We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Bed, BIG Bathroom, Breakfast & Free Wi-Fi! Could you ask for more?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Conveniently located, the Ulisse Deluxe Hostel is a real find in Sorrento. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a television, a refrigerator and a large bathroom. It was very clean. The lobby was well appointed with lots of sofas and tables where you could sit and use the free wi-fi. (The wi-fi was only available in the lobby. It would have been nice to be able to use it in the room but I can't complain too much since it was free!). The breakfast was fairly typical for Europe - a couple of sliced meats and cheeses, some rolls and sweet breads. There was some fruit and some peanuts on the buffet as well that one could pick up for a snack later. The front desk staff was very helpful. They gave us a map, ferry schedules and directions.

The only complaint we had was that there were some loud guests who kept us up later than we would have liked and got us up earlier than we wished, but even that was not too bad.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLNonRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,366)
There are newer reviews for Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed for 9 nights in March and the experience could not have been better. The hotel is an easy 20 minute walk from the station - that's with luggage. It is also very well located for all the restaurants - both in the old town area and just a 10 minute walk down to the harbour.

The room was a decent size and absolutely spotless. Breakfast was full of choices, with plenty of fruit and some delicious cakes.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and gave us some useful information on how to get to various places. We really enjoyed our stay. - it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

On first glance we thought we were in the best hostel ever!! The reception area and bedrooms are nicer than a lot of hotels I've stayed in so I would definitely call this a hotel; not a hostel. The rooms were spacious and clean, the bathroom a good size. However on the downside the staff weren't great - they neglected to tell us that their restaurant/cafe was closed on new years eve and that we needed a reservation to get in anywhere in town. So unfortunately we went hungry new years eve!! It's also quite hard to locate the hotel at night time - it would have been better to have clearer instructions on the website.

Sorrento is a lovely place and despite the downsides I would probably return to this hotel if i was ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k.j.mcnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We found this hotel listed in Rick Steves' Italy guidebook. We couldn't have been happier with this hotel. We traveled in Italy for 2 weeks and this was by far the best room and best value that we experienced. The room was up-to-date, with marble floors throughout. The room was very clean. The bathroom was huge and had extras like bidet and hairdryer. Breakfast was not included in the price, but there was a hotel bar where we had our espresso in the morning and then we just bought some pastries as we wandered around Sorrento. This hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk from the train station and we had a little trouble finding it at first, but once we did, we really appreciated the location. It is in a quiet area, just past the main business district, so walking everywhere was no problem at all.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelebogile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We heard about Ulisse from our son who had been back packing around europe 2 years ago and he thought this was fantastic compared to the other hostels he had stayed at in his trip and suggested we should stay there as it is really a hotel.
Although we usually stay in a 4 or 5 star hotel we thought based on what our son had told us we would stay a couple of days at Ulisse and then move to a hotel.
Well, we ended up extending our stay to 11 nights at Ulisse Deluxe Hostel as it is the best value for money, fantastic service and assistance by the staff and just a great place to relax and really enjoy Sorrento and the surrounding area.
The location is a little out of the way but that actually works in your favour as you can easily walk to all the local Sorrento attractions and is only 10 minutes from the train station (where you catch the buses to Amalfi and other locations) and about 15 minutes to the marina to catch a ferry to either Capri or Napoli.
There is a smaller marina just down the road from Ulisse where there is the local fishing boats and small village atmosphere and some cafes.
The Ulisse has a great big entrance and foyer for just relaxing. They have wifi and internet computers for your use. Breakfast is great with plenty of food, cereals, bread,cakes and the usual tea and coffee.
The rooms are huge compared to our previous hotel in Rome and very,very clean. The staff at reception are fantastic in advising what to do and how to get to various locations in and around Sorrento. In summary this is a great place, value for money and when in Sorrento you must stay at Ulisse.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We stayed a week at the Ulisse. Sorrento is the perfect base for exploring the Campagnia. (Capri, Amalfi coast, Pompei, Herculeneum, Naples). The Ulisse is in a convenient part of Sorrento. (We paid 18 Euro for a taxi from the train station and later walked it in under 10 minutes.) Our room was a decent size. It was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfy. The staff was endlessly patient and helpful with suggestions and tips about sightseeing and restaurants and wine. There are no scenic views from the Ulisse, but if you are looking for a lot of bang for your sadly deflated buck, stay at the Ulisse.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrdduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We had read good things about Ulisse, but it still surprised us with how great it was, especially for the price! HUGE rooms and bathrooms, clean, helpful staff, good enough location. We had trouble with wifi reception, but other than that, highly recommended. A taxi will cost 20 euros to go almost anywhere in town, but Rick Steves warned about that. it's easy to walk most places.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#80 of 100 in Sorrento
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
0.6 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulisse Deluxe Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulisse Deluxe Hostel

Address: Via del Mare 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £54 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ulisse Deluxe Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set In The Heart Of Sorrento, The Hostel Boasts A Convenient Location Within Very Easy Reach Of Sorrento’s Premier Sights And Attractions. Elegantly Styled, Beautifully Furnished And Equipped With All The Service Of A 3 Star Hotel: 50 Rooms All Air-conditioned, Minibar, Personalised Safe, Wi-fi , Underground Garage, Wellness Centre And Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ulisse Deluxe Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulisse Deluxe Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing