We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel not hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is more like a 3/4 star hotel than any hostel. Good value for money with spacious, clean and tidy rooms, there was even a fridge in it, which was very use full. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Close to the centre of town, but in a quite location. The breakfasts are great with plenty of choice. The fitness centre in the base of the hotel is modern and well equipped and cost me 5 euros for a session from the hotel reception. There are bus stops within a 5 minute walk and the train station is a level 15 minutes away. There is a fantastic choice of restaurants, cafes and ice cream/ patisserie shops in the town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,370)
There are newer reviews for Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

While the business has 'hostel' in the name, Americans particularly should note that it is in fact a more a hotel that offers dormitory stays if you'd like.
Otherwise there isn't anything different than a fully fledged hotel operation.
The location was fine, easy to walk into the heart of Sorrento which isn't very big anyhow.
The facilities include a spa and pool although they are extra should guests want to use them. Same for the breakfast which is just a little more than typical European breakfasts, but not an American style full breakfast buffet. You are after all in Italy for goodness sakes. If you want a fuller more American style breakfast there is a nearby business with omelettes, bacon, potatoes, things most Americans associate with breakfast.
There is a large public area with couches, TV, and a coffee bar for guests in addition to a large breakfast area. Our room was very large with a full and twin bead, generously sized bathroom.
The staff were all very helpful and available at all times.
Location was off the main street but again within easy walking distance to anywhere in town.This makes it a nice and quiet location. We used Sorrento as our hub to visit the Amalfi coast, Capri, Pompeii and Naples. It is easy to reach Sorrento on the train from Naples or a bus [Curreri Viaggi $ Euro per person] which comes from Naples airport to the train station in Sorrento.
The next time we are in Sorrento , we will check this location for vacancy first.

Room Tip: Ask for the Rick Steves discount and you will end up at under $100 per night for 2 persons.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

It's a good value for your money. Our room had plenty of space, we had a queen (double) bed and desk with 2 night stands and a large dresser. Plenty of room for luggage. Had to use an ironing room with a tiny iron. Bathroom was large and clean. Very basic, nothing fancy, but was a great value for our money in Sorrento. 2 minute walk to the main street and 5 minute walk to the main square. 15 minute walk to train station. The staff was super nice and friendly. We booked the Capri tour with them and had a great time. Continental breakfast was decent. Had toast, cheeses, cold meats, yogurt, delicious croissants, fruits, coffee, juice etc.. Book taxi and any other trips in advance. Had free wifi in rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mxv1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed for five nights in peak season and this was about half the price of anywhere else in or near the old town. Excellent location, only a couple of minutes from the hustle and bustle but nice and quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff and good clean rooms. Ulisse Deluxe is not fancy but neither is it a hostel. It is lacking views but great value for money when compared to other hotels in the area.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Even though it is called a "hostel", it does not feel like one at all. We stayed here for five nights, in a room for two. The hotel is in a quiet location , a bit away from the tourist center. This is a good thing considering how crowded Sorrento's tourist center is. Facilities are clean , mostly comfortable.A/c and wifi in the room( though wifi is a bit spotty ). The staff at the reception speak English and are very, very helpful. They go out of their way to make sure every request is attended to, they even made a couple of restaurant reservations for us, they are really the highlight of this hotel. This hotel is a great value in pricey Sorrento and I would recommend it.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Karthik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at Ulisse 7 days in August. It's hard to believe it is called a hostel, because it looks like a very nice hotel. Room was large, very comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The location is handy, a short walk of about 5 minutes to the centre of Sorrento and around 10 minutes walk to the train station (and the SITA buss). We had a nice continental breakfast served each morning, good variety and selection.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, generous breakfast, close to Sorrento's main street.

Arriving at the hotel: We arrived by boat and were exhausted, so we paid 20 euros for a taxi to take us up the steep slopes at Marina Grande. By the time we left (2 days later) we had figured a much cheaper way. Just walk through the small streets until the lift, which will take you to/from Marina Grande (1 euro per person). We reached Marina Grande from the hotel in about 35 minutes.

Those who arrive by train and bus don't need to face the slopes and can probably just walk ( probably less than 30 minutes).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcopelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#81 of 100 in Sorrento
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
0.6 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulisse Deluxe Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulisse Deluxe Hostel

Address: Via del Mare 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £52 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ulisse Deluxe Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set In The Heart Of Sorrento, The Hostel Boasts A Convenient Location Within Very Easy Reach Of Sorrento’s Premier Sights And Attractions. Elegantly Styled, Beautifully Furnished And Equipped With All The Service Of A 3 Star Hotel: 50 Rooms All Air-conditioned, Minibar, Personalised Safe, Wi-fi , Underground Garage, Wellness Centre And Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ulisse Deluxe Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulisse Deluxe Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing