We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! If in Salerno, eat here!”

Ristorante Il Pacchero
Ranked #14 of 701 Restaurants in Salerno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent! If in Salerno, eat here!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Great host and amazing meal! Not much more to say! Absolutely brilliant! Nothing wrong! Very nice family run ristorante!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJCD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    166
    38
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent service, food & atmosphere.”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

If in Salerno, you must come to this place, it is fantastic. Great local produce, served fresh & is very authentic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carne72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Two fantastic lunches”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I chose to visit this restaurant based on it getting such good reviews on here and the reviews are right, it's fantastic! Tucked away off the main street I probably wouldn't have noticed it so very glad I found out about it beforehand. The service was very friendly and the guy who runs it speaks great English. I was not given a menu (this seems to be the norm in many Italian restaurants), just discussed a few options with the waiter. This was the best thing to do as I may not have dared picked something I'd never heard of off the menu. Whilst I waited for my meal some nibbles were brought out to keep me going, freshly cooked seaweed dumplings, incredible. The food was beautiful and just to top it all off the waiter brought me a complimentary glass of strawberry liquer afterwards!
I returned a few days later it was so good and spent a few hours having lunch and chatting to the waiter to avoid the rain!
Definitely worth a visit!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We had selected this restaurant as we walked past earlier in the afternoon. Subsequent checks revealed great reviews so we enjoyed pre-dinner drinks at the bar two doors down. Initially alarmed to see many people gathering around before 8pm, we were relieved when most rushed into the neighbouring pizzeria as it opened.

Our welcome at Il Pacchero was warm and we could choose our table. The semi-set menu was explained to us in detail as was the potential wait of 30 minutes should we choose the pasta for our primi.

The antipasto plate was varied and substantial. The vegetables in tempura batter were exceptional and beautifully presented. Our fish primi were simple, perfectly cooked and delicious. The quality of all produce was first-class. Unfortunately, we could not eat anything further.

The family than run this restaurant live out of Salerno toward Naples, but the time they spend travelling has no adverse effect. Service is friendly, engaging and very professional. When we returned to the adjacent bar for coffee the following morning, a member of staff, who was cleaning outside, recognised us and gave us a wave and a big smile.

This was a memorable meal and represented great value for money. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BBS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salerno, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent family-run restaurant”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Family-run restaurant. Excellent combination of traditional cuisine and innovation. Excellent antipasti, often hand-made, a good choice of primi and second. Always fresh products.

Helpful?
2 Thank trotula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Il Pacchero also viewed

Salerno, Amalfi Coast
Salerno, Amalfi Coast
 
Salerno, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante Il Pacchero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing