We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful b&b in Salerno”
Review of La Garconniere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Garconniere
Ranked #49 of 218 Salerno B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beautiful b&b in Salerno”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in this B&B. Even though the building was under construction, Giussepe made our stay really comfortable.

The room is big and very comfortable. The style of decor is French, like its name suggest, and very beautiful. It is well located in Salerno and you can walk anywhere and everywhere.

Giussepe gave us a few restaurant recommendations which we loved and he was very hospitable and friendly even though he doesn't speak much English.

We used Salerno as a base to explore the coastal towns like Amalfi and Positano as well as Pompeii and Paestrum before we left for Naples. It is a good place to stay in (not touristy at all compared to say, amalfi) and it is where we had some very memorable meals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinnamonandsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    18
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
48
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Absolutely excellent B&B in Salerno. Very friendly staff, very good breakfast and...absolutely beuatifully decorated rooms. At the moment the building it's in is under construction, but that's no problem at all. The only problem is that it's a bit hard to find the B&B! Once inside the building you have to climb pitch dark stairs and at that moment you think you're in the wrong place.... A little advice to the owners therefore: make it a bit more easy to find the light switch.....:-)

Room Tip: I don't think it really matters which room you take. What you should know, however, is that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton_Steen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essendon, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This b&b was gorgeous, a family run business, with the owner being fantastic with his hospitality and information and assistance..Thankyou Giuseppe.. Maria the host was lovely, very helpful and attentive..the breakfast was awesome..The location was brilliant, easy to get around and shop..A little bit of noise,but nothing to worry about..The decor was great..My only feedback would have to be the doors of each room, others leaving the light on in the hallway, made it hard to sleep, as the light shone through, and it didnt feel very private when in the bathroom with these type of doors..Apart from that i would definitly recommend this b&b and the hospitality you will get is wonderful..Its worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights as an affordable approach to the Amalfi Coast. We saw on a blog that Salerno was convenient, so we gave it a shot. Salerno does not offer much. It took over an hour to Positano, so we cut our stay in Salerno short and headed to a more central location.

La Garconniere is a well maintained B&B. the staff was friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately, our lovely room overlooked a piaza which meant it was very loud most of the night. Otherwise it is a good value if you have a need to be in Salerno.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRuhling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Right in the heart of Salerno, with secure parking nearby. Port with boats sailing to Amalfi is about a fifteen minute walk, and if you don't fancy the hairy drive along the coast road this would be a good base. The old town really buzzes in the evening and we enjoyed cocktails while four quite ancient ladies drinking at the next table argued vociferously. Very entertaining, except we didn't understand a word!
The electric fan was a great addition to the aircon and kept the room at a good temperature and the bed was comfortable - we found Italian beds quite hard in general but slept well here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A fantastic B&B - Rooms, service, and breakfast were all of the highest quality. The owners (a charming family who live above) were helpful in every regard. Look no further should you stay a night or more in Salerno.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ocrinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at La Garconniere for 6 nights at the start of July to get away from everything and our stay in Salerno did just that. We arrived late on Monday night at 11pm and the owners were keen to welcome us and take our orders for breakfast the following morning. We managed to communicate through a mixture of international sign language and broken anglo-italian (we don't speak any italian at all, and the owners are developing the english but certainly good enough to be friendly!).

There are three rooms at La Garconniere, they have names but I can't recall what they were so I'm just going to give them arbitrary numbers (sorry!). All three rooms have external private bathrooms and the doors to each room are a form of translucent frosted glass(!):

Rooms 1 + 2 (on the left as you go into the B&B)
- Room 1: On the left again after turning let at the front door, this was our room: it was the biggest of all the rooms by some way. It is actually the room showed in most of the photos on the website's gallery. It has a small balcony, a fridge, hair dryer and lots of "vintage chic" furniture. It's very quiet. The bathroom it is allocated to is the largest of the three, across the hallway from the room, with a bath and reasonable shower. The rooms all come with aircon and a decent fan. We found the aircon very feeble but it had its effect after a couple of hours! The fan helped when it was particularly hot.

- Room 2: Straight ahead as you go left at the front door. This is another sweet room. It's about half the size of Room 1 and the bathroom it is allocated to is right next door. It has a standalone shower.

Room 3 (The "suite") is to the right of the front door. It contains similar furniture to room 1, is of equal size but does not have any windows. It receives some natural light through a translucent door that opens out into a small area just off the communal breakfast room. There is a sofa in the room but we didn't want to stay in the suite owing to the lack of direct natural light. It is worth adding that there is a terrace that the B&B has which I think the suite has sole access to during the day but that might be sued communally at breakfast time (see below!). The bathroom is across the hallway and is the smallest of the three, with just a stand alone shower like bathroom 2.


Our stay at La Garconniere was truly relaxing - it was a very quiet place to have as our base to explore the interesting town of Salerno and try and build on our pigeon Italian! Most people seem to stay here for 1 or 2 nights but we thoroughly enjoyed our 6 nights there. Your day starts with breakfast. The lovely housekeeper who,rather embarrassingly, I cant recall her name, is omnipresent to aid with anything you need. She seems to speak most languages that the guests there spoke including fantastic English which was a plus! The choice for breakfast includes a choice between "sweet or salt" which ends up being a croissant (plain/jam/chocolate) or some nice ham and cheese. On top of this, you get fresh coffee however you take it (espresso/cappuccino/americano/latte etc) or teas of various sorts. To top this off you have a selection of cakes to eat. The downside of being somewhere for 6 nights is that you notice the cakes remain the same through the week. There was a choice of 3 cakes a day and over the week we saw bout 6 types of cake.

After breakfast you are asked what time you'd like to eat breakfast the following morning and what you would like it (this is a daily ritual which some people might find a little regimented). There is an offer to eat breakfast on the terrace in the summer, but this never seemed to materialise which was one of the few negative points we noticed over the week. It would have been nice to have eaten outside each of the mornings that we were there. This is not just because it's nice to eat al fresco, but also as the tables outside are individual rather than communal and, being British, we would have liked to have that extra privacy in the mornings!

After breakfast, you're asked to vacate you're room at around half ten in the morning (ish) if you want it to be cleaned.

Whilst we were there, we asked about using the terrace during the day which was met with some confusion initially but the housekeeper kindly sorted this out for us by liaising with the owners who allowed us to use it as no one was in the suite that day. This extra effort was greatly apprecaited.

Summary: We had a lovely stay here - the room that comes with the bath in the bathroom is the nicest and we would recommend this one. Breakfast is nice, if not a little routine. It would be nice to be able to be offered breakfast on the terrace as a choice.

Pros
Quite, pretty B&B with lots of vintage chic touches and big beds.
Filling breakfast
Helpful owners and housekeeper
In the centre of Salerno
Very near the promenade
Free Wifi

Cons (I'm nit picking)
Breakfast is a little regimented and it would be nice to have it on the terrace
The translucent doors take some getting used to
Feeble air conditioning
[Not a Con but speaking Italian helps! and it adds to the charm not being able to speak english]

Room Tip: The standard room with the bath in the bathroom is by far the nicest. If you want natural light an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smr105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salerno hotels
0.2 mi away
La Corte Segreta
La Corte Segreta
#33 of 218 in Salerno
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vinto House
Vinto House
#14 of 218 in Salerno
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suite 39
Suite 39
#5 of 218 in Salerno
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
Borgo Riccio
Borgo Riccio
#21 of 218 in Salerno
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Minihotel in City
Minihotel in City
#36 of 218 in Salerno
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Portanova
B&B Portanova
#86 of 218 in Salerno
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Garconniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garconniere

Property: La Garconniere
Address: Piazza Sedile di Portanova 5, 84121 Salerno, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 218 B&Bs / Inns in Salerno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your La Garconniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing