We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunate Room Choice, No Wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Salerno
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Salerno
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Unfortunate Room Choice, No Wifi”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were booked in to the Grand Hotel for 3 nights in mid February. Trip Advisor's comments led me to the decision. After checking in and finding the hotel to be fully booked with 3 conferences we were given a room on the 4th floor, as far from the foyer as possible and no wifi what so ever. We weren't happy with the whole place - it just felt wrong and we asked to be reduced to a 1 night booking. Before this however we had investigated another hotel (The Plaza, across the road from the station) and they were able to offer us 2 nights for 20 euros less per night. The Grand Hotel happily accommodated (I'm thinking they liked the idea as it gave them an additional room for a Fri/Sat nights booking). So, we paid 110 euros for a night there and to be honest the Breakfast was huge and quite nice but 5.50euros for a hot chocolate was a rip off, and I complained at the front desk and they waived the charge. The hot drinks were all part of breakfast - the menu you fill in is quite confusing, and there is no restaurant you can sit and have breakfast. It all sounds very 'grand' but the hotel has an older, tired feel about it. Obviously it is perfect for Conferences so enjoy it if you are partaking in one there! If you have the option, choose The Plaza, the service was impeccible, nothing was ever too much trouble.

Room Tip: Be careful, don't expect the world with this hotel, it isn't Grand, it's a bit old and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    534
    556
    280
    197
See reviews for
272
489
62
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Okay room but air conditioning struggled to keep room cool and the weather was not hot. Watch reception as they tried to charge us for breakfast in our room. The room information that indicates a charge for this is only in italian. The english literature makes it look like it is free.

Its about a 10 minute walk to train station which was handy although Salerno itself is not pretty. People sleeping rough outside so a higher room would be best.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed tat the Grand Hotel Salerno for 5 nights in September, we based ourselves here and did day trips to Amalfi, Positano, Sorrento and Naples, the ferries are great and run all day, five minute walk to ferries and train station. Great Shopping and restaurants at night. We were upgraded to a Deluxe ocean front room was nice and big and had great view very comfortable.
Great Hotel to base yourself. Enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ocean Front Rooms are a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluetina64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geldermalsen-Oost, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Large comfortable rooms. Good facilities such as restaurant, pool, etc.
The set menu is good value for money. Both restaurant and reception staff are helpful and friendly. Good location. Easy walking access to city centre. The hotel is located on the seafront. It is expensive to use the hotel parking garage, but there is public parking lot behind the hotel which costs € 0,50 per hour. Of you are prepared a little further you can park for free in the side streets.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I think, this hotel is best in the city: good location, short walking distance from the central station, shopping area, seaside and the city center. Modern, comfortable, clean hotel with the fantastic night view.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strulla2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We arranged our trip to the Amalfi Coast , Italy through a Travel Agent in Australia and for some reason she booked us into the Grand Hotel , Salerno for 6 nights.. The room was OK but the hotel is a large , cold , hospital like structure with no character. The service was almost non existent . Apart from language difficulties , one had the feeling no-one cared . It was not friendly.
The breakfast was very ordinary each day and on the first night we ate in the hotel restaurant. The veal had been reheated many times and after making a great effort to cut it , we gave up after a few mouthfuls.
As the hotel could not (or would not) give helpful tourist information, we asked where the Tourist visitors Centre was. They marked a town map and the centre was not within a kilometer of where they indicated.
We heard folk remark that Salerno is not a tourist town , but a business centre .That is so , so do not get caught out treating this as a base for Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salerno hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had booked economy rooms for a five night stay before continuing to Rome. We found the staff helpful, polite and friendly at all times. The en-suite rooms were clean and tidy and the breakfasts were of the usual European standard in a good hotel, certainly nothing to complain about. My room looked out over a car park and my friends' over a railway track but none of us was unduly disturbed by any noise, even by passing trains. We did discuss upgrading to better rooms with a sea view but concluded that we had not gone on holiday to look out of the window and could get a sea view by walking out on to the promenade. Parking is only available in the adjacent and large public car park but we decided to use the hotel's secure parking service so the car was taken away from us whenever we returned and brought back when we wanted to use it again the next morning. In the evenings we walked into Salerno to eat (about a 15 minute stroll along the front) but the Grand does have a restaurant should you not want to bother to go out. The one thing I thought odd about the Grand was that they charge for using the wifi. However, having paid for it in order to discover that it didn't work, we were given different access codes which did work and the fee was refunded for our inconvenience, so they could not have been more helpful. Although Salerno does not have much to recommend it and if I were in the area again I would choose a different base, there is nothing wrong with the Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, don't book economy rooms at the Grand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salerno hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
0.3 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Salerno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Polo Nautico
Hotel Polo Nautico
#9 of 13 in Salerno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Montestella
Hotel Montestella
#4 of 13 in Salerno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albergo del Centro Storico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Salerno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Salerno

Property: Grand Hotel Salerno
Address: Lungomare Clemente Tafuri 1, 84127 Salerno, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Salerno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Salerno 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Salerno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salerno Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing