We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOTHING like a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2010

don't let the "hostel" in the name fool you--nothing is hostel like about this place except the price!
We stayed in a double room for 4 nights. The room was clean, had air conditioning (our first Italian hotel with it!), had BBC on the TV and a refrigerator (which was a great plus since we could keep milk and yogurt for breakfast). The place was very quiet.
The cons were that the halls were very dark, and the directions were hard to follow the day we got there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,366)
There are newer reviews for Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed at the Ulissee for one week form the 4th of June. Easy to find. Very Stylish. Very clean, excellent service. Quiet room when you placed down the window shutters. Very good breakfast. Able to get an evening meal from the kitchen cooked on request as they have a small menu on the bar. Found the location to be perfect as we spent some days on the beach at Marine Grand - 2 sun beds and a parasol for 10 euros. Very good restaurants down there too, we at the Emelia and the Delphin. Beautiful part of sorrento where you can watch the sun go down over versuvious. !0 minutes walk to the train station. Excellent little shops right by the hostel (more of a good hotel). travelled to pompei and herculanium using art card for 27 euros each. THis provided us with free entry to two sights i.e Pompei and herculaneum half price entry and also to a third(we went to naples museum on the train to see all of the finds and frescoes form pompei and herculaneum). It also gave us three days unimited bus and train travel. Can purchase these cards at the train station newsagents.Piazza Tasso is a must in the evenings. Would definately go back to the ulissee. Ye old taverna Sorentina has a master filling the bar tables outside and he is a very friendly, lovely gentleman who entertained us. He truly made our evenings. kind regards also to your boy James Bond who served our drinks.(so Tony; keep up the good work, love and good health from your brother Alfonso Capone - John Chivers).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlfonsoCapone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We stayed at the Ulisse for five nights having seen the excellent reviews in tripadvisor. I am writing this review as it is the first time I have felt let down in choosing a hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. We were given a standard double room which turned out to be very disappointing, much smaller than anticipated, poorly lit, dim, and noisy, with no view as it overlooked a tiny courtyard. The bathroom though, was large and well appointed. In short nothing more or less than we have found or would expect in Italy and therefore did not warrant complaint.
The furnishings in the room and the hotel in general were excellent and the public rooms, bar and reception were large and airy, but needed to be in order to provide somewhere to sit and escape from the overall gloom of the room. This was the first hotel I have been in where the guestrooms were downstairs at basement level compared to the reception, and seeing the dimness and marbled decor someone joked that it was like going down into a crypt.
On the positive side, the staff were excellent, and the room was spotlessly clean. The continental breakfast, at 5 euros was perfectly adequate.
The location was excellent, and very close to the centre, which is probably why the hotel roof is used as a car park.
If you are looking for a very clean room, don't mind the dark, don't mind noise, don't need to be sure of being given a large room and want a location near the centre, stay here, but make sure you have upgraded your room to something larger.
If you don't want a room in a basement under a car park, and prefer a view of Sorrento, or any view for that matter, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiaraSorrento, Owner at Ulisse Deluxe Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2010

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
First of all we thank you for your comment about the Ulisse Deluxe on Tripadvisor community.
We are deeply sorry for the bad feeling you had during your stay. Unfortunately you did not make any complain to us and only now from your review we knew about your disappointment.
All my staff and me are always ready to try to satisfy our customers' needs and we do all our best to offer a pleasant stay at our hostel.
We can assure that the hostel’s position is not so noisy as you said. The Ulisse is very well located, in a restricted traffic zone of the historical center of Sorrento.
We do have different kinds of rooms. Their size can be between 23 to 38 square meters.
Apologize once again for the inconvinient and We really hope to accomodate you in the future and give you a different and better idea of us.
Our best wishes from Sorrento,
Chiara Cocurullo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We ended up extending our stay for a fourth night. This place is like a hotel. Sorrento is a great base to explore the Amalfi coast. We did Pompeii from here, Positano, Amalfi Town, Naples, and Ischia. The breakfast was plentiful and we used the gym 3 out of 4 days. The staff was always helpful and spoke great English.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Spent 6 nights using Sorrento as a base (good decision). As stated in other reviews, this is not a hostel, but very nice clean hotel. The staff is helpful and very friendly. The location is just at the edge of the "downtown" tourist area, just up the hill from Marina Grande. Everything was in easy walking distance. Free Wi Fi in the lobby works well, and the area becomes a great place to meet other travelers and to share info. Breakfast was limited to meats, cheese, bread, cereal, unlimited coffee and juice. But at 5 euros each, it is an excellent value. My wife and I found the firm mattresses provided a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjaeger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

This is a very central hostel with proximity to all ones requirements. The Management and Staff were very helpful to us and the hospitality was excellent. I would be happy to recommend the Accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mianla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Ulisse Deluxe is hardly a Hostel... The rooms are small, beds are firm, but who cares! The location is perfect. If you're looking to be close to everything, Ulisse is it. Very clean, great staff, and great price for what you get. We were looking to go out and drink at night - perfectly looked by a couple bars and the main street. You HAVE to goto Marina Grande and eat at Delfino! Great seafood and awesome atmosphere. If you're traveling cheap and looking for an awesome location, stay at Ulisse Deluxe.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TellurideTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#80 of 100 in Sorrento
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
0.6 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulisse Deluxe Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulisse Deluxe Hostel

Address: Via del Mare 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £53 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ulisse Deluxe Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set In The Heart Of Sorrento, The Hostel Boasts A Convenient Location Within Very Easy Reach Of Sorrento’s Premier Sights And Attractions. Elegantly Styled, Beautifully Furnished And Equipped With All The Service Of A 3 Star Hotel: 50 Rooms All Air-conditioned, Minibar, Personalised Safe, Wi-fi , Underground Garage, Wellness Centre And Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ulisse Deluxe Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulisse Deluxe Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing