from the main road.
For my wife and I, everything was perfect.
Firstly, a reassuring email from Annalisa prior to our arrival that the room was booked.
When we got to Amalfi Annalisa greeted us with a tour of the villa and services before leading us to our own seperate accommodation. The website does not do this place justice.
We had a large kingsize bed overlooking the sea. The bed was quite high up enhancing the views. Outside is a private terrace which is at least 40 metres long. There are banana trees and grape vines with a small private garden and beyond this our own personal jacuzzi.
To have peace quiet tranquility and solitude in such a busy place as Amalfi is priceless.
Breakfast is served in the main villa and is of a fantastic standard. I could go on and on about how helpful the staff were, including arranging taxis. To top it all on our last day we were leaving early and Annalisa made sure there was bread cheese, yoghurt and other treats to send us on our way.
This place is an absolute must for anyone craving beautiful views, a great room, wonderful service and privacy and I find it impossible to believe there is anywhere better to stay anywhere along the Amalfi coast. We would most definitely return.

Room Tip: The junior suite also known as the purple room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlty1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked the junior suite which is detached and a little higher than the villa, so fewer steps to the road!! Because the Villa was fully booked by a group wanting privacy, we were unable to access the private beach. However, the manager Annalise reduced the cost and ensured our fridge was fully stocked with all manner of food and drink for the 3 days, as an apology.
This in no way detracted from our stay. Totally private mini apartment, with all the trappings. Sun terrace and gardens with Jacuzzi and the most amazing view. We loved just sitting there with a cool beer at the end of the day, before bussing into Amalfi for dinner.
Annalise was most helpful...renting boats for us to explore the coast and swim off, recommending restaurants, bus timetables etc. Victor was on hand to carry the bags, drop us in and out of town during the day and parking the car for us!! Staff changed bed linen and towels daily as well as restocking with friut, food and drinks.
Lovely to be alone, undisturbed and in peace to enjoy the view and the quiet.
A magical place.

Room Tip: Not sure how the villa works when booked by individual couples so suggest booking the junior suite f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mceCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merksem, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in July this year(2013). Once you go past the fact that you have to climb a lot of stairs to get to the main road, it's a wonderful place. Great sundeck where you can sunbathe privately and still go out in the sea whenever you want(even for inexperienced swimmers such us us..).You can even go up some steps to a public beach but you have to get the key to the property"s gate at the reception before you go down to the sundeck. Lovely jacuzzi to cool down in the evenings. Good breakfast with everything you want.Very clean rooms, good turndown service.You even have an outdoor gym if you're the sporty type and a sauna if you don't get enough heat from the sun.It's actually a bit far from the center of Amalfi (2.9 km) but it's still doable on foot as long as it's not during midday.. But the views are the best.... Just stunning!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anadanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at the Villa Santa Maria for a week in november with a group of 14 friends and family. We got married at the church just above the villa and the whole experience was a dream come true. We barely left the villa for the whole week... our days where spent relaxing on one of the many terraces overlooking the amalfi coast, either from our sun beds, the spa, or outdoor entertaining area. We swam at our own private beach and lounged on the sun deck. The manager Cristina made sure that we wanted for nothing, she organised everything for the wedding from the private chefs to the flowers. Cristina and the other staff where so eager to make our stay perfect and we where treated like royalty from the minute we arrived. We highly recommend this villa to anyone who is thinking of staying on the Amalfi Coast we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Thank you Cristina and everyone else at Villa Santa Maria for one of the best weeks of our lives. We will be back.
Ant & Holly

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

This place is simply amazing. Stunning views on the bay, very clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. Numerous areas to sit or lay back and relax. The furniture and decoration are neat, the service discreet, professional, and friendly. Not a detail in this region that can be stuffy during the summer months, a very good working and silent air conditioning in the rooms and breakfast area.
The hotel also offers a jacuzzi on an intimate terrace with amazing views on the bay. Further downhill there is a terrace from which you can dive into the blue waters. A bit further right, there is an amazing private beach which you can access with a key (that you can ask to the B&B owner).
The B&B is situated 2 km away from the center of Amalfi, but there is a bus stop at 50m from the B&B. So, connections are very convenient to go out for dining. There are also two good restaurants within short walking distance. Be prepared from quite some stairs going down from the main street to the B&B, but it really pays out when you're down there, as you arrive into a magnificent garden, hosting a beautiful villa, and offering stunning views on the coast. You should not worry for your luggage, the porter will gently help you and carry them for you (Gosh, this is impressive how this man can carry two bags going up and down hill at such speed!). Truly recommended place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylviebru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have stayed at the end of July 2012 and had a wonderful experience. The property is beautiful and the surrounding is incredible. Service is well provided, supported by an attentive owner, Cristina.
You should be aware of hundreds of steps to get to the house and the private beach, nevertheless is not a problem if you are in good health condition. It is the price you pay to be in a seclude spot and will allow you to eat and stay fit!
Do not miss a visit to neighbor Restaurant Da Teresa at next bay. They will come for you at the beach and return.
Definitely a place to stay and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eduardo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.8 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santa Maria

Property: Villa Santa Maria
Address: Via Giovanni Augustariccio 10 | Scala Via Cappella, 10, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Santa Maria is a special luxury home just a short distance from Amalfi, the heart of the Amalfi Coast. The property was built in a huge garden with a sea view and is accessed along the 130 steps that divide the Villa from the road.Outside you can enjoy the swimming pool Jacuzzi, private beach or sun deck directly on the beach where it is possible to dock small boats, also you can enjoy some relaxing time in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Santa Maria Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing