We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B, the real Italian experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casarufolo Paradise
Ranked #73 of 130 Sorrento B&B and Inns
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B, the real Italian experience!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My boyfriend and I loved this B&B! John Luigi was a wonderful host! He picked us up from the station and brought us to the B&B. Thank goodness for that since the road up is very steep and would be quite the trek even without luggage. We would walk down the hill every morning and John Luigi would pick the guests up at a meeting point a couple times in the evening (10, 11 and 12). The journey down the hill is lovely! All sorts of fruit trees and olive groves that you walk past. The B&B has spectacular views! The breakfast was very good. It was our first breakfast in Italy that we did not have to eat in our room but instead we ate on a terrace with beautiful views each morning. It was an excape from the busy cities of Rome and Venice that we visited previously. We did have an issue with the plumbing in our room. It seemed as though everytime we used the sink, the bathroom would stink of sewage. We never said anything, we should have but I knew all the rooms were full so I didn't think saying anything would be of much benefit. Other than that issue with the bathroom our room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    37
    13
    9
    12
See reviews for
12
72
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

It is clean and comfortable and had amazing view. We booked because of such reviews on Tripadvisor....but we are on driving trip of Italy and were spending only one night in Sorrento. The drive up and down the hill to the hotel was very challenging. We had rental car (Manuel Nissan Qashqai 1.5liter) and car was not geared low enough or had enough power for uphill drive. By time we arrived, clutch was smoking. Okay, here is where my husband and I do not agree. The rooms have no air con or fan; and no second window for cross breeze. He slept well that night and says is most comfortable bed of trip. I did not sleep well, as felt room was stuffy and bed was too firm. But had a great time as Max (manager/owner) drove us to town for sightseeing and picked us up that evening. He provided map of town and oriented us and made great restaurant recommendation. So the hospitality was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdavisengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We really got to know this place, staying for a full week in December. The location is key: at the top of a steep, twisty, and in some places extremely narrow road, it takes some work to get to and from and, at the same time, it is a beautiful refuge with one of the all time great views out across the Bay of Naples, Mt Vesuvius etc. If you are OK with the walks down the hill into town and back, it is ideal. Those walks can actually become a highlight of your time. We would birdwatch our way down through the beautiful olive and lemon groves and got a kick out of the twisting, walled parts of the lower road that are just barely wide enough for a subcompact car to get through. This is critical if you are driving yourself: normal sized cars will not fit. Even the tiny cars that routinely make this trip have to pull in or remove their side mirrors.

Gianluigi, your host, is a sweetheart and will bend over backward to accomodate you, particularly with rides up or down the hill at almost any hour, though we preferred to walk most of the time. Definitely use him for your in and out with luggage. If you are reasonably fit, you can use this location as a base to explore the whole region. We walked into town, caught the Circumvesuviana multiple times for days in Naples and Pompei, explored the Amalfi Coast by bus. Locally, there is quite a bit in Sorrento, and we also enjoyed exploring uphill from Casarufolo along the old cobblestone walking path to Santa Agata etc.

The B&B is a nice old hillside villa that Gianluigi and his wife renovated and pour their time into. The grounds are rustic and beautiful. The rooms are nice but can get a little chilly in December, though most of the year that is probably a big asset. There is a common room with a small kitchen. Breakfasts are pretty weak but typical Italian. There is some confusion on some websites about there being a restaurant associated with the B&B--that is not the case, so you will need to make other arrangements in town etc.

All in all, a nice hillside retreat with spectacular views and an extremely gracious host.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here five nights and had a very good time! The family who owns/runs this B&B are very kind. Breakfast on the terrace every morning (once inside because it was windy) and a ride back to the house every evening.

The house is up a very steep hill so walking up it would be quite a feat, but as I said we were given a ride each night. The only real issue we had was minor and to be fair we didn't ask for one, but a fan would be nice as there is no AC. Overall though a very nice stay :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crkendra12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Me being me, I forgot to read to hotel guide before departure :/

We arrived at Sorrento via Naples and began to route our own way up the hill to the Casa. This is some hill, steep and long - which drove my boyfriend nuts at the time. But being high up out of the town did offer an opportunity to witness more of the real Sorrento way of life, and it offers extensive views across the bay. Well worth staying high up in the valley for!

Once we arrived at the top, we were welcomed by a very surprised owner, mentioning he offers lifts up and down the hill and that we were the first guests to walk up with bags!!

The accommodation was nice and the room we were in had an amazing view. Breakfast was a living dream on the terrace, every morning I enjoyed freshly squeezed orange juice, croissants and again that view.

The room was quite noisy with the sound from the floor above being quite loud and the other guests doors also.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katew1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We booked this B&B from the Tripadvisor reviews and photos and descriptions on it's website and on booking websites. What a disappointment!
The views are amazing ,but many other B&Bs in Sorrento must have a view as good.
All the photos we saw are completely out of date!
We were very kindly picked up from the station by Gianluigi .He gave us a map of Sorrento. There was no tour desk and he did not offer any tourist information .
The bedroom was fine with a very good ensuite ,dreadfully thin towels and a balcony but not big enough to sit out on.
The booking sites state that there is a restaurant and the B&B website mentions full board,this is misleading there was no sign of any meals being available apart from breakfast.
Gianluigi did recommend a restaurant (excellent food)which was a 20 minute walk away downhill. This was no problem, apart from the walk back in the dark was very scary, the lights on the drive were not always switched on.
The breakfast was fine ,but no fresh fruit or fresh fruit juice!
Although there was a kitchen outside the room there was no indication as to whether we could use it .
The gardens we found did not match the photos they were untidy and messy with ramshackle furniture,what a shame! .
Gianluigi seemed to be away at work(?) all day apart from Sunday, but was around for taxi rides in the evening. We tried not to use this very much and to walk .
The location is good if you don't mind the steep access as it's about a 30 minute walk to Tasso Square .
Hopefully Casarufolo will be spruced up for next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HOLLY18Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This B&B has one of the greatest views in Sorrento and one of the few places where you really get to know the owner, Gianluigi. You actually get to experience first-hand Italian driving since the road is narrow and windy all the way to the top and Gianluigi will pick you up in the city center. I will mention that it is a little out of the way but the free pickup service is not a problem any time of night. You usually need to give him about an hours notice but it's not really an issue because you can just shop or walk around until then. The walk down the mountain is very steep but doable for anyone. I saw an older couple in their 60s making the trek w/ no issue. It is very well marked and lit. The B&B is cute and "homey" and classic Italian hillside villa. The bedroom accomodations are pretty simple but the bathroom was very updated. We stayed in the USA room which had a terrace and I think there was 2 other rooms in that part of the house. We shared a common kitchen that was stocked w/ the basics so that was nice. DO NOT attempt to walk there w/ your luggage. Gianluigi can pick you up in front of a cafe just down the road from the train station. The breakfast was good but a warning for my fellow Americans....you don't put milk on your cereal in Italy. The cereal is for the yogurt and the milk is warm and goes in your coffee.

Room Tip: The USA room has a great view and terrace w/ an updated bathroom. There is a shared kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caxap01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Pane
Villa Pane
#46 of 130 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sycamore Hill
Sycamore Hill
#77 of 130 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Green House Sorrento
Green House Sorrento
#26 of 130 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Giovanna
Villa Giovanna
#67 of 130 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Carolina Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casarufolo Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casarufolo Paradise

Property: Casarufolo Paradise
Address: Via Casa Rufolo 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casarufolo Paradise 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casarufolo Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing