We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hostel with out the feel of one”
Review of Hostel Salerno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Salerno
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Good staff, clean, comfortable, very nice. Parking, if you have a car, is a 15 minute walk from the Hostel. And watch the inner city limits on automobiles or you will get ticketed. Decent location, a bit noisy at night, not from the Hostel itself, but the location within the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Hi everyone! I have stayed at l'Ostello di Salerno this summer a couple of time (10 -12x) between june and july and let me tell you that this is THE place to stay! First of all, I have to mention that this hostel is very well located in the historic center of the city. Everything is near, the sea, the beach, restaurants and typical italian caffes. The Staff is just amazing as well and very helpfull, just to mention some names Luisa, Sandra, Nadia and Irma are just awesomes receptionnists always ready to give you a hand with some great suggestions in terms of activities and things to see. Pio the night audit is also very kind and helpfull and Stefania the bar tender is just Amazing!!! She makes awesome drinks, specially the ''Spritz'' that you must try! Managers Francesco and Mimmo are also very kind and accomodating person, very polite and make you feel comfortable to this wonderful place. Finally, the hostell itself is very clean, spacious, offers great breakfast in the morning and also a wifi service in the common area that becomes a lounge at night. If ever you think to pass by Salerno, this very charismatic city, you do not want to go anywhere else than l'Ostello di Salerno! :) xxx

p.s.I have to mention that the ladies in the breakfast are just wonderful as well, I am talking about Dali and Masha and there is a third one but l do not remember her name sorry!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor room, you'll have an amazing view of the city and the Duomo!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I adored this hostel we had the most fun and they were clean and very helpful!!! We stayed for two nights and were very impressed with the value for money and friendly staff!! Recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ave Gratia Plen... Q, Quality&Operations at Hostel Salerno, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Gemma, thanks a lot for sharing your experience in Salerno. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

First, the courtyard. The gorgeous square in the centre of the hostel makes this place exceptional. Centrepiece is a beautiful fountain with goldfish. The courtyard also has a funky glowing plastic bar where they serve drinks in the evening (not to mention the free home-made sangria we received upon arrival). Relaxing and enchanting. A recent reviewer complained of noise. We slept with our courtyard-facing 3d floor windows open and were not bothered by noise but I can see how this would be a problem if there were many people partying below.

Second, the room. We rented a private 4-person room with ensuite bathroom. The room was big, clean and the beds were comfortable. The price was economical, under 100 euros per night for 4 people. The bathroom was huge and recently renovated.

Third, the staff. Multilingual, friendly, helpful and efficient (including several email and phone conversations before arrival, and reliable restaurant recommendations upon arrival).

Fourth, the breakfast. Substantial and very good by Italian standards. Croissants, cheese, ham, coffee, tea, juice, bread, dry cereal, yogurt, etc. Eat your breakfast in the courtyard and you will feel like staying there all day.

Fifth, the location. In the heart of old Salerno steps from pedestrian streets full of boutiques, gelaterias, funky bars and good restaurants. In the last decades Salerno has been transformed into a fun, happening, pretty seaside city. Well worth a visit. Great base for visits to Amalfi coast, Naples, Herculaneum, Pompei, Paestum and the Cilento.

Sixth, connectivity. We had no trouble with the wifi. Like the noise from the courtyard, this probably depends on the volume of use, and the place was fairly quiet when we stayed there.

In short, this is a very classy, attractive place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TentandaVia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ave Gratia Plen... Q, Quality&Operations at Hostel Salerno, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We have no words to describe the pleasure of reading so many compliments. Come back soon and visit us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Staff spoke good English and were extremely helpful at all times - even printing off our boarding passes home for us, just as a favour!

Breakfast was lovely. Drinks at the bar were fairly cheap. Good atmosphere.

Little bit out of the way, but in a good way more than anything!

Only complaints would be that WiFi only reaches the ground floor, and that the lift was quite slow. Overall, very good hostel.

Room Tip: Private rooms are lovely, but the dorms are quiet and had a curfew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnabelJayneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ave Gratia Plen... Q, Quality&Operations at Hostel Salerno, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Hi Annabel,
thanks for appreciating our hostel. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and the bar service.
About wi-fi we have some rooms reached by the signal: next time ask for that.
Just one comment: you said "little bit out the way": the hostel is located in the heart of the historical center of the city...so absolutely central.
Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Interesting place, in fact it is a youth hostel however with hotel like facilities. Good breakfast.
Wi-Fi. And right in the center of the old town. We were with a car and it is highly advisable to follow the instruction of the hostel to get there as it is in the Zone Traffico Limitado.
If you have a GPS (navigation systems):
1. set the destination Salerno, Corso Garibaldi (Via Roma)
2. when you have reached Corso Garibaldi set the destination Via Antica Corte
3. when you drive on the Corsa Garibaldi towards the west a about hundred meters before you reach Via Antica Corte you see some park like area with trees and the end is a redish building at the left you should be at the very narrow Via Antica Corte.
4. turn right into Via Antica Corte, it’s monitored by the cameras and is where the ZTL zone starts. You reach a T crossing go left en than first right I believe and you are almost there and ask. Or: set there address Via dei Canali
The hostek recommends a garage nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ave Gratia Plen... Q, Quality&Operations at Hostel Salerno, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience and come back to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

When you arrive go into the tourist information centre at the railway station. There they speak English and will sell you the tickets for the local buses, to the Amalfi Coast and even to the airport so that you don't have to queue in Rome. To find the hostel come out of the station and take the first right along the main shopping mall. Keep walking straight, the mall narrows but keep on until you reach an archway about 4 metres long. Go under the archway and the hostel is the second street on the right. On the bus you want direction of Theatre Verdi (Municipale). That is the terminus and you can walk a short way back to Via Canali or ask for Centro Storico which is one stop before. This hostel is an absolute gem. The staff is so friendly and helpful. There is an open courtyard with nice plants and a waterfall which you can sit around and use the free wifi. There are two desktop computers (not free). There is a lift and a plentiful continental breakfast. We booked a double room. It was clean, cheerful and quiet with a comfortable double bed and ensuite which was made up daily with fresh towels. You can catch a bus to the Amalfi Coast or go by boat. Pompei is a must see. Salerno was where the allies landed to liberate Salerno from the Germans during the war. Many Americans, British and New Zealander troups landed here. It is less touristy than Sorrento or Amalfi and much cheaper. It's a top spot and I would highly recommend it to you.We stayed on level 4 with a breathtaking view over the old rooftops to the ocean lit up by the moon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maryhqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ave Gratia Plen... Q, Quality&Operations at Hostel Salerno, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thanks for your review. We are glad that your stay was up to expectations. Come back soon for the third time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salerno hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
0.1 mi away
Albergo del Centro Storico
2.7 mi away
Albergo Fiorenza
Albergo Fiorenza
#6 of 13 in Salerno
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events
2.5 mi away
B&B Fronte Del Mare
B&B Fronte Del Mare
#110 of 240 in Salerno
36 reviews
2.3 mi away
Il Piccolo Principe
Il Piccolo Principe
#4 of 240 in Salerno
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Salerno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Salerno

Address: Via Canali, 84121 Salerno, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Salerno
Price Range: £27 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Salerno 2*
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing