We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Halfway House... Not A Hostel.”
Review of Hostel Koine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Koine
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The one star is for the staff - who are actually very sweet. The rest of the place is one of the worst I've ever stayed in. From the minute you walk in, the smell of smoke knocks you back - and this is before meeting the types of people who stay there. Nothing against the less-fortunate, we've all been there, but it should not be advertised as a normal hostel. The main room, only one where you can access Wifi, is also nothing more than a smoking den. Again, I can't speak highly enough about the ladies working there, but even as a big guy, I slept with one eye open... And would discourage anyone else from staying here. Especially solo female travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AricSQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed in a 5-7 bed mixed dorm (3 beds separated by a wardrobe in the middle of the room from the other 2 bunk beds). Every bed had its locker with the key and a closet (double). The room was clean but it depends on your roommates if it is noisy. Bathrooms and toilets were cleaned regularly, Showers are all in one place - meaning no cubicles/cabins (of course separate men and women) - I had showers in my swimming suit. Staff was helpful and kind. It was 13 euros for a night and if you don't ask for much - it's ideal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirj_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My friend and I planned to stay here for a few nights while in Salerno on our recent Europe trip...we stayed for one and got out as fast as we could. The place seemed decent for the price when we checked in, but after we returned from our afternoon out, it was completely different. The people that stay in this hostel are not the typical backpackers and thrifty vacationers. They're more like people off the street that live here for a few euros a night. The atmosphere, especially in the common room (where the only wi-fi computer is located) became rather uncomfortable. You cannot lock your room and many of the other people in the hostel were up all night, noisy and sometimes arguing. The bathrooms have communal showers and by the second day, they did not seem as if they're cleaned on a daily basis. I wouldn't recommend spending your time in Salerno at this hostel.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank fishingcarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

The Koine Hostel was a great experience for my friends and I. We stayed the weekend and explored Salerno, the Amalfi Coast, and Capri. The hostel is located pretty close (about a 15 minute walk with luggage) to the train station in a decent area with grocery stores and cafes nearby. For 12 euro, this place can't be beat, and they put us up in group dorms that were pretty spacious and clean. Some of the other hostel guests were older, but it never became a problem. The owners were so nice and helpful with planning our day trips - they had maps, schedules, and everything we needed - practically a full service concierge. Overall, great hostel experience in an area worth exploring.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Nicole I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lilli45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Bruno Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salerno hotels
1.6 mi away
B&B Fronte Del Mare
B&B Fronte Del Mare
#134 of 236 in Salerno
36 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
1.7 mi away
Albergo Fiorenza
Albergo Fiorenza
#7 of 13 in Salerno
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events
1.3 mi away
Il Piccolo Principe
Il Piccolo Principe
#4 of 236 in Salerno
318 reviews
2.3 mi away
B&B Viale delle Colline
B&B Viale delle Colline
#62 of 78 in Salerno
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Koine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Koine

Address: Via Angelo Napoletano 10, 84134 Salerno, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Salerno
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Koine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing