We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern,Exceptionally Clean and a Great Base for Exploration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2009

[Excuse my spelling of place names if they are wrong]
We spent stayed at this hostel using it as a base from which to explore the region. We booked this hostel rather than other hotels in the area for two reasons, its reasonable prices and its modern facilities in comparison to the other reasonably priced hotels in the region which sounded past their sell by dates for decor and amenities. Prior to arriving I contacted the hotel with a request for a taxi to be organised to pick us up from Naples airport, I was sent a very polite email very quickly and it was all arranged for us. (By the way I do know you can catch a 10 euro bus from outside the airport to the main square in Sorrento which is only a 5 minute walk from the hostel but we had saved so much on the hotel booking that we preferred the comfort and convienience of a taxi rather than wheeling our cases through the streets). The hostel was beautiful, spacious and had lots of plush seating and relaxing areas in the main area downstairs. The reception staff and managers were very helpful and answered all our many touristy questions (how to get to places, how much fares were etc.) with great detail often providing written guides and brochures of the places we enquired about. Our 2nd floor triple room was immaculate, towels and sheets were changed daily (by the friendliest and most efficient maid I've ever met in any hotel anywhere), all floor and bathroom areas were cleaned and disinfected daily and she could not be faulted for thoroughness in her cleaning. We had lovely views of the folliage covered cliffs opposite the hotel and these were lit up at night time to look almost enchanted. The rooms here have no balconies but with the double window open it was still lovely in the evening and the morning and with automatic outside window blinds (operated by a switch near the window) the security of the room was great while the day time sun could be blocked out for us to return to a cool room each afternoon. The hotel has an internet room which we found useful for checking email etc, the charges were 3 euros for 30 mins 6 euro for 1hr, if your session only lasted say 10 minutes the rest of the time was still available later on the same password and username, one hour lasted us the whole holiday with time to spare (after all how long do you want to be sat at a computer while you are in such a beautiful area!). A walk down the hill from this hostel takes you to Marina Grande a lovely fishing harbour. We walked down on our first night here to find an amazing festival going on, what a welcome to Sorrento that was, fireworks and everything, we had fresh fish for supper and then got a bus back up the hill. A 30 second walk up the hill and first turning on your left takes you straight into the warren of small alley ways filled with shops and stalls (artisan and touristy mingled together), cafes, restaurants, ice cream parlours, little tucked away churches and garden areas and market stalls. A walk along here (about 10 minutes or 30 minutes if you are like me and keep stopping to window shop or exlplore a new alley way) takes you directly to Piazza Tasso the main square where there are tourist open top buses or 'mini-trains' or horse and carriage options to explore the whole area and get a feel for where everything is. We did the mini-train one, but I think the hop on-hop off bus would probably be better with hindsight as you can spend a day exploring at your own pace. There are also 'real' public transport buses from this square with one of the buses (there is service ABC or D on these little local buses) having a bus stop right outside the hostel, very useful. Keep walking onwards from the main street on from Piazza Tasso for 5 minutes and you come to the bus and Circumvesuviana train station, from here you can go almost anywhere in the region very cheaply even on the bus to Rome for 17 euros each (buy the tickets from the travel centre just up from the bus station or pay 21.50 euros on the bus itself). The little local shop just up from the hostel is also great. We got water, bread, ham, cheese etc. from here and kept it in the hotel fridge (which was not charged extra along with the safe in the wardrobe) for our lunch sandwiches. From our base here we went to pompeii, herculanium (better than pompeii), oplonti, up the cable car to Mount Faiti (you MUST do this by the way what an amazing view as you go up the mountain and then lovely walks on top of the mountain also. Make sure you go to the scruffy looking but amazing cafe across from the cable car exit and have the palma ham and mozzarella crepe - look at the pics on the wall while you are there this obviously has been here for years and looks like it used to be a barn or grannery). We also went to Rome for a day, to Capri and Positano and of course (the reason we went) up Mount Vesuvius to look down into the crater, that is a must do but make sure you wear trainers and trainer socks its a hard walk up (at least I found it hard). Every day after our explorations we would return to the hostel and really appreciate the modern comforts in our room, shower with great pressure, jacuzzi bath for tired muscles, clean towels, lovely big beds with clean sheets etc. I would especially reccomend this hotel for families wanting to explore the region rather than laze by a pool all day (although for 10 euros you can spend the day at the pool in a nearby hotel with views across the bay, the reception staff told me about this and we had one quiet day here). I particularly would like to say how nice the waiting staff, the cleaning staff and the reception staff are here, very helpful and professional. The breakfast is the usual continental combination of cereals/hams/cheeses/fruits/cakes/jams etc. however all the pastries/cakes are freshly baked on the premises (I saw and smelled this being done myself one evening while sat at the bar - lovely fresh baking smell!!) and the bread rolls and bread for toasting were always fresh and nice too. The tea and coffee come from urns and were not brilliant but you could order a pot of tea or a cappochino from the bar to have with breakfast if this really bothered you.I am a tea addict and found the tea acceptable for my morning cuppa. The waiters at breakfast are lovely both very friendly and continually refreshing the supplies of breakfast food as needed with fresh items. Everyone here seems to know what is expected of them and undertake to do their jobs to the best standards possible. We would stay here again if we visit Sorrento in the future and would reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicjam0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

775 - 781 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2009

By far the best value and nicest 'hostel' we have stayed in throughout Europe. At 38-35 euro per night for a double, this place is just about a 4 star hotel. Beautiful spacious rooms, great staff, fantastic breakfast for only 5 euro each, and ability to book tours etc from the front desk. Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somegoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

It was a horrifying experience - i stayed in this hotel for one night en route to Capri. It was quite far from the train station indeed, i am in mid 30s very atheletic, and it took me over 25 minutes to get there, it is underneath a bridge, so it was not easy for me to find, but the italians were pretty nice and friendly, so in the end, i was able to get there fine. in all fairness, the hotel is huge, and the rooms are spacious, and definitely not a hostel standard, BUT, it has a lot bad bugs in my room, and i woke up twice at 3 am and 5 am because i felt so itchy, and when i killed the bugs, there seemed to be more on the pillow, and sheet. i took the pillows to teh receptionist and showed him the blood. he initialluy said that there is nothing he can do since they are fully booked, but in the end (at 5 am) agreed to give me a room to stay but I HAD TO vacate before 11 am (instead of 12) because they are expecting someone else to check in - and from the beginning to the end, there was no apology. When i went back to my room the next morning, i saw the maid spraying on the mattress, and there is another maid doing the same thing in another room, so i SUSPECT this is not a single incident.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Seantraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

It is on the extreme end of town but close enough to walk with luggage etc. It looks like the RITZ! The room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom had HOT water and a lovely shower, it too was clean, tidy and perfect. The staff were kind, professional and informative.
The only critic I have is that the pool was shut between lunch break, just when I needed it.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel as we saw that in the proximity there were endless restaurants with amazing variety of dishes and calory packed novelties.
The rooms did however have a fridge whch we also made good use of as the temperatures were soaring- lovely !
Most of all, the hotel has space, it is not a wretched place crammed with rooms , rather , it inspires comfort, cleanliness, and relaxation.
We took the little winding road going downhill as you exit the hotel and it led us to the most quaint fishing village. We took some amazing photos, the scenes were breathtaking as we could see the hotels that are up on the mountain top, clinging to the coastline overseeing the Sorrentino coastline. We discovered a winding path that led us back to "town" and this too had fascinating spots for those keen on photography.
If the hotel you are staying is great, it has an impact on the city you are visiting. Luckily we found the ULISEE DELUXE Hostel becasue as it turned out we had a blast and the best time ever in Sorrento, Capri, Positano and Amalfi. Would I go back and use this very same hotel? BY ALL MEANS. The difference being , that I would stay there for 2 weeks not 4 days!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boliviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Stayed here for 1 week. Pleasantly surprised by bedrooms which were clean, modern and fairly spacious. Waiting staff were nice and helpful but female reception staff were at times unpleasant. Surcharge for facilities excessive and cost of gym/pool as stated on website had been increased without explanation. No outdoor space for sitting/bathing hindered our overall experience and breakfast buffet very basic.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Although there appeared to be rooms to accomodate hostel stays, our triple room was definitely not a hostel style room. The hotel saves energy by keeping many hall lights off and charging you for plugging in the mini fridge. The room was quite clean, except for a white stain on the comforter of one of our beds :o The A/C was excellent and the beds very comfortable. The staff were friendly and the location great in little Sorrento. Breakfast was not included, but only 5 euros each person (slightly disappointing in variety).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjj09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Not sure why these guys call themselves a Hostel, its a proper 3 star hotel. The rooms are nice and big, but lack a view. There is a modern spa/leuisure center with swimming pool next doors, have to pay separate for using it. The location is good, a short walk from the charming old part of Sorrento. The only thing I lacked was a view.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrikbzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulisse Deluxe Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulisse Deluxe Hostel

Address: Via del Mare 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £47 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ulisse Deluxe Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set In The Heart Of Sorrento, The Hostel Boasts A Convenient Location Within Very Easy Reach Of Sorrento’s Premier Sights And Attractions. Elegantly Styled, Beautifully Furnished And Equipped With All The Service Of A 3 Star Hotel: 50 Rooms All Air-conditioned, Minibar, Personalised Safe, Wi-fi , Underground Garage, Wellness Centre And Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ulisse Deluxe Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulisse Deluxe Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing