We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Salerno
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Across from train station! Very short walk to ferry to Amalfi etc! Very short walk to inter town buses!

Rooms are clean and quiet although they desperately need updating! Shower stall is claustrophobically small and tight to get into -- large people need not try to shower! Great wifi in room!!! Staff are a little surly but they get the job done.

For a very short stay -- just fine!

Room Tip: Rooms on courtyard are quiet!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is not a luxury hotel, but we were so happy with it. We went to Salerno to rent a car to go to Scicily for a week, as we were coming back to relocate with trains to go to Lake Como, and other places north. The front desk people spoke English and were very friendly. Everything worked. As we were here in April many hotels that say they have airconditioning do NOT. It is hard to keep the window open as there can be street noises, or people talking, fighting etc if you are close to another building. Well this hotel does have an air conditioner, a good bed, clean, and a wonderful breakfast, and across the street from the train station. It is also 2 blocks from the ferry terminal or busses to take you to Amalfi Coast. We liked it so much we stayed there on the way back for a train the next day

Room Tip: Two blocks from the hotel is the Sea, ferries, etc. There are several restaurants that seem to be op...
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is very convenient for anyone coming to or going from Salerno by train. On first sight it looks a bit tired but on entering there is a pleasant and clean foyer. The room was large, well heated, clean and comfortable without being luxurious. Breakfast was usual Italian fare of cold meats and cheese with lovely fresh bread rolls.
A basic and clean hotel at a reasonable price.
Very close to main and very stylish shopping area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uludog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Arriving in Salerno in the rain, we were not up for a long, searching walk to find our hotel. Luckily, the Sita Bus let us off within two blocks of the train station, located directly across from the Plaza Hotel. The lobby and hallways are pretty tired, with carpets and sofas in need of a do-over, but the helpful staff got us in the room right away via a puffing, perspiring porter and a tiny elevator. The room itself was of decent size, clean and surprisingly quiet with its noise-cancelling windows right off the busy Piazza Ferrovia. This is not a hotel one chooses for its ambiance, but for an early morning train departure--it cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paola010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

First of all, you get the essential you need: clean rooms, tv, safe box , hair dryer...
But the venue needs a good refresh: the carpet in the lobby is old and stained, and it does not convey a positive impression; the decoration of the rooms is definitely basic and old-fashioned.
On the positive side: just a few steps from the train station and a good breakfast.
On the negative side: no wi-fi

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mvittoriaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

After finding concerns with The Grand Hotel in Salerno we transfered to The Plaza, right across from Salerno Station. I know what you're going to say, it was noisy, crowded... not at all. We had a 3rd floor room, room 333. We enquired about a room and they were able to accommodate. In fact, the morning we checked out from The Grand, and moved in to The Plaza at 9am, the manager asked if we wanted breakfast or a coffee. We had already has breakfast at the other hotel, but we were amazed he asked. It got better too. The room was lovely, double glazed windows kept the noise to a minimum from the street below, but the view from our balcony (see attached) was quite lovely, even if it did feature a train and bus station in the foreground. The first night, after a big day's walking, we came back to the hotel and asked if we could have a cup of tea - we took a pot of hot water, herbal tea bags and cups back to our room and it didn't cost a cent! Breakfast the next morning was great, fresh crossaints, yohgurt, breads, ham, cheese, cereals, tea and coffee.
The location is of course perfect, in a busy bustling city area with lots of clothing stores, banks, cafes and even one of those cheap Aldi / Lidl shops but called something entirely different in Italy... Carefree or something like that.
In case you are wondering, we traveled by bus to Pompei and Amalfi. In Feb 2014 with heavy rains brought landslides so we couldn't get a further bus from Amalfi to Sorrento, but in case you are looking for other options, you can always take the train from Salerno to Pompei, then a slower train (which is actually about 1km from Pompei Stazione) which then takes you to Sorrento.
Things to see: we of course wanted to see Pompei's ruins, but it's good to note that the entry ticket in to Pompei for 11 Euros also allows entry for 3 days into 4 other similar historical sites, such as Herculaneum and 3 others, some of which are closer to Naples.
Caution: Not every taxi is a taxi... a guy asked if we wanted a ride from Pompei ruins to Pompei Stazione, asking for 10 Euros for the transfer. I said it was a 15 minute walk, he said it would be 30 minutes. We negotiated to 5 Euros but of course it was less than 1km and he was driving his son home in his private car. I guess an extra 5 euros was a bonus, still I got it for half price. Funny enough the next train wasn't for another 40 minutes so the bus would have been better, but, overall it was a difference of 15 minutes.
Public Transport: I can't fault Italy's public transport, apart from the fact the men who drive the buses and operate the buses are pig headed idiots with no personality. The trains seem to run better than the buses, but you can only get to Amalfi from Salerno by bus. We stressed when we missed the 5pm bus from Amalfi, when it left another terminal full of passengers, then to be told abruptly that specific bus departs from over 'there', not 'here'! So we stayed another hour, watched the sun set, and enjoyed a night drive back to Salerno under a full moon rise.
Public Transport in Italy is expensive in comparison to, say, Malta where we spent our first week. 1.50 Euro is all you pay for a full-day bus ticket on Malta. Every one-way journey in Italy is charged differently, so a return ticket to Amalfi was 3.80 euros, plus an extra 2.20 for the extra leg to Ravallo. If you visit Amalfi, try to visit Ravallo too, just beautiful.
That's about it - enjoy Salerno and enjoy The Plaza Hotel.
Ciao.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and stay right across the road from Salerno Station, What better location and wh...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I was in Salerno for a day, and after a red eye and a train down from Rome, I was EXHAUSTED. The hotel was right there across from the train station, which was wonderful. The staff at the front desk was very helpful, though with my very limited Italian, there was a bit of a language barrier at times.

The décor was a little old, but I had no issues with the room. It was clean and comfortable. I enjoyed strolling around the city from the hotel. The Lungomare Trieste was easily accessible, as were some nice shopping areas. I also used Salerno as a hub for seeing a few places further south (Paestum, Agropoli), so the location was great. Wifi was also very good. Breakfast was among the best I had on my trip. Being so close to the train and bus station, I was worried that there would be a lot of noise, but I didn't have any issues.

Because I spend so much time outside of my hotel room, I don't care that much about the room. I want something clean and comfortable to sleep and wash in. In that sense, this hotel was exactly what I needed.

Room Tip: The elevator was pretty tiny, and if you can't fit all your bags in it, then you're stuck wi...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sypremeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salerno hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
1.2 mi away
Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events
1.9 mi away
Albergo Fiorenza
Albergo Fiorenza
#6 of 13 in Salerno
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montestella
Hotel Montestella
#3 of 13 in Salerno
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Salerno
Grand Hotel Salerno
#8 of 13 in Salerno
1,921 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albergo del Centro Storico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: Piazza Vittorio Veneto 42 | (piazza Ferrovia), 84123 Salerno, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Salerno
Price Range: £82 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Salerno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing